We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Traditional cottage with touches of luxury!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Corrodale Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Corrodale Cottage garden and outhouse
Beach at Ardivachair Bay Iochdar South Uist
Profusion of vibrant colour on South Uist machair
South Uist from Eriskay
Bathroom
Uist beach
Uist beach
Some wildlife red throated divers
Machair South Uist
seal on the east coast of South Uist
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
South Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David P
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Traditional cottage with touches of luxury!”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Received a warm welcome from Katie and John and appreciated the special gifts received on our arrival. The spa bath and peat fire really made our stay memorable. We were lucky to have reasonable weather and could enjoy sitting outside to watch the wildlife-just sorry the corncrake kept avoiding us!! Great base for exploring the Uists and Eriskay.
A wonderful peaceful setting and certainly a place to get away from it all.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard P
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate in booking Corrodale !”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was our second time to Corrodale and , like our first visit, it was exceptional.
It has everything you could possibly want ...the cottage is immaculately clean,the bed is extremely comfortable,the bathroom's shower and bath are luxurious,the peat fire is easy to use and clean with plenty of peat and kindling to start it.

There is an outhouse that has an washing machine and sink and where the peat and kindling is kept.As walkers we kept our boots and walking gear in there out of the way which also kept Corrodale clean.It also housed my golf clubs as I played Askernish which you just have to play. It's wonderful but it destroyed me !!

Corrodale has it's own parking and clothes line.Washing and wet walking clothes dry quickly in the Uists.

Best of all are Katie and John. They are the friendliest and most helpful of couples and make sure everything is just perfect. We'll be back and thanks again.

Gerard P

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike T
Shildon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“High quality in all aspects of the experience”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our first trip to South Uist was to Corrodale Cottage which is perfectly located for access to all areas of the island and adjacent islands. A wonderfully warm reception on arrival and loads of advice about Uist. In addition an excellent stock of useful literature to help gain maximum benefit from the trip. Katie was particularly experienced in helping us arrange a visit to St Kilda. Personal contact with the owner of Kilda Cruises enabled us make the best use of the arrangements and we were even dropped off at Bernerey on the return from St Kilda to collect our car. An amazing experience to a location with double World Heritage status. Exceptional accommodation, wonderful location, hospitable locals and a open wilderness feel to the environment .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality and care which has gone into the property
Liked least: Nothing was a problem
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave B
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Corrodale Cottage 5 Stars +++”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in many cottages over the years and in our view Corrodale is top of the premier league! The quality of the fixtures and fittings and the attention to detail were first rate but what was outstanding was the welcome received and the kindness from Katie and John. Thank you for everything. We have told so many people about Corrodale we hope you might get some future business from our friends. We plan to be back again in the near future ... St Kilda or bust!!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHAEL M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A superb, luxurious cottage in an idyllic setting for a peaceful holiday!”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Katie was there to welcome us at the cottage and show us around. She had really thought of everything - the peat fire (it was rather cold during our stay), the champagne on ice, the basket full of delicious local produce in the fridge, fresh flowers, candles in every area and books, maps and information of what to do and where to go. Although the weather was a bit unsettled, we got out and about every day. The scenery is wonderful - the sugary white sands, the turquoise blue water, rugged mountains on South Uist, the lonely peat moors and dark blue lochs everywhere. Iochdar, where the cottage is situated is ideal for exploring the chain from Berneray down to Eriskay. Our passion is birdwatching; we ticked off nearly 80 species during the week, including all three divers in breeding plumage, hen harriers mobbing a golden eagle, skuas, arctic terns and thousands of waders on migration. We heard corncrakes near the cottage but never actually saw one! The nearby Cooperative store is well stocked, with plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables. We filled up the tank at Broadford (Skye) (£1.17/L) but did have to find some more petrol in Lochmaddy (£1.23/L) and Daliburgh (£1.34/L). This was our first visit to the Outer Hebrides and it certainly won't be our last!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$104
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing