We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing holiday just what we needed”
other travellers have booked this property
Private pool 6m x 4M
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private pool 6m x 4M
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Private pool 6m x 4M
Lounge area
Kitchen
Inside dining area
Lounge area
Games room
Games room
1st floor bathroom/shower
Outside dining area
Outside dining area
BBQ area
Pool
Stairwell with child safety features
Front gate to property
Local produce for lunch
Random pool picture
Village boulangerie - only a few minute walk - Award winning brioche!!
Fontenay le Compte Saturday market. (Just 15 miles south- historical town with lively market)
St Pierre Du Chemin church in the centre of the village
Gardens of the church
Fontenay Le Compte - 15 - 20kms south
La Chataignarie church
Village church (St Pierre Du Chemin)
Welcome to the Vendee
La Vendee in Fontenay Le Compte
Plan d'eau lake at rear of gite
Plan d'eau picnic area (good place to escape the summer heat)
Plan d'eau lake at rear of gite
Cave - (vineyard shop & vineyard) in Pissotte - approx 10 miles south
Pissotte vineyard - free to visit- sorry the wine is not free...  :)
Pissotte vineyard
Pissotte vineyard
View from front of property - we are on the edge of the village  -so the best of both worlds!
Field opposite gite during harvest
Field opposite gite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Saint-Pierre-du-Chemin, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
valeriaGl...
Gloucester , UK
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday just what we needed”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely holiday at Maison Mandara. Claire the owner gave us a lovely welcome to the property and met us at the door, we were given a tour of the property and advised if we needed any help to just ask. We visited as a party of 7. The pool was a major attraction for all of us especially my sisters boys that was the first thing they did on arrival jump in and chill out.
Its a lovely place to relax and thats exactly what we did the first few days. We were given a welcome pack from Claire & Kevin of basic foods which was much appreciated. Super U and Lidl are a 15 min drive away and have any food you will need for holidays.
We bbqd most nights at the gite as their is a bbq on premises. Two places to sit outside in the evenings i liked sitting at the smaller table as a bit more cosy.

The property has everything you need while away and plenty of space the boys had plenty to do with the pool table and ping pong table outside.

I would recommend visiting the village of Vouvant and Mervent two of the nicest places to visit the first Vouvant i wish i had found out about last wk.. i would of gone more often if i had known about this little french village we loved it there.

A good base for visiting the area inland and coast.
If you want a lovely holiday i would suggest you cant do better for relaxing and chilling out.

Enjoy if you book.

Val, George & The Jone's

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Hi Val, George, Lesley, Peter & kids. Thank you so much for a fantastic review. Glad you all had a great time and spoke so lovely about the gite and surrounding area's of St Pierre. Welcome back anytime in the near future xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markandan...
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place To stay”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Gite was lovely a very good size and could easily accommodate 10 people, it had everything you could possibly need, the pool was lovely and very private - the village is very small and quiet perfect for a relaxing holiday and only 30minutes drive to Puy Du Fou. Claire and Kevin could not have been more helpful. Would definitely go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and the pool
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Hi Anita & Mark.

Glad to hear you arrived back home, thank you very much for your lovely review, you are welcome back anytime inc your friends and more. Keep in touch. Kev & Claire x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
European1...
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lots to see and do!”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The cottage is in a great area with loads to do - Puy du Fou is a must if you are close by!
The cottage had everything that was needed and was huge!
Any small problems were dealt with incredibly quickly, efficiently and politely!
The pool looked great!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
County Donegal, Ireland
1 review
“Fantastic Family Holidays in beautiful Gite”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My family and I have just spent nearly 2 glorious weekend in this lovely gîte. I have to say it was great from beginning to end. We age a family of 2 adults and 5 kids and there was plenty of room for everyone.. we all enjoyed the big pool and the games room immensely and it was great it was private too. In the gite u have everything you need which includes English and French tv and a blueray DVD player . St Pierre du chemin is a lovely quite village and the people there are very friendly. The village has a bakery , shop, chemist and restuarant/ bar. The restaurant opens from about 12 to 1.30 nearly everyday. La Chataignerie is about 10 mins away and it has three super markets for a bigger shop if need be... We visited pouzages which is about 20 minutes away which is a bit livelier and has a few lovely restaurants in it.. one of which we visited twice.. I think it was called the vendeen... It had a lovely country farm theme with a big tractor stuck up on the wall outside the restaurant. We also visited Pou du Foy which is about 10 mins on from Pouzages and it was fantastic.. The kids loved all the shows they seen there even though it was all in French it was all very dramatic and magical and beautiful to watch. The final show which is at 10pm is well worth the wait. Many people sat for hours waiting for it to start and last but not least.. the hosts Kevin and Claire were fantastic to deal with which kept me at ease knowing that I could contact them at anytime if need be and they always got back to us .. Thank you Kevin and Claire now we have another memorable family holiday to treasure...

Enda and Caroline G and Family Ireland

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelMar...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing break!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have been to the Vendee region before camping and have been wanting to try the self-catering gite experience. This property was advertised as their 1st year as running a gite business and wow what a place.

We were impressed with all the new goods to make our holiday really nice - all white goods in the kitchen, lots of furniture and English satellite TV. We did try the French TV, but maybe our language skills can wait for the next holiday.

The pool was very nice and secluded with plenty of inflatable things to keep the kids amused. Also some nice sunbathing areas right next to the pool or in the garden under the parasol.

The games room was great, with pool and darts competitions the whole holiday with the kids.

One thing is a must on your trip to this region is Puy du Foy - just a short drive from the property and what a spectacular show they put on.

Local there was lots to do, with local market towns, chateaus and other local attractions.
Definitely recommend this place and would like to come back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool and games room
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing