We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing house and property , great host”
other travellers have booked this property
Old Farm Medieval Farm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Farm Medieval Farm
Entrance to Old Farm Main House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Old Farm Medieval Farm
Entrance to Old Farm
Main House
View from farmyard towards Cider House
Cider House
Cider house with Terrace
View towards Glastonbury  Tor
Cider House terrace & BBQ
Winter view from house to Tor
Field with our donkey Arthur and shetland Laddie
Buttercup field
Spring apple blossom in our traditional orchard
Dusk
Stunning sunset over Glasto Tor, not photoshopped !
Nice view over pond towards Cider House
Haymaking
Our traditional 'rare breed' orchard
Early morning
Naughty Laddie!
Our lawnmowers!
Luke and sheep ( Luke is one the left!)
Our ever friendly Tori dog!
Kitchen to living room
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
West Pennard, Glastonbury, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Jeanne P
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing house and property , great host”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Had an amazing time . So easy to book the week which gives you a hint of how relaxing the stay will be. We loved every moment . Fantastic location, 10 mins from Glastonbury . Great day trip. Beautiful view of the TOR from the bedroom. Richard is an amazing host . The house is so cozy and comfortable . We felt at home from the moment we arrived . And can't forget Torrey (the dog) ... we extended an extra day , would even have stayed longer if possible . Very peaceful and grounding property.
We will def be back, can't wait .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2017
Hi Jeanne,
Thank you so much and very good to meet you and your family. I particularly liked the 'grounding' reference, it's what we try to achieve!
Take care
Best
Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
alexwitch...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here at The Cider House for seven nights. What a special place steeped in history, the cider press in the cottage was amazing. Wonderful views for miles around, and peace. The cottage was so comfortable and we slept like babies. We thoroughly enjoyed the walk to glastonbury tor with the maps provided. We loved being able to spend time with Tori the dog, Arthur the donkey and Laddie the Pony. Richard went out of his way to make us welcome. It made our little boys day to help Richard tend the beehives in child size beekeeper suit provided. After soaking up a the lovely atmosphere here our batteries have been well charged. We will definetely be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Hi Alex,
Thank you for a lovely review!
Good news .. I found your ring, bad news on the drive and someone had run over it!
Let me have your address and I'll send it to you.
Best
Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbamama...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We recently spent 5 nights at the Cider House, Old Farm and had the most brilliant time.
The accommodation and location were beyond our expectations and our host Richard was very welcoming. As well as being extremely interesting to talk to about the area of Glastonbury and the history of his fabulous property, he is really very kind and generous. Our daughter loved getting involved in feeding the donkey and riding the pony, collecting the chickens eggs and learning about bees. The Cider house itself is a charming, comfortable cottage and is equipped with everything you could need. Admittedly the wifi was a bit limited for our teenagers but that suited us parents because we were there to get away from virtual reality and to explore this fascinating part of the real world! From Old Farm we were able to visit a number of places in the 5 days including Glastonbury itself, Bath and Bristol, Wells and Wookey Caves and even we ventured to Exeter one day. We loved our Easter break in Somerset and hope to be able to visit Old Farm again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham B
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A long weekend to enjoy a birthday and the Glastonbury Carnival”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This weekend away at The Cider House was to celebrate my fiancee's birthday and catch up with one of my brothers and his girlfriend. We usually stay in Glastonbury but due to us booking late a lot of the hotels and B+B's were fully booked due to the Glastonbury Carnival taking place so we decided to try out The Cider House. This was a wonderful long weekend stay, extremely quiet and relaxing. We were warmly welcomed by the owner Richard plus his dog Tori - a wonderfully loving dog:) The house was full of character, clean and was warm for our arrival. The double beds were extremely comfortable and large and none of us had any complaints with being warm when the wind blew and the temperature dropped in the evening/night. The drive into town takes a mere 5 minutes and there is a good description of how to walk to the Tor from the house. We all got to say hello to the rescued donkey, Arthur, and shetland pony, Laddie, who were both vocal and happy to nibble down carrots that were presented to them both. We all came away agreeing that we would definitively consider staying here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The decor and use of the cider press as a feature as well as Tori, Arthur and Laddie.
Liked least: Map location on this website is wrong, the map pin suggests the house is on the town outskirts.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing