We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TonyDonboy”

Seamus Heaney HomePlace
Book In Advance
More Info
US$493,09*
and up
In the Footsteps of Seamus Heaney Tour
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Bellaghy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Exceeded all expectations. The experience will stay with me for a long time. Loved the profiles of people he'd written about and the short videos of people reading their favourite poem (especially Prince Charles who really surprised me).

Thank tonydonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeamusHeaneyHome, Front of House at Seamus Heaney HomePlace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Dear tonydonnelly

Thank you for lovely review of your visit to Seamus Heaney HomePlace. We are delighted to hear that it exceeded all your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and thank you for your kind words.

Kind Regards
Shirley McMurray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"his life"
in 12 reviews
"fitting tribute"
in 5 reviews
"home place"
in 8 reviews
"audio guide"
in 5 reviews
"early life"
in 3 reviews
"great man"
in 3 reviews
"resting place"
in 2 reviews
"purpose built"
in 2 reviews
"nobel prize"
in 5 reviews
"his words"
in 2 reviews
"great little cafe"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 3 reviews
"great visit"
in 3 reviews
"lovely coffee shop"
in 2 reviews
"enjoyable visit"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 5 reviews
"scones"
in 3 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2018

I knew next to nothing about Seamus Heaney but was a fan of him within minutes due to the very smart and engaging way this exhibition/place has been put together. It's just the right scale and 'bitty' enough to dip into different aspects of his life, family etc to quickly understand his motivation and thinking, and to bring to life his fantastic poems.

Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeamusHeaneyHome, Front of House at Seamus Heaney HomePlace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Dear KeithC

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your visit to Seamus Heaney HomePlace. We are delighted that you found the exhibition smart and engaging and that it brought to life Seamus' fantastic poems.

We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for your words of encouragement.

Kind Regards
Shirley McMurray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We visited this magnificent exhibition centre today more by accident than design. But what a treat it turned out to be! Only 40 mins from Belfast, Bellaghy is a lovely old Ulster town and the Seamus Heaney HomePlace centre, opened just a few years ago, is quite breathtaking. We had a beautiful light lunch before exploring the exhibition. It was really fascinating and made great use of easy to use technology and a wonderful array of old photographs, film, and artefacts associated with the Nobel Laureate Poet’s life and work. Listening to him read his own poems was magical and overall we felt we had met Seamus in his own home. Wonderful staff (especially Marie, the new girl) made the visit easy and very enjoyable. We will definitely be back, again and again.

2  Thank JimLivingstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeamusHeaneyHome, Front of House at Seamus Heaney HomePlace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Dear JimLivingstone

Thank you for taking the time to time to write such a wonderful review of your visit to Seamus Heaney HomePlace. We are delighted that you found the centre breathtaking and appreciated all the artefacts housed withing it. Listening to Seamus read his own poems is indeed magical.

I will certainly pass on your lovely comments and we look forward to seeing you again and again.

Kind Regards
Shirley McMurray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

If you are in Ireland do not miss the opportunity to visit Seamus Heaney Homeplace. It is quite wonderful. From the minute we stepped inside we were enchanted by the ebullient, informative and enthusiastic staff who work there and obviously LOVE their work. The centre's exhibitions are very skilfully curated and it was a joy to be able to listen to Heaney's beautiful voice reading his poems while looking at photos of his family and life. This superb initiative honours not only a magnificent poet but also our wonderful Irish heritage and our love of words.

1  Thank Gillian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeamusHeaneyHome, Front of House at Seamus Heaney HomePlace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear Gillian O

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Seamus Heaney HomePlace. We are delighted that you found it a joy to hear Seamus' beautiful voice reading his poems and that the staff were informative and enthusiastic, and indeed love their work.

I hope we get to welcome you back again soon and thank you for your words of encouragement.

Kind Regards
Shirley McMurray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2018

Even if you are not into poetry you would enjoy a visit to the Heaney centre in Bellaghy. A very modern building, well laid out to show not only Heaney's work but his life. From rural Ireland to Nobel prize. Well worth a visit. small groups, couples, students of literature a must. Conducted tours with audio guide

1  Thank Hubert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeamusHeaneyHome, Front of House at Seamus Heaney HomePlace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear Hubert A

Thank you very much for your review and for taking the time to share it with us. We are delighted that you found Seamus Heaney HomePlace to be a modern, well laid out building showing you Heaney's work and his life and that you felt it was well worth a visit.

I hope it is not too long before we welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Shirley McMurray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seamus Heaney HomePlace also viewed

Bellaghy, County Londonderry
Magherafelt, County Londonderry
 
Ballymoney, County Antrim
Randalstown, County Antrim
 

Been to Seamus Heaney HomePlace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing