We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wished we could have stayed longer!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sunshine Yurt

Sunshine Yurt with its own rustic kitchen, firepit and Paddy the dog!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunshine Yurt with its own rustic kitchen, firepit and Paddy the dog!
Cook a delicious meal in Sunshine Yurt's rustic kitchen. Your view across the meadow
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Sunshine Yurt with its own rustic kitchen, firepit and Paddy the dog!
Cook a delicious meal in Sunshine Yurt's rustic kitchen.
Your view across the meadow
Say good morning to the horses!
Beautiful handpainted wooden poles in the yurt
Home comforts with rugs, cushions and Moroccan lanterns
Inside Sunshine Yurt
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yurt -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Poundsgate, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CheshireJ...
cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wished we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a fantastic 3 night family break here! Having never stayed in a yurt we weren't totally sure what to expect - everything about it exceeded all expectations. Shower,toilet, & kitchen facilities were grest. The Yurt itself was spacious, clean & very comfortably equipped and the setting was perfect. The seclusion & our own outdoor space was idyllic. Our Children loved every minute! We all had a brilliant time - a truly memorable experience we hope to repeat! Special thanks to Larry & Wendy, extremely friendly and helpful hosts who have basically thought of everything and unobtrusively ensure that everything is ok throughout the stay. Paddy the Farm Dog is a joy-sorely missed by the Children!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic, the break we needed.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Amazingly tranquil location, perfect for a relaxing break. The yurt was authentic Mongolian, amazingly hand painted and so warm we barely needed the wood burner. All the features, such as wood fired water heater and stream fridge, have been so well thought about that they work perfectly and help to make this such a lovely "low tech" getaway. Wendy, Larry and Paddy really made us feel at home and helped to make this such a great time. Can't wait to return with the kids for some more wild swimming in the river.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrigglesw...
Warsash, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Memorable, tranquil and restorative.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Met up with grown up children to celebrate a birthday. Everyone had non tech time together, in touch with nature and to catch up with each other. Simple pleasures included star gazing as darkness fell with the fire pit mesmerising us all, sounds from the woods of owls and horses in the fields. Cosy sleep in the warm yurt . Waking up to sunshine and bird song. It's a special way to share time with loved ones.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquil location + wood burning facilities.
Liked least: Soggy ground - needs to be dry conditions to be at its best.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisylove...
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very special easter”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had the absolute pleasure in staying at Sunshine yurt over Easter.The hosts Wendy and Larry gave us a very warm welcome and were available if needed but otherwise respected your privacy.The yurt is located within easy driving distance of all the places to visit within Dartmoor. We had campfires each night and then retired to the very pretty candlelight yurt with the wood stove blazing.We stayed with our two teenage children and the yurt was plenty big enough for us all.The children slept on a futon mattress.No Wifi was bliss!!There was phone coverage but we had a technology ban happening!!The Yurt is in a secluded in its placement with horses for company in the paddock in front with views only to fields and the nearby wood.The camp kitchen is well stocked with cooking implements and had everything you need for a self catering stay. A short picturesque walk takes you straight to the moors and one early morning walk I was lucky enough to see deer in the woodland,squirrels,pheasant and a Dartmoor pony and gorgeous views .A beautiful way to start the day!If you are looking for a tranquil getaway and quality time together with the luxury of a comfy bed and a warm candlelit yurt to snuggle up in can totally recommend Sunshine Yurt!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naomisf
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Idyllic rural setting hidden from all the intrusions of modern life.”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in August 2013

We (2 adults 2 children) have stayed in various yurts around the country but these without doubt offer the most in terms of location, design and (oodles of) space. We've visited a couple of times, once with friends. You really do feel as if you're the only people on the planet for a few days, unless you choose to chat to the quietly attentive hosts Wendy and Larry, or head off up to a Dartmoor inn for tea. You will soon learn the art of good fire building, and you will need to, because everything runs on wood. It's eco friendly through out. Larry and Wendy have thought of everything, and you will go home truly rested, smelling of wood smoke and feeling very pleased with yourself for your self sufficiency.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing