We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Marina Loft Apart-Hotel(Playas del Coco)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Coco Azul(Playas del Coco)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Coco Palms(Playas del Coco)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$121
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Chameleon Hotel at Las Catalinas(Las Catalinas)(Great Value!)
US$584
US$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino(Playas del Coco)
US$110
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Hotel Savannah(Playas del Coco)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Sugar Beach Hotel(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$135
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Hotel La Puerta del Sol(Playas del Coco)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa de Los Monos(Playa Matapalo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (7 169)
Filter reviews
7 169 results
Traveller rating
2 617
2 574
1 235
433
310
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2 617
2 574
1 235
433
310
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriu guanacastecosta ricasports barzip liningmonkey barhorseback ridingpura vidasteakitalian restaurantspecialty restaurantshot springshowler monkeysmake reservationsocean viewrainy seasonblack sandsushi
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 7 169 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We could not have asked for a better holiday fantastic hotel, food, drinks don't understand people moaning its a third world country and not like here in the UK, we celebrated my husbands 50th there in march. We would go back in a heart beat, did some trips the zip wires next door the cloud walk and a river trip all were very good.

Room Tip: Don't listen to all the moans
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mitchellLakenheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

I like to give fair reviews and I found this hotel to be extremely disappointing.

First of all, why this hotel was built where it was is a mystery to me. There is no point building a hotel by the sea if it is impossible to get into the sea safely. It was horrendously rocky and dangerous and there was no visibility in the water. I was expecting to be able to snorkel as the hotel loans out free snorkelling equipment but there is absolutely no way you can snorkel safely. Bearing this in mind, the pool areas were completely crammed with people and very unpleasant.

This hotel advertises itself as five star. That is rubbish. It may have been when it was first built (probably 30 years ago judging by the state of the decor) but it certainly hardly warrants a three star rating.

The food was abysmal and I'm not a fussy eater. It was so boring it was difficult to find anything worth eating at lunch or dinner. It seemed to serve the same boring food for lunch and dinner, day in and day out. Breakfast was OK though. The quality of the food at the a la carte restaurants was diabolical. We walked out of both the steak restaurant and the Italian! If this quality of food was served at my staff restaurant at work, I would have the contractor out on its ear pretty quick! There was only one restaurant to eat at lunch time which was horrendously hot in addition to the terrible food choice.

This hotel would be best avoided and I came home feeling very disillusioned and disappointed and in need of a decent holiday.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, ask for a mountain view.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Bronwen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Guanacaste, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns.

We are committed to provide excellent quality of our products and services to our guests and for this reason we are very sorry to learn that you have left our hotel thinking otherwise.

Please be assured that we will share your impressions with the relevant department in line with the main goal to achieve the highest levels of customer satisfaction.

We sincerely hope that we will one day be able to welcome you back to our hotel and have a chance to demonstrate the high standards of guest service that are typical at our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

From the minute we arrived until the minute we left we were left surprised and happy. When we first arrived we were greeted by a man to take our luggage and were given delicious, fresh juice. The room was very nice. Nothing over the top, but it had everything you would need and my ocean view was incredible. Room service came everyday and kept the room tidy. The food at every restaurant on site was very very good. Pool was great, poolside drink service was great. I really have nothing bad to say. We had a great time and would definitely come back/recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I booked at the Riu Guanacaste for our anniversary. It was very average. The beach is very rocky and unmaintained so we didn't use it at all. As such, the pool is overused and not very clean. The beds were very hard and pillows small. We asked for a mattress pad that Sunwing had told us about not only once but twice, but they never dropped it off. The food was ok but they don't take reservations at the a la cartes. As such, we were unable to get into any of the restaurants for our actual anniversary. Overall, it was ok - nothing special about it and I wouldn't bother coming back.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Serena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Guanacaste, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your anniversary and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are committed to providing excellent quality of products and services to our guests. It is disappointing to learn that you left our hotel thinking otherwise. We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve our services, and for this reason, we will share your impressions with the relevant department in line with the main goal to achieve the highest levels of customer satisfaction.

We really hope you will give us a second chance to redeem ourselves and to demonstrate the high standards of guest service and quality that are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

At one point, this hotel may have been a 5-Star. It’s not anymore. A 5-Star hotel doesn’t greet guests by chasing them through the lobby yelling at them to move their car while they check in (we were greeted upon arrival by nobody but security— not a very hospitable start).

Every meal was buffet style - no reservations allowed at the two restaurants that are not buffet.

Ran out of pool towels every morning; also impossible to find a chair by the pool since people scout them out before dawn, claim them, then don’t come back down until 2 in the afternoon.

The manager on duty, Dayan, was also very rude and made no attempt to be customer focused.

I very rarely leave bad reviews, but for a very expensive vacation to a five star resort, we expected at the very least to be greeted with smiles.

Don’t stay here expecting a 5-Star hotel. I will never stay at a RIU again, and would encourage you to look at other options before settling on this hotel. Costa Rica is a beautiful country with very friendly people; the RIU has managed to over fill their hotel with thousands of tourists on a daily basis, completely eroding the friendliness of the country for every spare penny they can get.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Guanacaste, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns.

We are committed to providing excellent quality of products and services to our guests. It is disappointing to learn that you left our hotel thinking otherwise. We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve our services, and for this reason, we will share your impressions with the relevant department in line with the main goal to achieve the highest levels of customer satisfaction.

We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to demonstrate the high standards of service and quality that are typical of our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews