We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TALLEST”
Review of Offenham Maypole

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Offenham Maypole
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

At last we've found one. We've been to lots of place around England an have never come across one. What a great tradition to still have in the village. We were lucky enough to visit on May Day along with the crowning of carnival queen an her attendants we also saw Morris dancing an the ladies of Offenham dancing the maypole. Long may it continue.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Tracey1169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beautiful village"
in 2 reviews
"pretty village"
in 2 reviews
"walpole"
in 10 reviews
"thatched"
in 3 reviews
"cottage"
in 3 reviews
"tallest"
in 3 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

What a lovely maypole. Not really sure why else there is to say about it, it's a giant stripey stick.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank rebeccab679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

This maypole dates back a long way, and is in a great location at the end of Main Street in Offenham. The Children of Offenham CE school perform traditional maypole dancing here a couple of times a year, it is well worth coming to see an event so traditional and unusual.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

I live in Offenham and the village has several things to make it worth a visit. The permanently standing maypole, one of very few left in the country. The longest thatch in Worcestershire going over 7 cottages. Several other lovely thatched and tiled cottages around the village. The river Avon running around the village, we sit in the loop of the river. The historic links to Evesham Abbey, being on the edge of the battle of Evesham and the crossing at the river for troops fleeing. A pub on the river bank, worth a visit 'The Bridge Inn', and another just outside the heart of the village 'The Fish and Anchor' also worth a visit and across the road from the river. Food at both good.
A good time to visit and take in all the delights of the village is Wake Day, usually the second Saturday in June. This is a Street Fair along Main Street and up to the Maypole. During the day the children of the local school dance around the maypole and also the ladies team. To find all information about the village please visit our offenham village website and check out the wake pages and the events pages to see what's on.
A family festival is taking place in August, open air stage live bands and lots for the children to do, come and join us and enjoy our village.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2015

A beautiful maypole in the pretty village of Offenhsm, it is still used & it's beautiful to see the dancing, although no dancing on this visit.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Offenham Maypole also viewed

Offenham, Evesham
 

Been to Offenham Maypole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing