We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun time for kids and adults alike”

Newton Farm Shop and Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We have a delightful and attractive farm shop and cafe situated in the picturesque Duchy of Cornwall village of Newton St Loe. Our business has developed around our home produced beef, lamb and pork, all of which are on sale in our shop and cafe. We are a family business with members of our family actively involved in the day to day running of the shop. We remain a traditional family farm, and as well as using our farm shop to market our own home produced produce we also respect and support other British family farms.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I came for lunch around 12:30 with my husband and two toddlers. We were able to get a table right away, and they seemed to have plenty of high chairs available (two others were being used when we’re being seated). It is a small space (maybe 10-15 tables if even), which makes it very quaint.

The food was ... delicious. Two thumbs up. My husband got the steak sandwich, and he made me try it bc it was so good. I have not had such a tender and well seasoned steak sandwich. So very good. The fries and the coleslaw salad that accompanied were also delish.

I got the salmon teriyaki salad, and it was perfect.

We got the kids sausages which were the least exciting part of the meal but were fine.

It wasn’t a cheap lunch, but it was definitely worth it. The other day we paid almost just as much at a cafe, and you can’t compare the two. The quality of food was just top notch for a little farm shop cafe.

There is a little play area for the kids, which is honestly just ok. It’s a really nice feature, but my kids were done with the area after about 5 minutes. We did, however, have a blast walking down the road attached to the shop and really enjoyed the animals along the way. The farm shop has cute pigs and sheep and we saw some chickens on the road nearby.

Thank joyj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celia G, Owner at Newton Farm Shop and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for your very complimentary review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our farm shop and cafe.
We are a small family farm and much of the meat sold in the shop and used in the cafe is produced here on our farm so we are really happy that you loved our steak.
We try to make everything possible from scratch in our cafe using the very best ingredients, and we hand make our sausages here in our butchery using our own home produced pork.
We hope you will be back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

This was the first time we’d called for lunch as previously been for breakfast. We arrived at 12:30 and predictably had to wait for a table - around 15 minutes. Two of us ordered sandwiches and fries. When they arrived the sandwiches were huge and an absolute delight. My daughter ordered the sausage roll and was only able to eat half of it but again a fantastic lunch. Excellent lunch and highly recommend.

Thank Z3481PUmarkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celia G, Owner at Newton Farm Shop and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review. We are really pleased that you have enjoyed your visits to our cafe and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We visit regularly and are never disappointed, breakfasts are brilliant and lunches first rate!
Lots of choices and delicious.
Best chips ever ☺️
The only downside is that’s it’s so popular sometimes you have to wait a while for a table or can’t get one :(
They need to double the size of the restaurant area :)
I wish they opened in the evenings!!!!
Big fans! Well done Farm shop team you are doing all the right things!

Thank lophead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celia G, Owner at Newton Farm Shop and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for your great review, we are really pleased that you are happy with our cafe.
As you I'm sure know we make everything from scratch from the best ingredients, local or home produced where possible.
Sometimes it can get a bit busy but it is usually not too long to wait for a table so thank you for your patience.
We do have quarterly 'pop-up restaurant evenings'..if you sign up for our e-newsletter you will be notified about these.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Found the link on Trip Advisor and visited with family .
Impressed with the Farm shop and butchers ( really good and wide range of local produce )
Went into the restaurant for lunch - food and drinks were excellent and around cafe to pub prices , quality was very high with fresh and tasty choices - great specials board .
Inside there is seating for around 30 with some extra space outside , service was fast polite and professional. We had a short wait for an inside table today 10min.

These guys have won numerous awards but are not spoiling it with overdevelopment and so it still has a real family farm atmosphere.

The outside is set up with a seating area , farm animals to see and a farm play area for little ones - there is also a falconry charity based there .

I think a visit would be 1 to 2 hours , it’s up behind the globe pub off the roundabout.

Nice find , we have recommended it to family with little ones who will I think enjoy the farm - for the grown ups the food and views are great .

Thank 540nicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celia G, Owner at Newton Farm Shop and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Hello
Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our Farm Shop and Cafe. As you say we are a small working family farm and much of the meat we sell in our shop and use in our cafe is produced on our farm which helps our farm to be sustainable.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Tucked out of the way between Bath and Saltford, this is the place for wholesome authentic local food. Sunday roasts are often bigged up as "the best I've ever had" usually its because the portion size is gargantuan, while neglecting to mention quality -NOT HERE. Quality is the first consideration, it's just lovely, not just the roasts but the whole menu is very appealing.
Try it you won't be disappointed - But you WILL NEED TO BOOK!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MavisScoggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celia G, Owner at Newton Farm Shop and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you so much for your extremely kind review. Our aim is to serve delicious food that is prepared on site from scratch using fresh, local ingredients, so we are really happy that you enjoy our menu and appreciate the quality. As you say Sunday lunch does get busy, so best to book!
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newton Farm Shop and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Newton Farm Shop and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing