We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heavenly”
other travellers have booked this property
Shafts Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shafts Barn
The double height sitting room with its woodburning stove The very light dining area at the entrance to the barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Shafts Barn
The double height sitting room with its woodburning stove
The very light dining area at the entrance to the barn
The sitting room has an impressive vaulted ceiling
A woodburning stove for chilly evenings
Comfortable sofas
Looking through to the dining area
The very light dining area at the entrance to the barn
The country kitchen has oak worktops, a butler sink and integral units
The double bedroom has a king-size bed
The en suite to the double bedroom
The original timber structure is a real feature throughout the barn
The en suite to the double bedroom
The twin bedroom
..... with en suite shower room
The en suite shower room
The paved garden area at the back of the barn
Secluded
Immaculately landscaped
The front of the barn
The driveway approach up to the barn
The view across the countryside
The Thomas Lord pub, West Meon
Winchester Cathedral
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
West Meon, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
batters24
Brantome, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We live in France and stay in the area quite regularly but this is the first time we have stayed at Shaft's Barn; it won't be the last. From the website, it may look a little on the small side but it is a perfect size for two or a small group. The kitchen is clean and quirky and well-equipped. The living room is comfy; log fire, SKY tv( which is fab for sports fans) and snuggly sofas. The bedrooms and ensuites are fresh, modern yet charming. And even if you go in winter, the house is so warm, I'd be surprised if you even need the fire. The owners were welcoming and available if you needed advice but non-intrusive. We were very pleased to have found this gem of a cottage one of our favourite locations and we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Mattress a bit soft
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Thank you so much for your very positive and useful feedback about this cottage. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia C
Stokenchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
“A cosy retreat, beautifully appointed, with wonderful hosts, in a charming village.”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed over the Christmas period, and the barn proved pivotal to visiting family and friends coming from Southampton, Tavistock and Bath. The hosts bent over backwards to ensure we had everything we needed, and it all felt extremely luxurious. We even had sparkling wine and chocolates as a welcome present. West Meon is a quaint village with a river running through it, sheep and woodland, a lovely old pub and friendly local shopkeepers. We went to Winchester for the fun, tasteful Christmas market and attended the Christmas Eve Eucharist service, which was outstanding. Time in the barn was spent round the wood-burning stove, with a gorgeous Christmas tree and lights and candles. Being miles from busy roads, it was so quiet, and the sky was filled with stars. Very romantic! There was plenty of space for all the special Christmas food I had to prepare, many films to watch and games galore. We all had a truly wonderful time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sense of luxury, care and generosity.
Liked least: Very comfortable for four, but six people staying might feel cramped.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2014
Thank you for your comments; it sounds as if you had a great time and were very well looked after. We're glad you enjoyed Christmas at Shafts Barn. Hideaways Reservation team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven in Hampshire”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

My partner and I had a fantastic stay at the barn. Every little detail had been thought of and the decor was simply stunning. The location was perfect for what we wanted which was to cycle and walk around beautiful countryside and relax in cosy pubs by the fire.
The log burner in the barn is a lovely touch and we used it a lot. Jill and Phil kindly provided logs for us and were so helpful in suggesting things for us to do. They even offered us a lift into Winchester as we were without a car (we didn't find this a problem at all as everything is easily accessible) which was so kind of them! The Thomas Lord pub, a five minute walk from the barn is a must visit - best roast we've had in a long time! My partner being a keen cricketer loved all the cricket heritage in the village of West Meon. Our stay really was a little slice of heaven and we will definitely be back as soon as we can. It's the perfect escape from the madness of London and we highly recommend a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
Thank you for your comments; we're very glad you enjoyed your break at Shafts Barn. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheshireC...
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Luxury stay in Hampshire”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Shafts Barn is a delightful, well equipped, comfortable cottage. Both bedrooms are ensuite and the cottage has everything you need for a short break or a couple of weeks. I was lucky with the weather and it was great to sit in the lovely garden with apples falling around me. West Meon has a couple of shops, a small cafe and a really friendly village feel. Petersfield is a few miles away and the coast is only half an hours drive.The owners, who live on site, are very friendly and helpful. I look forward to visiting again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gloriously comfy king-sized bed
Liked least: No complaints at all
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2013
Thank you for your feedback about Shafts Barn, which will be very helpful for future visitors. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian M
Gretton, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best holiday let in which we have ever stayed”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Upon our arrival we were warmly welcomed by Phil and Jill who showed us round the accommodation and, throughout our stay, could not have been more helpful and charming. We found Shafts Barn to be beautifully clean - not something one can always take for granted. The barn has recently been converted for its present purpose and is superbly and tastefully equipped with, for example, complete matching sets of cutlery and saucepans, a wood burning stove and Sky TV. Every little detail had apparently been thought of. A true home from home, indeed. We would heartily recommend Shafts Barn and hope very much to return there in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of the accommodation.
Liked least: The chairs round the dining table.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad you found Shafts Barn to your liking and were so well looked after by Jill & Phil, the owners. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing