We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven in Hampshire”
other travellers have booked this property
Shafts Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shafts Barn
The double height sitting room with its woodburning stove The very light dining area at the entrance to the barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Shafts Barn
The double height sitting room with its woodburning stove
The very light dining area at the entrance to the barn
The sitting room has an impressive vaulted ceiling
A woodburning stove for chilly evenings
Comfortable sofas
Looking through to the dining area
The very light dining area at the entrance to the barn
The country kitchen has oak worktops, a butler sink and integral units
The double bedroom has a king-size bed
The en suite to the double bedroom
The original timber structure is a real feature throughout the barn
The en suite to the double bedroom
The twin bedroom
..... with en suite shower room
The en suite shower room
The paved garden area at the back of the barn
Secluded
Immaculately landscaped
The front of the barn
The driveway approach up to the barn
The view across the countryside
The Thomas Lord pub, West Meon
Winchester Cathedral
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
West Meon, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emily D
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven in Hampshire”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

My partner and I had a fantastic stay at the barn. Every little detail had been thought of and the decor was simply stunning. The location was perfect for what we wanted which was to cycle and walk around beautiful countryside and relax in cosy pubs by the fire.
The log burner in the barn is a lovely touch and we used it a lot. Jill and Phil kindly provided logs for us and were so helpful in suggesting things for us to do. They even offered us a lift into Winchester as we were without a car (we didn't find this a problem at all as everything is easily accessible) which was so kind of them! The Thomas Lord pub, a five minute walk from the barn is a must visit - best roast we've had in a long time! My partner being a keen cricketer loved all the cricket heritage in the village of West Meon. Our stay really was a little slice of heaven and we will definitely be back as soon as we can. It's the perfect escape from the madness of London and we highly recommend a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
Thank you for your comments; we're very glad you enjoyed your break at Shafts Barn. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheshireC...
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Luxury stay in Hampshire”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Shafts Barn is a delightful, well equipped, comfortable cottage. Both bedrooms are ensuite and the cottage has everything you need for a short break or a couple of weeks. I was lucky with the weather and it was great to sit in the lovely garden with apples falling around me. West Meon has a couple of shops, a small cafe and a really friendly village feel. Petersfield is a few miles away and the coast is only half an hours drive.The owners, who live on site, are very friendly and helpful. I look forward to visiting again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gloriously comfy king-sized bed
Liked least: No complaints at all
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2013
Thank you for your feedback about Shafts Barn, which will be very helpful for future visitors. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian M
Gretton, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best holiday let in which we have ever stayed”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Upon our arrival we were warmly welcomed by Phil and Jill who showed us round the accommodation and, throughout our stay, could not have been more helpful and charming. We found Shafts Barn to be beautifully clean - not something one can always take for granted. The barn has recently been converted for its present purpose and is superbly and tastefully equipped with, for example, complete matching sets of cutlery and saucepans, a wood burning stove and Sky TV. Every little detail had apparently been thought of. A true home from home, indeed. We would heartily recommend Shafts Barn and hope very much to return there in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of the accommodation.
Liked least: The chairs round the dining table.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad you found Shafts Barn to your liking and were so well looked after by Jill & Phil, the owners. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan M
Knebworth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A delightful barn conversion full of home comforts”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We had a wonderful holiday here, the barn was immaculately renovated, with lots of cosy details. The owners Phil and Jill were very helpful and keen to sort out anything we needed for our stay, they even took us to collect fresh eggs from the chickens nearby! Our son (aged 22 months) enjoyed the range of toys available, and there is sky TV too. The beds were really comfy and all the linen smelled really nice which was conducive to a good nights sleep.

The local shop was run by the community and sold a surprisingly eclectic selection of food, and the local gastro-pub was excellent too, both only a 5 minute walk from the barn. We found lots to do over the week, including visits to the forest, Marwell zoo and Manor Farm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfy beds and the massive shower!
Liked least: We liked everything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2013
Thank you for your positive and helpful comments. So glad you enjoyed your stay at Shafts Barn. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay P
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well-appointed rental in charming village”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Very comfortable, smart and well furnished, with plenty of parking space. Two bathrooms (luxury for a small rented property!) and a safe garden for my 2 grandchildren to play in. The owners were friendly and helpful. West Meon is a lovely spot with an excellent pub, and well-placed for visiting many local tourist attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet without being isolated.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2013
Thank you for your comments. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and found Shafts Barn suitable for your needs. Hideaways Reservation team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing