We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An idyllic escape”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hael Farm Cottage

Hael Farm Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hael Farm Cottage
Twin bedroom with en suite Single room with pull out divan to make a twin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Hael Farm Cottage
Twin bedroom with en suite
Single room with pull out divan to make a twin
Double room
Bathroom with shower over bath
First floor open plan living area
Opposite view of living area
Winter snow
Putting for glory at dusk
Fantastic beach panorama
Sunset over Gower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Southgate, Swansea County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Holly A
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An idyllic escape”
Reviewed 17 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We had a wonderful time at Hael Farm last week. As soon as you arrive you feel the relaxation set in. Jon and Julie are wonderful hosts, providing everything you need to make the cottage home, including a lovely welcome pack of local goodies and the essentials like tea, milk and bread.

The cottage itself is modern yet cosy, with all the amenities you'd need and more! And what a great night's sleep, pitch black and not a sound all night.

Hael Farm and Southgate in general are a great base for a walking holiday and you can reach many of the great attractions of the Gower Peninsula within a half-hour drive. I'd thoroughly recommend Hael Farm Cottage to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2018
Hi Holly,
Thank you for your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed the cottage and the location and hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Jon and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xgoodwin
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super short break ”
Reviewed 16 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Run by Jon and Julie, the most welcoming hosts in all of Gower, their cottage is finished to a high spec and has everything you could need for a relaxing break. I have no clue where the previous reviewer was staying!
Enjoying a secluded location attached to Hael Farm, many lovely walks are within easy reach. Rhossili Bay and Three Cliffs Bay were the favourites from our visit and are not to be missed. The cottage has a good selection of guides to help you make the most of your time but we found the 'Gower Rambles' to be of great help with a couple of walks starting or finishing close to the farm. Mumbles is a short drive away and you can even be in Swansea centre in about half an hour. We particularly enjoyed Dandelion Cafe just up the road in Southgate for a great brunch if you can't be bothered with making your own breakfast. 3 nights of peace and quiet accompanied by great hikes and food was just what the doctor ordered!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2018
Hi Xavier and Holly,
Thank you for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and the delights of the Gower. We hope to see you again in the future,
Kind regards
Jon and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
achmony
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Setting.... property needs work”
Reviewed 10 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

This cottage is in the perfect location. It was well equipped. however, the washing machine was unusable due to black mould which I consider a health hazard, the toaster looked like it had never been cleaned inside and outside also a health hazard and the shower had to have an afternoon of mould and mildew remover and plenty of scrubbing to make it clean enough to get in. All in all we were disappointed particularly as on the last day I politely mentioned to the owner that he may want to check out the washing machine and he changed the subject by saying there was no need to rush off as it was not being used again until Wednesday. I was surprised at his lack of interest and apology. The reason I am submitting this review is that I would hate someone else to find the same. Obviously the shower is now clean but we were unable to do any washing all week. It lacks the attention to detail that I would expect from a 5 star accommodation. The knife and fork drawer was dirty we took all the stuff out and washed it together with the plastic compartment. The towels also smelt musty and we had to use our beach towels. Again this does not meet up to the expectations of a 5 star property. One other thing, there was an already opened pack of something in the welcome pack with a peg on it, this is not right. If you are looking for 5 star then you may be best to look elsewhere. We will certainly not be going back. Having said all of this, the house is in a beautiful spot and the beds were comfortable. With a little love and attention to detail this could be a gem of a property but not as it is at the moment. You can see where my husband started to clean the outside of the toaster it is possible to clean it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2018
We are obviously disappointed by this review, and it should be taken in the context of all the 5* reviews we have had over the years congratulating us on the superb setting, the cleanliness of the cottage and the welcome received from the owners. The most disappointing aspect, and it seems incongruous, that although we live adjacent to the cottage and saw the guests everyday and chatted to them they failed to mention any of these alleged problems until they were about to leave, and then only the washing machine. Had they done so I would have been able to see the evidence and take any necessary action to rectify it.
The washing machine seal has been a problem over the years and we do periodically replace it with a new one.
As regards the other matters raised the shower is cleaned and checked every changeover and definitely was not as the guest described it. The toaster is polished with glass cleaner. All cupboards and drawers are also checked and were clean. We have been full with guests all summer, some of whom are staying with us for the 4th and 5th times, and nobody has raised these points and in fact have commented positively on the cleanliness and condition of the facilities.
Our towels are all freshly laundered and definitely not musty, or we would have noticed when we did the changeover.
I find this review unbalanced. The guest refers to the welcome pack, but neglected to thank us for providing it consisting of a good quality bottle of wine, milk, bread, tea, coffee, welsh cakes, and bara brith. The opened pack referred to was some additional tea bags left by the previous guest and not part of the welcome pack. We provided apples from the tree in our garden, and herbs from our herb garden. When the guests arrived early we accommodated them by allowing them to unpack their luggage before the cottage was ready. None of this was mentioned in the review. It is of course always possible to find fault if you are determined to do so.
We can assure any one reading this review that it is an atypical view and urge them to read all the previous reviews of Hael Farm Cottage on Trip Advisor and on our web site.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison P
marlow
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We loved the area, the cottage and the owners.”
Reviewed 11 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

It was such a perfect break. When people present their properties well; the guests will invariably respond by showing respect back. Jon and Julie have the knack of pitching things just right. The welcome hamper was a lovely start to our break and the local knowledge was a great help. We'll definately be back to stay and enjoy the wonderful area around Hael Farm and beyond.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2018
Hi Alison and Tim,
Thank you for your kind review, and thank you for leaving the cottage in such clean and tidy condition. It really does help us in preparing the cottage for the next guests. We hope to see you again in the future
Kind regards
Jon and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob G
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location- great cottage”
Reviewed 9 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This was our third visit to this cottage – it is always our first choice if we are in the area.
Fantastic location and a great place to stay.
Always clean and always welcoming
Thanks
Bob

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2018
Thank you Bob for your kind comments. There are a lot families who once they discover the wonderful setting of Hael Farm Cottage keep coming back time and again. Hope to see you next year.......one way or another!!
Kind regards
Jon and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing