We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
130
31
20
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
130
31
20
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red lion fully serviced pitch woodland walk individual cubicles kept immaculate exercise area lovely site local pub park and ride separate rooms highly recommend this site excellent facilities star site self contained late arrival cheddar gorge a lovely holiday
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2021

We recently visited this site with another couple, all of us retired.
Our first impression was that the site was well maintained but very regimentally run.
I was amazed by the amount of pages in their information sheets dedicated to dogs! The dog walk is a very short track but there was also a nature walk on which dogs were not allowed. Not sure of the reasoning behind this, but a great shame.
There is no toilet block, just unisex shower cubicles with a toilet and basin in them. I was not comfortable with this, felt that it was unhygienic to have a shower in the same small cubicle where somebody has just used the toilet.
On our first night we sat in our friends' awning as is our custom. We were not playing music but we were having a drink, a chat and ... we were laughing!!! The awning was completely zipped up. At 9.20pm a bright torch was shone directly into the awning, very unsettling and an invasion of our privacy. We were told that there had been a complaint made about the noise and could we keep it down. The following afternoon the manager paid us another visit and we were reminded to keep the noise down that coming evening or we would be asked to leave. He spoke to us in an extremely condescending way and we were made to feel like naughty teenagers.
We were very upset, having been spoken to in such a rude and intimidating way. We immediately chose to leave and booked into another site, leaving the following morning. We were refunded our remaining 5 nights.
The 'complaint' remains a complete mystery as we spoke to several friendly people on site who had heard nothing.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 288alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Wardens, Guest Services / Front Office at Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Alex, While we very much regret the situation and make no judgement on the matter, the over-riding fact is that 7 other guests did complain about noise from you and your friends suemjames60. During the following day, one of those 7 guests asked to cut-short their holiday and left. Please appreciate this left us with no alternative but to take the matter up with you. We ask others to read your review in that context.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2021 via mobile

We have just spent a fabulous 5 nights at Chew Valley Caravan Park
Very welcoming, friendly and helpful staff and excellent facilities, spotlessly clean and heated.
It felt like staying in a beautiful garden. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lindatP5733SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Wardens, Guest Services / Front Office at Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello LindaLuo, We're all delighted to read your review and thank you for the 5 stars. Thank you for choosing to stay at Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2021

The site is superbly maintained, quiet (with no children!) and well located for the Mendips, Bath, Wells etc. The staff are always available and do a great job. The facilities are spotless. I have nothing at all to complain about.

Room tip: No pitches offer views due to trees and flat landscape.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Wardens, Guest Services / Front Office at Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2021

Hello Mr Pickles,
Thank you for the 5 star review. Your compliments to the park team are greatly appreciated, they have had to cope with a great deal of additional work through the COVID pandemic. We hope your travels might bring you back to Chew Valley at sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2021

Having read the reviews for this site after booking, to be honest we were thinking of cancelling due to the negatives. We are so glad we didn't. The site was superb, very clean and beautiful. Grass and gardens are immaculate and a lot of hard work has gone into this site to maintain the good standards. Loved the valet caravan parking, some of the pitches would be quite tight to manoeuvre into so the valet option is the best one, and you can park on the road to load and unload. They don't want you to park on the grass and as an example of this whilst we were there, one person drove his car on the grass and got stuck, as we had rain the night before and the tractor had to come and rescue him! There is no space to park a car on the pitches if you have an awning and it does minimise noise levels anyway. No hardship to park in the car park, its not far at all to walk to and we found plenty of large spaces available for larger cars. The staff were very pleasant, helpful and accommodating, so not sure why previous reviews had stated they were rude. We had no issues at all. There was a slight electrical problem on site, so rang the emergency number at 8.30 a.m. and they came straight away it was sorted in no time, very efficiently. They had a young lady, Ellie who was selling home made chocolate brownies, doughnuts, flapjacks etc on the Thursday, her first time on the site, and we so recommend. They were delicious and reasonably priced. All the negative reviews on this site, we don't really understand. We don't have a dog, so could not comment on anything regarding this. Lanes to site entrance are narrow yes, but they have managed this by the no right turn as you leave the site so you don't 'bump' into any other caravans and NE Somerset is known for small narrow lanes, that is the beauty and countryside of Somerset. Bushes had been cut back a few days before we left. This is the councils department, not the sites responsibility I would suspect. Phone signal was very good. Covid restrictions were very good. Loved the Adult Only element, didn't notice any noise from planes. Nice pub on corner and local shop within walking distance which is well stocked, and a Spa only a 5 minute drive too. Will definitely be back and yes I would recommend.

Date of stay: July 2021
Thank 104diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Wardens, Guest Services / Front Office at Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2021

Hello 104Diane, Thank you so much for your recommendation. Readers thinking about visiting Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park will find your detailled review very useful. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us and look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2021

Our motorhome (Mrs. S), my wife and I stayed at this peaceful and tranquil site for a week. Apart from its unique and superb location, the warm hospitality of the host was the differentiating factor for us. The facilities are very clean and the use of their hire-car onsite was very advantageous.

Room tip: Visit the Lazy Lobster in Chew Magna for an unforgettable seafood culinary experience
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E6793GEas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Wardens, Guest Services / Front Office at Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2021

Hello E6793Eas,
Thank you for the five star review, which is very much appreciated. We're so glad to hear enjoyed your holiday in Chew Valley and hope you might return at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews