We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Classy accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sweep's Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Headington, Oxford, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Classy accomodation”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Very pleased with accommodation, everything I needed thus I had a lovely stay in Sweeps Cottage. Excellent location with very good transport links. Used the bus a few times to make my way to Oxford, also walked along Cuckoo Lane into Oxford so great either way for me. Shops very handy in Headington. Peter very friendly and welcoming, felt if I had enquiries I could of asked and would be helped. Would love to return in future and recommend a stay to anyone who will listen. Enjoyed a peaceful stay and Oxford fulfilled my interests in history, loved the Ashmolean & also a visit to Blenheim Palace. I can't ecommend Sweeps Cottage enough.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely little cottage”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed in Sweep's cottage for 8 days. Julie was waiting for us when we arrived and showed us around the house. The house is cute and cosy and it was spotlessly clean. The bed is also very comfortable. We had our car with us so being able to park in the little courtyard was great. We bought a 7 day bus card to get into Oxford. There are many buses going into town so you don't have to wait for long to get a bus and the ride is quite short, around 15 minutes. There are many nice places to eat around Sweep's cottage as well. We highly recommend the place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue T
1 review
“A little gem!”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The friendly owners, Peter and Julie, have ensured Sweeps Cottage offers home comforts with all the facilities you might expect plus off street parking within the beautiful grounds of their own property. It's location is excellent for all Headington amenities with easy public transport links to Oxford city centre just a few minutes' walk away. Overall a delightful place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Many thanks, Sue .... much appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melgreet
Petworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 25 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This cosy, comfortable cottage is truly home from home. Tastefully converted to keep that cottage feeling with the comfort of underfloor heating. Mine hosts were very informative and attentive marking us feel welcome and relaxed. To top it all a rental mattress that was comfortable.Ahhh
Local shops and restaurants all within walking distance has all you need. A 40 min scenic walk down Cockoo Lane takes you into the heart of Oxford.
Oxford with its spires,cathedrals, collages and rivers has more than enough to keep you busy and with "Downton Abbey" a short journey away a lovely area to visit.
After a busy day it's back to "Home" with its lovely garden and off street parking and that mattress
A really enjoyable 5 nights and a 45th wedding aniversery to remember
They have returned a pair of jeans left in the wardrobe as "Part of the service".

Thank you Peter,Julie and Monty.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2017
Thank you, Melvin. Much appreciated. Bruno says has has been called worse (than Monty)!! Come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sweet Sweep's Cottage ”
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

What can I say but WOW!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Peter and Julie were wonderful hosts. Super easy to communicate with and extremely helpful. Thank you both for providing a great place to stay.
Sweep's Cottage is a true gem. Very warm, comfortable and welcoming. The pictures show the cottage in good light but once you see it in person, in all its glory and the surrounding gardens, you realise it is so much more. It is the perfect size for a couple, the cooking facilities are first class. We enjoyed preparing several meals with ease. Supermarket and bus stop are at the top of the street and a bus to Oxford take only minutes. Alternatively you can walk to Oxford in about 40 min down a tree lines lane (Cuckoo Lane), well worth the stroll. Under floor heating keeps the cottage at a beautiful 20 deg C. Very comfortable when it is chilly outside.
I can highly recommend Sweep's Cottage to any couple looking for a friendly, warm and welcoming place to stay when exploring Oxford and surrounding areas. 5 star experience. Included are some pictures of the beautiful spring garden. ✨

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2017
Thank you Peter & Bronwyn for such a glowing review! So glad you liked the garden! Hope the rest of your trip goes well. P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$140
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing