We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous house in beautiful surroundings”
Casa dell'Ortolano in Spring: garden coming into flower, view towards kitchen terrace at East e
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa dell'Ortolano in Spring: garden coming into flower, view towards kitchen terrace at East e
Outside dining under the pergola, on South-facing terrace outside the main sitting room. South-facing pool and decking, surrounded by orchards (fenced for security).
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Casa dell'Ortolano in Spring: garden coming into flower, view towards kitchen terrace at East e
Outside dining under the pergola, on South-facing terrace outside the main sitting room.
South-facing pool and decking, surrounded by orchards (fenced for security).
View of pool from balcony in evening light, Monte Acuto beyond.
Pergola and balcony: outdoor dining and seating, with nearby barbecue.
Kitchen terrace, looking towards East lawn of garden.
Kitchen awaits chef: 90 cm oven, dishwasher, microwave, two fridges and woodburning winter range.
Dining area, opening onto kitchen terrace and East lawn.
Sitting area, opening onto shaded terrace under pergola with outside dining area.
View from kitchen through sitting room to study/4th bedroom (accessible for limited mobility).
Fireplace (with glass screen) and TV with dvd in sitting room (good supply of dvds and aging xbox).
Camera Rosa: king size (zip-linked) or twin beds, desk, views to East and South.
Camera Rosa ensuite: bath set in travertine marble.
Camera Rosa ensuite: double shower set against travertine marble.
Camera Gialla: kingsize bed and double doors to South-facing balcony.
Camera Gialla ensuite: double shower.
Camera Azzurra: kingsize (zip-linked) or twin beds and double doors to South-facing balcony.
Camera Azzurra ensuite: bath with shower above, handmade tiles and Maiolica light, West-facing.
Study: desk and networked printer (broadband); 3 singles, 2 singles, or a kingsize bed and a single
Ensuite bathroom for study/family bathroom: Zen shower
View onto South-facing balcony from bedrooms: perfect for morning coffee or sundowners
Kids play area on terrace above house: slide, swing and den - adventure beckons the intrepid
West corner of Casa dell'Ortolano in Spring: irises in bloom.
Casa dell'Ortolano (Garden House) from East lawn in May: roses getting into their stride.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Spedalicchio, Umbertide, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hgstravel...
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous house in beautiful surroundings ”
Reviewed 14 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We have just returned from a wonderful week at Casa Nova. The hosts had thought of everything from bathrobes and hairdryers to a fantastic array of kitchen equipment fit for a chef.
An ideal spot for discovering Umbria and Tuscany with plenty of delightful days out. Alternatively loads of room to relax inside or out in this spacious and extremely comfortable home. We made a great BBQ and picked incredible asparagus from the kitchen garden. Take time to see the wonderful display of irises which were spectacular.
Highly recommended.
Thank you Tom and Tricia.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendyreid...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely country house in great location”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Casa dell'Ortolana - we stayed in Casa Nova which is really well appointed with excellent facitlities. All the bedrooms, incuding the ground floor, have very comfortable beds with beautiful bedlinen, good storage and all are airy and light. The bathrooms are luxurious and the kitchen fully equipped even though we didn't get round to using the bread maker. There are lots of areas to relax inside and out as the whole house is spacious and all the furniture high quality. The gardens are beautiful and it was a real bonus being able to pick what we wanted from the kitchen garden. The hosts are very friendly and extremely helpful but their house if completely separate and not intrusive if you want complete isolation. The whole experience was designed to give us a great holiday from the delgithful cleaning staff to the instant appearance of a new dishwasher. This is a great area for seeing the towns and villages of Umbria and the hosts' recommendations of local restaurants was great. We can strngly recommend this rental if you want a beautiful house in the most beauriful part of Italy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clg523
DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Guest House in the Umbrian Countryside”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Casa Dell'Ortolano is a beautiful and very well-equipped guest house in the Umbrian countryside, giving easy acess to Perugia, Assisi and other interesting destinations in Umbria and Tuscany. The house provided comfortable and well-appointed accomodations for all five members of our group as well as a full kitchen where we cooked most of our evening meals. Our hosts were gracious and helpful. The house also afforded breath-taking views and was situated in a lovely garden. What more could one ask from a guest house in beautiful Umbria!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emiila14
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“The greatest, most relaxing vacation ever.”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at the Garden House in April, 2014, using the days to travel to nearby Umbrian towns and the evenings to cook and relax in the beautiful garden house. Perfectly appointed rooms, up-to-date kitchen and bathrooms and technology, as lovely as the pictures. We stayed a week and sorry it was not longer. To wake up to the views of the valley covered in fog, which burned off before our drives and to watch the sunset drinking prosecco was heavenly. The family owners love their property and continually work to improve it, as if they could! I hate to tell others to go to Casa Nova because we would like to keep it as a secret for ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of both the house and the views.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familyofs...
norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Heavenly!”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My husband and I and our five children had the pleasure of staying at Casa Nova this summer. As we drove closer to the house we were more and more excited as the little road went up and up and up, stunning views all around us, and after all that winding uphill we arrived at the house and were greeted and shown round by the friendly owner, Tom.
The house itself is so beautifully furnished and decorated, very simple but with everything you need, especially in the kitchen. The bathrooms were lovely and modern, the beds were comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean.
We spent a lot of time in the swimming pool, and we had some trips out in the local area, mainly to eat a lot of ice cream! Tom recommended a delicious and reasonably priced pizza restaurant just over the hill and we had two meals there which we all really enjoyed. We also visited the beautiful Lake Trassimeno several times which is about a twenty minute drive from Casa Nova.
One night we sat out on the balcony and watched shooting stars, and we also saw lots of interesting birds and other wildlife. It's certainly a real get away from it all place.
We really had a wonderful and relaxing time - Thanks to all at Casa Nova!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing