We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare disappointment ”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Martlesham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$21
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We’ve been regulars at The Red Lion for a number of years. The food is always good, although not excellent, and there’s usually a deal to take advantage of, even if you don’t have Tesco vouchers. Unfortunately, last night was one of the poorer experiences we’ve had at the pub, which is a shame as we were there to celebrate my mum’s birthday.

While the food was very nice, as per usual, the service was well below the usual standards. We waited over ten minutes for our first round of drinks and then my wife and mother had to cancel the white wines they’d ordered with their starter as they hadn’t been delivered by the time they finished their food. We also ordered a jug of water shortly before our starters but didn’t receive it until the mains, after prompting three different waitresses. It was also disappointing not to be told there was no coronation chicken prior to ordering.

We thought we’d have a coffee and liqueur in the bar after eating. However, the barmaid told me there was no decaf coffee or limoncello, and didn’t offer an apology, prompting us to leave. We’ll definitely eat at The Red Lion again, but it was surprising to have such a disappointing meal. The brilliant manager (Rob, I believe) wasn’t working last night, which may be why the service was so poor. Hopefully it’s just a one-off.

3  Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob L, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Sorry to hear we have let you down after years of good times!! We have looked into who was working that evening and used this as an example to make sure we get it right next time. Service is what we are known for, so have taken steps to ensure it stays at its usual high standard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

We use to eat here all the time as the food was really good and staff were friendly. But it suddenly just changed and we no longer felt welcome and the food wasn't as great. Shame as it was a nice place to have a family meal. We haven't been back since and don't think we will.

1  Thank allypop890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob L, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Sorry my pub has let you down, we have been made aware of a drop in service standards and changes have been made to address this! If you do return, please ask to speak to me, Rob, and I will ensure we are back to our usual selves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

We have had several meals here in the past and have always been very good,been with family this evening and the service was absolutely awful,the staff couldn’t care less ,got serve food with no utensils and had to go ask for some and the time we waited was awful.staff seemed really unhappy .wont be back

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank feestopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob L, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Sorry we were not at our usual standard, we try to get it right every time, but unfortunately we failed that evening. If you do need to discuss further please call 01394382169 and ask for Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

We have previously visited the Red Lion many times and find the staff excellent, the menu varied and the food very good. We shall visit again in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
1  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob L, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Glad you had a great time, we will see you next time! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

The Red Lion at Martlesham is a very well run establishment. The staff are lovely, efficient, and were attentive despite being flat out on a very busy lunch time (special mention to the Manager who clearly works very hard to keep both staff and customers happy - he is a credit to Greene King - you are lucky to have him).

Our meal was faultless - perfectly presented and prepared - hubby had prawn cocktail starter and I had the mackerel pate which was stunning. Hubby then had the chicken tikka tiffin meal - excellent value and very tasty - I had the prawn jacket - also lovely.

Full marks for everything - thank you for a lovely meal all at The Red Lion!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Solange888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob L, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

It’s our pleasure to make sure you have a great time, thanks for the brilliant review and I will show the rest of the team this! Hope to see you next time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing