We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Bothy”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Bothy

Aerial View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aerial View
View of The Bothy and the private garden for guests. Living room with patio doors to watch the birds feeding.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Aerial View
View of The Bothy and the private garden for guests.
Living room with patio doors to watch the birds feeding.
View of the Peel tower from the Bothy garden.
Living Room.
Treat yourself to a cosy night in.
Living Room.
Overall 1.5 acre's of private premises.
Fully Equipped Country Kitchen.
South facing private patio area.
Bedroom with super-king size bed.
Bedroom with super-king split into singles ( if requested ).
Bedroom with built in wardrobes and dressing table.
North View with plenty of private parking.
Bathroom which has a shower over the bath.
Nearby Hallington reservoir ( fishing from land or boat available on day pass).
Nearby Belsay Hall & Castle.
Nearby Hadrian's Wall. This section at Steel Rig has a nice walk along it although a bit up & down.
Nearby Hareshaw Linn at Bellingham.
One of the few locals !
Stargazing From Little Bavington.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Little Bavington, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mark-Caro...
2 reviews
“Cosy Bothy”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Great cosy little place with all you need for a time away. Plenty to do within half hours drive. Host friendly without being intrusive. Recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for a positive review. We hope to see you both again, kind regards, Keith & Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan5norfo...
norfolk uk
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic find , Just a perfect place to stay ...”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

12 days were not really long enough in the amazing Bothy in Little Bavington as it was truly home from home , our thanks to Christine and Keith for making us feel so welcome and for the lovely bottle of wine too . Christine's homely touches are every where and she has thought of everything as the Bothy is so well equipped , lots of towels , well equipped kitchen . We loved eating in the bright sunny kitchen with that wonderful view ! As I was making tea in the morning the cows were having their breakfast in the field opposite the cottage .So peaceful and away from it all , Just what us city folk needed .We didn't see that many birds on the feeders as other have done but we did see some and they were lovely to watch . The cottage is most comfortable and cosy , bed very comfortable and the whole cottage was very warm too if we were chilly and it was some mornings and evenings .It is in a perfect location for visiting many places in Northumberland . We did the coast , Hadrian's wall , Cragside ...Oh ! that was Just amazing ... Vindolanda , Housesteads , Hexham , Corbridge , Hareshaw Linn water fall , Bellingham, Morpeth and even day in Edinburgh taking the train from Morpeth .Wallington is close by too and worth a visit , we were glad we were members of the National Trust as it saved us quite a lot of money . The walk form Craster to Dunstanburgh Castle is wonderful and then take a walk down on to Embleton beach . So you can see we kept on the move and it was so wonderful to have the Bothy to return to each evening and relax and rest ... Christine and Keith were there if we needed them at any time . We were fairly lucky with the weather and it was dry during the day for most of the time but not really warm enough to sit out in the evenings . We were thrilled with our accommodation and all the places we visited , but we sadly didn't get to see it all so hope to come back again .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Thank you for such a lovely and informative review. It's so nice when people take the time to do this and it is so appreciated. We hope we see you both again, Kind regards Keith and Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indioblac...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely retreat”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The Bothy is a cosy but spacious cottage, beautifully decorated, in gorgeous surroundings. There's a fine gravel patio at the rear from where you can watch the sun set over the rolling landscape, your eye drawn by the intriguing folly constructed on a nearby hill, below which sheep and cows meander through the unbelievably green fields. It is so quiet and peaceful, that I suppose I should have written a novel whilst I was there, such is the tremendous feeling of retreat from the hustle and bustle of city life. The kitchen is well equipped, whilst the living room sports a music-centre, big-screen television plus CDs and DVDs to use with them; not to mention a pair of binoculars and a handbook on British birds that are casually left on a cabinet should your interests lie in that direction.The owner, Keith, was charming. He lives in a cottage attached to the Bothy, and after greeting us and promising us that if we needed anything then we should call him, he left us to our own devices. We used the Bothy as a base for trips out to the Northumberland coast, Hadrian's wall, and some of the many castles that litter the landscape. It was all wonderful.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
Also we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday.
We hope we see you both again in the future.
Kindest Regards Keith and Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet and peacfull setting”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A great start to go and explore northumberland by car. Cragside was especially good, holy Island and Alnwick Castle and Gardens. After a day of sightseeing, it was good to come back to a pretty little cottage to relax and unwind.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
We are so pleased you both enjoyed your stay, and thank you for such a positive review.
We hope we see you again,
Kind regards,
Keith & Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Jun 2017
Thank you for your lovely and positive comments and that's a good point re the lighting, we will have a think about that. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see both of you again in the future. Kind regards Christine and Keith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing