We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Proper home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Bothy

Aerial View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aerial View
View of The Bothy and the private garden for guests. Living room with patio doors to watch the birds feeding.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Aerial View
View of The Bothy and the private garden for guests.
Living room with patio doors to watch the birds feeding.
View of the Peel tower from the Bothy garden.
Living Room.
Treat yourself to a cosy night in.
Living Room.
Overall 1.5 acre's of private premises.
Fully Equipped Country Kitchen.
South facing private patio area.
Bedroom with super-king size bed.
Bedroom with super-king split into singles ( if requested ).
Bedroom with built in wardrobes and dressing table.
North View with plenty of private parking.
Bathroom which has a shower over the bath.
Nearby Hallington reservoir ( fishing from land or boat available on day pass).
Nearby Belsay Hall & Castle.
Nearby Hadrian's Wall. This section at Steel Rig has a nice walk along it although a bit up & down.
Nearby Hareshaw Linn at Bellingham.
One of the few locals !
Stargazing From Little Bavington.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Little Bavington, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Annmchris...
Tranent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Proper home from home”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The Bothy is a lovely little cottage, very cosy and comfortable. It feels more like home than a holiday rental. It's in a nice quiet country location and you can watch the birds at the feeders from the comfort of your armchair. We even seen a woodpecker. There was also a beautiful sunset on the first night of our visit. Didn't meet Christine, but we met Keith, who was very nice and helpful. I would definitely go back here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel.
Liked least: Can't think of anything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2016
We thank you for your lovely review and are so pleased The Bothy was a home from home for you. Hope to see you both again.
Kind regards
Keith and Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbielM7...
Fife, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great accommodation in a lovely location”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Myself, my 5 yr old son and our cocker spaniel had a lovely short break in this very well equipped and comfortable accommodation. The weather was awful but it gave us a good excuse to cosy up indoors. The bothy is lovely and the hosts were very welcoming and helpful. I would highly recommend this as a short break. The dog loved the holiday too and was made to feel welcome!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2016
We are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay and greatly appreciate your lovely review and recommendation.
Kind regards
Keith and Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lou X
1 review
“Great countryside retreat”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed at the Bothy for a weekend away, culminating in the Kielder marathon.

Keith was a pleasure to rent from, with prompt clear communication and great directions.

The Bothy was immaculately clean and exactly as per the pictures, a great escape in the countryside, with fabulous views and great star spotting at night.

Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for such a positive review. We hope the marathon went well and that we see you both again. Kind regards, Keith & Christine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M
Lechlade
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful place in an amazing area.”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Our first impression was 'wow'! Beautiful views, luxury accommodation, easy parking outside the door. Everything you could want for a peaceful relaxing holiday. The cottage was well equipped, the best we have ever rented for cosiness, cleanliness and the most welcoming - a real home from home. This was our first visit 'up north' - so glad we chose Northumberland. We were overwhelmed with the friendliness of the local people. We enjoyed watching the woodpecker every morning at the bird feeder, and Sirius your lovely dog. Thanks so much Christine and Keith for all your efforts to make everyone's holiday so special! The wine was very enjoyable! We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the windows and the overall comfort of the place.
Liked least: Having to go home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2016
Thank you for your lovely review & your kind comments.
We really appreciate when people take the time to write a review & very much value them having enjoyed their stay.
We hope we see you both again.
Kindest Regards Keith and Christine"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your positive review. We hope we see you again in the future. Kindest Regards Keith and Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing