We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
This is our picturesque holiday cottage in summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This is our picturesque holiday cottage in summer
The well equipped kitchen has lots of cupboards The kitchen is equipped with fridge/freezer, washing machine, electric oven, microwave
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
This is our picturesque holiday cottage in summer
The well equipped kitchen has lots of cupboards
The kitchen is equipped with fridge/freezer, washing machine, electric oven, microwave
The kitchen has a useful wooden table and bench-seat. We supply tea/coffee/fruit teas/sugar
The spacious living room has a tv, DVD player, radio and dining table
The living room has a comfortable sofa and two matching armchairs
One of the fields. Guests are welcome to walk in the fields. A spring feeds the ponds and stream
The bathroom has a washbasin vanity unit, wc, bath and shower
One of the ponds in the fields. Everything is very natural, with lots of wild flowers and wildlife
The main bedroom has a double bed, washbasin vanity unit, plus a large wardrobe
The main bedroom
Our bluebell wood. There is a wonderful display by our stream during most of May.
The second bedroom has a single bed, its own shower and washbasin vanity unit
The shower and vanity unit in the second bedroom
Soay sheep grazing. If you enjoy nature, you will like out Wealth of Wildlife folder
The third bedroom has a single bed, drawers and wardrobe
Our wind turbine. I couldn't resist taking this photo with such a beautiful sky
Another view of The Shippon
The patio area
The patio area
The patio area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Sticklepath, Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hawkesfam...
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice cottage”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a great week at The Shippon, Jackie and Ralph were very hospitable.
The cottage is in a great location for exploring the National Park, not far from Exeter and about an hour to Torquay/Paignton.
The cottage is well equipped and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Shippon is excellent value for money,clean,hosts very welcoming,great location.”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Location of the property was great as it is so close to The National Dartmoor Park. The cottage was very clean and comfortable. The appliances in the cottage were good and it was certainly a plus having a washing machine. We felt very welcomed by the owners and they were around if we needed them. Plenty of shops in Okehampton which takes only minutes to get to, choice of 3 supermarkets and plenty of pubs/cafe's around the area if you don't want to cook. We had never visited Dartmoor before and we got the walking bug here as the park is stunning . We took our bikes and used the cycle paths nearby and would recommend this as being a great location for walkers/cycle enthusiasts .

The only downside is that the cottage is not bigger so we could take a extended family trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Value for money,location
Liked least: We had no problems
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Choy C
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Cottage clean, comfortable and superbly fitted out. Jackie and Ralph extremely helpful and made us feel welcome.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo C
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Just what the doctor ordered!!!”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We arrived at the cottage in the sunshine to be greeted by jackie. The cottage was clean well stocked and full with all the little bits you need to settle in. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The bathroom was perfect for our needs and kitchen was a success as it cooked a perfect roast . With two lovely areas to sit and have a glass of wine and enjoy the eveningJackie and Ralph gave us great information to find the cottage and always full of great information to help you explore and see lots of the area. Have to say Jackie was right Bude was beautiful. Thank you for making us feel so welcome. Will hopefully see you all soon can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was perfect
Liked least: The rain
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan C
Seville, Spain
1 review
“Magnificent home in a relaxing place to stay and enjoy a few days on holiday”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

It is a magnificent home in a relaxing place to stay and enjoy a few days on holiday with your partner, friends or family environment.
It is equipped with everything you need, so just to take luggage is sufficient.
Located on a farm on the edge of a Natural Park

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing