We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place to stay and would highly recommend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kabuis Apartment

Kabuis Apartment Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kabuis Apartment Lounge
Kabuis Apartment Kitchen Kabuis Apartment Double Bedroom with En suite facilities
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Kabuis Apartment Lounge
Kabuis Apartment Kitchen
Kabuis Apartment Double Bedroom with En suite facilities
Shawbost in another wonderful sunset, just at the back door.
The very start of the Coastal Walk - Shawbost to Dalbeg, Dalmore or even Garenin Blackhouse Village.
Lighthouse at Port of Ness
View of the Main House, Chalet and Kabuis Apartment
Our local beach here at Shawbost - an expanse of white sand.
Your our coastal walk heading to Dalbeg, Dalmore or Garenin Blackhouse Village.  A very long wall.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Shawbost, Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
islayscot...
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay and would highly recommend”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay and the hospitality given but Rhoda and Neil was fantastic received a lovely welcome pack and Rhoda tips on were to visit on the island was a real boast to our stay, the accomodation was lovely and very clean with a very well equipped kitchen and lots of extra linen if needed, Shawbost is a great area to stay with lovely beaches neaby, we had our 2 wee dogs with us and they just loved it there, can't wait to return in April for our next holiday,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality given
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris B
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This apartment has everything you would need for a totally relaxing break. Stunning location and 1st class attention from the owners who were on hand if required but not overbearing.
The welcome pack was a lovely touch.
The only thing we didn't like was the proximity of the shower room and toilet to the bed. And the frosted glass in the shower room door.
But we learned to use the 'facilities' when the other person was not in the room

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Q7964KJji...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dream holiday”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent a wonderful week in Rhoda and Neil's holiday apartment. The apartment was pristine, comprehensively equipped, well set out, spacious and comfortable.

The apartment is set out on the ground floor and is excellently self-contained such that we didn't notice that it forms part of Rhoda and Neil's main house. There is no washing machine but don't panic, Rhoda provides a service wash as part of the rental. We had everything we needed and more. Sublimely cooked fresh caught monk fish and home baking on top of this too! Rhoda and Neil were so generous and welcoming. They made sure we got to Leverberg on time for our St Kilda trip, were full of handy tips of things to see and really interesting to talk to about Lewis and St Kilda heritage, culture and the Gaelic language.

The apartment is in the south part of Shawbost village and is perfectly located for exploring Lewis. It is near all the main sights on Lewis and about 30 mins drive from Stornoway. The village has the amazing 40 North, a takeaway (some tables outside for lunch) preparing wonderful meals using local produce including evening meals to have at home. The village also has 2 shops for basic groceries.

We felt extremely spoilt by our hosts and we would have no hesitation in recommending Kabuis holiday rentals to our friends (we had a peek at the holiday cabin by the house, equally 'high end' quality letting). This was our first time in Lewis and we will definitely try to come back, in which case we'd book again with Rhoda and Neil.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Evrything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sylvander...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic holiday apartment”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a great holiday at Kabuis Apartment. Rhoda and Neil gave us a great welcome and made us feel at home.

Rhoda provided us with smoked salmon and salmon fillets to get us started, also bacon, eggs and sausages etc and a lovely bottle of wine

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing