We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Cover photo  BURNVALE 
17 North Shawbost
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cover photo  BURNVALE 
17 North Shawbost
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Cover photo  BURNVALE 
17 North Shawbost
Shawbost Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Shawbost, Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MMaider
Strathaven, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous holiday”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a fabulous holiday at Burnvale. The house is central to most attractions and places of interest.
Burnvale is a very clean spacious house with no adjacent neighbours.
The owners Gillian and John made contact with us before and during our holiday to offer advice on travel and things / places of interest, they both made us feel very welcome.
Everything we wanted was at the house from TV wifi to wet suits and fishing rods.
The holiday was relaxing with lots of family time.
Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Island and found Burnvale comfortable, meeting all your needs for a relaxing family holiday.
Many thanks
Gillian and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L
1 review
“Great property in a great location”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Burnvale is ideally located for visiting the many fabulous beaches on the west coast of Lewis. Stornoway is only 25 mins away too, which is very handy for shopping. Callanish stones are only 20 mins down the coast and the same road eventually leads you to Harris - a long drive but beautiful and really worth doing. But the best thing about the location is the sunsets you can watch from the kitchen window or the garden at the rear of the house. Absolutely stunning.

The house itself is very well appointed, clean and very comfortable. It's very quiet too, making for a really peaceful night's sleep.

And the owners are friendly and welcoming too.

We will be back, for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2017
Thank you for your kind and informative review, future guests will really appreciate your experience of staying at Burnvale and on the Isle of Lewis, and we appreciate your positive comments.
Many thanks
Gillian and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Incredible home, great location”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just returned from a weeks stay at Burnvale, the cottage is perfect, so comfortable a real home from home. Booking has been a pleasure, so much help throughout, thank you.

The views are spectacular, wish my kitchen window had this outlook. Location is ideal for exploring the island, really close to a lot of the must see places i.e. standing stones, blackhouses, we even took a run to Uig, well worth a visit and up to Port of Ness.

Topping off our trip was a sighting of dolphins during ferry crossing back to Ullapool.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2017
We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay at BURNVALE, it's a pleasure providing a home from home for our guests. We were crossing from Ullapool to Stornoway on Monday and saw the Dolphins as well, amazing.
Many thanks
Gillian and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
1 review
“Beautiful home”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Three of us stayed 5 nights at Burnvale. The house was beautifully kept with everything you could need. We were touched by the information provided and the welcome pack of black pudding and wine. We had a wonderful time exploring Lewis and Harris, especially the iron age houses and beaches. The weaver nearby was fascinating to visit, giving a real sense of the islands culture. Only difficulty was having enough hot water for three, though we tried putting the hot water on for extra perhaps we needed to wait longer for it to heat up. All in all a lovely stay. Many thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Thank you for your positive review, we are so glad you enjoyed the house and all the places of interest on the Island. we will look at the hot water programme and adjust, I'll make the instructions a bit clearer. Thank you for letting us know.
Many thanks

Gillian and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D
1 review
“Perfect place to stay.”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Clean, comfortable accommodation with every possible thing thought of. The pristine beach a short walk away is a delight and there are walks you can do straight from the doorstep. We would stay here again definitely!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
Many thanks for your thoughtful review, we are so glad you enjoyed the Island and your stay at Burnvale. Hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Gillian and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$91
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing