We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic rural cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Llanddewi Rhydderch, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DavidPAde...
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Idyllic rural cottage”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

If you want tranquility and to get away from it all in Wales this is the place for you. We stayed in this cottage for a week and really enjoyed the peaceful rural location. Only about 6 miles from Abergavenny and lots of attractions like Raglan Castle and the Brecon Beacons this place is very well situated. Abergavenny is a lovely town and only 35 miles from Cardiff.

The cottage is located on a horse stud farm where Zoe and Mervin run around 40 thoroughbred horses. The cottage is spacious and is very well equipped. The only thing I would suggest to make it absolutely perfect would be WiFi.

Thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rural location
Liked least: Lack of WiFi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline6...
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“We have not been so disappointed in a holiday let since 1981!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We booked and paid via an agent well in advance. We tried repeatedly to contact the owner as required and notified the agent before leaving France that we could not contact her. We left another local holiday rental which was great and arrived to find this was just not as advertised in our view. This holiday cottage does not seem to us reasonable, safe, to meet fire and health standards. The setting would be good only noise from owners including their 4 dogs night and day, banging doors etc. Lack of privacy. Poor cleanliness inside and out. Dampness. 13.5 tog duvet in a heat wave. Toilet and shower room directly off dining room / kitchen / sitting room. Further from Abergavenny / a shop by miles than advertised. Woken up from 7.15am by the owner who seems to have no consideration or idea. No phone signal no Wifi. We so wish we could have gone back to the other local rental which was everything this is not. 53 photos sent to agent and tourist board. See Photos.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Leaving
Liked least: Being there
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover
Reviewed 9 December 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amlwch
Reviewed 4 December 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
swindon
Reviewed 22 October 2011 for a stay in July 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;