We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Lol.travel
US$1 575
View deal
travelup.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 350)
Filter reviews
1 350 results
Traveller rating
1 089
191
41
11
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 089
191
41
11
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water villa small island fish day bed all inclusive package baby sharks lunch and dinner head chef beach boy our waiter pasta and pizza sea plane marine life dive shop beautiful island other islands his team
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1 350 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2020

TO AVOID!!
This island is wonderful for the sea, the vegetation and the kindness of the majority of the staff. BUT if your dream is to come in Maldives, my advice is to chose another island closer to Male. Let me explain you the Reason why:

Very bad organization between the seaplane and the hotel. When we arrived at Male Airport , to reach our island we waited for approx 4 hours before take the seaplane.
We forgot quickly this incident during our holidays, BUT the sequel is even worst due to the hotel's poor organization that ruined our stay.. For the return, we left the hotel only one hour before our flight departure time because the seaplane was not full.. We missed our flight with 2 other couples of the hotel for the same reason. We've had no explanations, no excuses, nothing… Of course we wait many hours at Male Airport, I Don't need to give you more details, you can imagine the situation we've been through, we used the last money we've had for go back in France..So we menaged by ourselves.
They promised us compensation since longtime ago and now they aren't answering.
Especially read the notices. This hotel is known for their poor organization.
The organization was so shame.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Romain-L95470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2020

Our trip to Vakarufalhi Island in March 2020 was suggested and arranged for us by Angelfish Travel. They are specialists in Indian Ocean Travel. Vakarufalhi was exactly what we were looking for. There is adventure if you want it, and hospitality that is absolutely top notch. The staff were exceptional and looked after us very well without being too intrusive. Special mention for their elegant service in the restaurant must go to Kingston, The Maitre D, and waiters Dewa, and Abdulla. We would like to thank Luca also for his pleasant service. The island is beautiful, and has a house reef that is teeming with life. Snorkelling is a must. The natural beauty of the Maldives is well known, an Vakarufalhi is really worth a visit. The hospitality is second to none. The food choice and presentation is excellent, and the accommodations are spacious and clean. For a romantic break, away from the hurly burly of modern living, it just cannot be beaten.

Room tip: Room 116 was excellent. Quiet and private with the beach out front, and close to all amenities.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jonathany746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2020

Vakaru is just simply paradise. The resort is small and intimate. Luca and his staff ensure your every need is met. The over water villas are just to die for. Clean beaches and crystal clear waters with no plastic. The quality of the food was exceptional. We arrived amid the global pandemic and they took their responsibility very seriously. Sanitiser was plentiful and the doctor checked everyone's temperature daily. Unfortunately the dive centre was closed as the island that had the hyperbaric chambers was in quarantine. Disappointing as this is why we'd gone but very pleased to see that they took the safety of the divers seriously. We were repatriated back after three days......so sad but we will be back. Thank you to all the amazing staff. You are wonderful. Stay safe in these difficult times.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank katiebZ1674OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2020

Although current times are insecure and travel will come to a stop for months, evaluating our last trip to the Maldives, Vakarufalhi Island, is worth telling.
IN these difficult corona days, it probably will take time, as a visitor to find the guts to travel again, and as resort to recover from the enourmous decrease in traffic to the island. I sincerely hope both sides will recover and find eachother again, as this island is to good to go lost as a result of the global crisis we are experiencing.

Having said that, I like to share our exeperience at Vakarufalhi. It was our second stay on the island, the first already 4 years ago. Arriving in Male, smooth transfer to the island by TMA waterplane and welcomed on the boat taking us from the arrival point in midsea to the island. Setting foot on the island felt like coming home. Really all was still as good as 4 years ago.

Room: we had a watervilla, enabling us to step right into the sea and swim with the smaller fish surrounding our bungalow. The bungalow is large, good bed, perfect bathroom, enough space to relax inside when you need it, and a deck offering you the warmth and sun on the outside.

Reception : easy acces to the reception staff, nothing was to much, always a warm welcome and a friendly word. We did a lot of excursions, and found ourselves lucky to see manta's , whalesharks and wonderfull speedboat snorkling trips to Reef Garden (new in the program, the speed itself is worth the trip )

Food : the restaurant and bar area are perfect. All staff is friendly, always there to help and the food is like having gone to heaven, only to find out food in heaven is best you ever tasted. In 14 days I have not have ONE dish I disliked or couldnt eat. Sure, it's to each own taste, but I am not an easy guest and I really didnt find any to complain about.

Cleaning : having your room done twice a day, including setting up your sundeck and closing it down in the evening, it made us feel royal and appreciated. The roomboy was polite and would do any to make our stay as pleasant as he could. Top job!

Overall we had another great stay, and although we promissed ourselves, this would be our last trip to the Maldives, we are happy to break that promiss if we can, and we'll return if possible somewhere in the next years.
We are experienced travellers (luckily that worked out good, as corona forced us to take a detour on our way back) but I would easily say this has been, if not the best, for sure a holiday in our top3 travels in 20 years of traveling as a couple.

Thanks to Luca and the team, I don't mention names to prevent I forget people. You made our stay so good, we hope this corona crisis passes soon and get you back in full business as soon as possible.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marichelle_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2020 via mobile

One word to describe our stay on this treasure of an island ‘blissful’! Our first visit to the Maldives and couldn’t have stayed in a better place. Small, perfect, quiet. The staff are extremely friendly and happy to accommodate your every need. The island guests were very friendly too. The food is fabulous and all credit to chef and his extensive team both in the kitchens and working in the restaurant. We spent 4 nights in a beach villa which was amazing then moved to a water villa for our final 3 nights which was simply stunning. Excellent housekeepers worked tirelessly behind the scenes. The Spa was a must visit too and we managed to fit 4 visits in our 7 night stay!! The lagoon is warm and crystal clear with amazing snorkelling. A beautiful house reef. Tempting excursions are on offer and we chose to swim with turtles and the sunset cruise. I forgot my flippers on the turtle trip but the very kind Ali took my hand and guided me, safely over the reefs. Spotting turtles, octopus, fish of every colour and we even found Nimo! In the 2 restaurant areas we were looked after expertly by Mudrhadee (Ali) with his beautiful table sand art and Farouk.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 289je
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews