We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 350)
Filter reviews
1 350 results
Traveller rating
1 090
190
41
11
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 090
190
41
11
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water villa small island fish day bed all inclusive package baby sharks lunch and dinner head chef beach boy our waiter pasta and pizza sea plane marine life dive shop beautiful island other islands his team
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1 350 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2020

Vakaru is just simply paradise. The resort is small and intimate. Luca and his staff ensure your every need is met. The over water villas are just to die for. Clean beaches and crystal clear waters with no plastic. The quality of the food was exceptional. We arrived amid the global pandemic and they took their responsibility very seriously. Sanitiser was plentiful and the doctor checked everyone's temperature daily. Unfortunately the dive centre was closed as the island that had the hyperbaric chambers was in quarantine. Disappointing as this is why we'd gone but very pleased to see that they took the safety of the divers seriously. We were repatriated back after three days......so sad but we will be back. Thank you to all the amazing staff. You are wonderful. Stay safe in these difficult times.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank katiebZ1674OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2020

Although current times are insecure and travel will come to a stop for months, evaluating our last trip to the Maldives, Vakarufalhi Island, is worth telling.
IN these difficult corona days, it probably will take time, as a visitor to find the guts to travel again, and as resort to recover from the enourmous decrease in traffic to the island. I sincerely hope both sides will recover and find eachother again, as this island is to good to go lost as a result of the global crisis we are experiencing.

Having said that, I like to share our exeperience at Vakarufalhi. It was our second stay on the island, the first already 4 years ago. Arriving in Male, smooth transfer to the island by TMA waterplane and welcomed on the boat taking us from the arrival point in midsea to the island. Setting foot on the island felt like coming home. Really all was still as good as 4 years ago.

Room: we had a watervilla, enabling us to step right into the sea and swim with the smaller fish surrounding our bungalow. The bungalow is large, good bed, perfect bathroom, enough space to relax inside when you need it, and a deck offering you the warmth and sun on the outside.

Reception : easy acces to the reception staff, nothing was to much, always a warm welcome and a friendly word. We did a lot of excursions, and found ourselves lucky to see manta's , whalesharks and wonderfull speedboat snorkling trips to Reef Garden (new in the program, the speed itself is worth the trip )

Food : the restaurant and bar area are perfect. All staff is friendly, always there to help and the food is like having gone to heaven, only to find out food in heaven is best you ever tasted. In 14 days I have not have ONE dish I disliked or couldnt eat. Sure, it's to each own taste, but I am not an easy guest and I really didnt find any to complain about.

Cleaning : having your room done twice a day, including setting up your sundeck and closing it down in the evening, it made us feel royal and appreciated. The roomboy was polite and would do any to make our stay as pleasant as he could. Top job!

Overall we had another great stay, and although we promissed ourselves, this would be our last trip to the Maldives, we are happy to break that promiss if we can, and we'll return if possible somewhere in the next years.
We are experienced travellers (luckily that worked out good, as corona forced us to take a detour on our way back) but I would easily say this has been, if not the best, for sure a holiday in our top3 travels in 20 years of traveling as a couple.

Thanks to Luca and the team, I don't mention names to prevent I forget people. You made our stay so good, we hope this corona crisis passes soon and get you back in full business as soon as possible.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marichelle_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 March 2020 via mobile

One word to describe our stay on this treasure of an island ‘blissful’! Our first visit to the Maldives and couldn’t have stayed in a better place. Small, perfect, quiet. The staff are extremely friendly and happy to accommodate your every need. The island guests were very friendly too. The food is fabulous and all credit to chef and his extensive team both in the kitchens and working in the restaurant. We spent 4 nights in a beach villa which was amazing then moved to a water villa for our final 3 nights which was simply stunning. Excellent housekeepers worked tirelessly behind the scenes. The Spa was a must visit too and we managed to fit 4 visits in our 7 night stay!! The lagoon is warm and crystal clear with amazing snorkelling. A beautiful house reef. Tempting excursions are on offer and we chose to swim with turtles and the sunset cruise. I forgot my flippers on the turtle trip but the very kind Ali took my hand and guided me, safely over the reefs. Spotting turtles, octopus, fish of every colour and we even found Nimo! In the 2 restaurant areas we were looked after expertly by Mudrhadee (Ali) with his beautiful table sand art and Farouk.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 289je
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 March 2020 via mobile

First time to the Maldives & we were not disappointed. The Vakarufalhi was an amazing place to spend our 20th anniversary. We stayed in one of the water villas, they were awesome. Huge room with big bed & bath. Lovely waking up to the sound of the ocean.
The staff were great, nothing was too much trouble. The food was amazing, so much choice & the quality was outstanding.
The snorkelling was good as there were lots of reefs around the resort.
The sea is crystal clear & the sand is white.
It is like paradise.
The room was kept immaculate, everyday
they cleaned it twice.
Good entertainment/ music in the evening.
I cannot fault this resort & would have no hesitation in staying here again.
Thank you to the Vakaru “ family “ you made our holiday one memorable, special occasion. See you in a couple of years !

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank 335jessh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 February 2020

An amazing island in the Maldives.
The resort is absolutely amazing, very clean rooms - great food and it has the most amazing reef. Perfect snorkeling and boat trips.
The staff are so friendly and heart warming, you feel welcome from the first moment. They take so good care of you and are so helpful.
Specially thanks to Shifu who helped us to overcome the fear of deep water snorkeling. Now we can’t get enough of the snorkeling. We will never forget you and you will stay in our hearts!
Also thanks to faruk, Zhang, kingston, Rifa - we can’t wait to see you all very soon again- you made our holiday unforgettable and we have the best memories ❤️
Thanks to the whole team in vakarufahli and Luca the manager! We really had the best holiday thanks to you all !!!!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank louisecK7601WG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imasha Dahanayake, Sales at Vakarufalhi Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2020

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your outstanding review. It give us immense pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and it is our goal to go further and beyond to ensure you feel welcome and at home from the moment you step into the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews