We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
48
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
48
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool home away from home guest house family trip maldivian resort surely visit again manta rays bikini beach male airport local island siro excursions maldives amenities alcohol journey equipment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2021

Thee best stay ever. The environment was pleasant and welcoming. Both check-in and check-out were professionally handled and easy. I will definitely come back here again the next time I visit the Maldives.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jack20_dn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perla Dhangethi, Owner at PERLA Dhangethi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2021

Thank you Jack. It was a pleasure having you with us.
Hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2021 via mobile

We stayed at Perla Dhangethi during 5 days in march during our tour of the Maldives. It was simply the best guest house we stayed at. Everything was perfect : the beautiful garden, the clean large swimming pool, the nice room, the cute animals they have. But what we liked the most is the kindness of every single person there. The manager has been nothing but nice and generous to us, his mom has offered us fresh fruits and the food was very tasty (local or not). The dive instructor was more than helpful to us, showing us everything he could during the activities. They were all respectful towards us and the nature. The excursions were affordable and we were able to see Manta Rays, sharks, so many different fishes and turtles. The island is such a treasure. The water is pure and clean on the bikini beach and you can find good restaurants or eat at Perla. If you are looking for a beautiful place to stay at, very good quality of service, kind and helpful people then EVERYTHING YOU NEED IS AT PERLA DHANGETHI

Special mention for Marco the dive instructor for these underwater footages. We will remember this trip for ever

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Y845IByannb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perla Dhangethi, Owner at PERLA Dhangethi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2021

Hello thankyou so much for taking your time to write this incredible review for us. We are glad to know that you loved your stay with us. We will let Marco know of your kind words and compliments for him. Hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2020

Hello :-)
We had a beautiful vacation in this hotel. Good location, modern rooms, very good air conditioner(it’s important) and breakfast. Very clean rooms. Hotel organized for us different excursion in paradise. Was a good experience to see dolphins, snorkeling, had a lunch on the beach. But the most important thing in this hotel - stuff. They are brilliants. It’s like in 5 star hotel. Thank you for everything. Wish to see you again!! Can recommend this hotel for sure. Amazing time in paradise with beautiful people

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank maryettamary
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perla Dhangethi, Owner at PERLA Dhangethi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2021

Dear Mariia, thank you so much for the kind words, we appreciate you taking time to share your experience with us. Our whole team works hard to meet our guests expectations. It has been our pleasure to make your stay in our paradise memorable! We hope to see you again and make many more new memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2020

Our family of 5 (2 adults, 3 children ranging from 5 to 10 years) spent 11 nights here over Christmas 2019 and all of us are looking for an opportunity to return!

Immaculate, family friendly, swimming pool & close to several beaches - PERLA is a fantastic guest house from which to explore the wonderful maldives from.

My wife & I have been fortunate enough to have visited a maldivian resort in the past & we knew our kids would love the experience as much as we did, so we started planning our family trip.

We couldn't afford all of us to stay on a resort, so we started searching for guest houses which could accommodate us.

Whenever we travel as a family, our amount of requirements go up & flexibility goes down so our research has to be that much more deeper.

Some guest houses & hotels struggle to accommodate a family of 5 in one room, which would mean our costs double if we needed 2 rooms.

Our overarching goal was obviously to keep costs to a minimum, ensuring a balanced spread of costs so that we could actually go on excursions & have a holiday when we got there!

When looking for accommodation, we generally have the same requirements (in no particular order) :
- All of us in 1 room
- Swimming pool
- All inclusive / full / half board
- Close to a beach
- Friendly staff
- Family friendly
- Clean
- Excursions

PERLA had all of these!

PERLA guest house came up in our searches of all of the maldives, but it soon shone above the other results when started narrowing our search to islands close to where we could see whale sharks!

We had a wish list of excursions we wanted to do & fortunately, PERLA could arrange them all - more later

Bedroom
Our room was on the ground floor, with a sliding door directly out to the pool.

We had 1 massive bed for all of us to sleep in - the bedroom could more than accommodate the bed (it wasn't just a bed-in-a-room bedroom).

The bed & bedding was clean & comfortable, with the room be cleaned daily when we were out.

We loved the fact shoes aren't allowed in the bedrooms / living areas - really added to the feeling of being home. - really makes you feel at home.

Other amenities in the room include:
- Flat screen TV
- Safe (free) (affixed to the furniture)
- Fridge
- Fresh (bottled / drinking) water replenished daily

Bathroom
The bathroom is bigger & more modern than ours at home!

The power & temperature is sufficient to have a really satisfying shower.

The douche is really powerful (no tp in the toilet please!)

Food / Dining
All the meals are prepared on site using locally sourced goods & everything gets eaten, with very little waste.

Obviously you won’t get the same range of choices each day as you would in a resort, but we had a different meal each day we were there (we were on half board - breakfast & evening meal) & we were never left hungry.

Typical choices were either a western-based pasta dish (like macaroni cheese) or a couple of local dishes such as delicious grilled fish (freshly caught that day!) and a curry. (as you can imagine, the local dishes were far superior to the western dishes!)

All meals are served on the 2nd floor (same height as the tree canopy) in the communal dining area. The guest house only has 14 rooms, so the dining set up means you get to meet the other guests (if they want to meet you of course!).

We spent most of our evenings in this communal area, chatting & playing games with the other guests after eating. It was a fantastic opportunity to meet other like-minded travellers - we met families from Denmark, France, Norway, Belgium & Switzerland. Turns out playing Uno & Dobble with different nationalities is a great way to learn new languages!

Swimming Pool
As I mentioned before, the PERLA swimming pool was one of the main reasons why we chose this guest house.
It was amazingly convenient to be able to jump in the pool after a day on the beach or excursion at sea. Our kids loved it & we even spent a couple of days poolside just unwinding.

Beaches
There are several beaches on the island which are within a 5 minute walk / 10 minute mooch from the hotel (this is a shorter time than walking from an overwater bungalow to the beach in a resort!)

If you want to bare some skin, you’ll need to go to the bikini beach which is conveniently next to the watersports activities.

PERLA has access to a sandbank about 5 minutes from the jetty. This sandbank changes size with the tide, but it’s roughly 100m by 20m. It really is an amazing experience being on a white sandy beach in the middle of the ocean!

The surrounding water is about 1m deep, so a great opportunity for non / weak swimmers to get a chance to see Nemo safely!

On both sides of the sandbank is a dropoff which is teeming with marine life! You need to be a stronger swimmer here though!

Excursions
PERLA offers a fantastic range of excursions which depart from the island (no picking up other travellers from different islands).

During our stay, we were fortunate enough to do the following:
- Whale sharks
- Manta rays
- Turtles
- Nemo
- Sharks (Black tips)
- Immaculate sandy white beaches
- Dinner on the beach (A.MAZE.ING)
- Bubble Maker (PADI) dive (for our 10 year old girls)

The team at PERLA provide all the equipment you need for the excursions - you just need to turn up on time!

Culture
This is an island where the locals still live & work. The primary (only?) religion on the island is Islam & a lot of the culture revolves around this; the call to prayer, the shop / restaurant opening hours & of course no alcohol. You won’t find a drop of alcohol on the island (which was great for us!).

The guest house & it’s staff are well respected on the island, with locals happy to know you’re staying there (in fact, we mentioned we stayed in Dhangethi to the passport control officer & he was delighted!)

We were there over Christmas & the celebrations they put on were amazing!

Getting There
We opted for the scheduled speedboat as that was the most convenient for us. Other options are available, but the cheaper option took too long & the quicker option was way too expensive!

The ride out there was ok - not too bumpy. But the journey back took over 2 hours as the sea was choppy. We soon discovered why the seats are so supportive & the blue plastic bags are in full supply!

Shiromi was great in getting this transfer arranged for us & even spoke with the ferry company to ask them to wait for us whilst our plane was circling above Male airport!

Summary
Overall, we had an amazing time at PERLA with everyone making us feel so welcome.
We have a general rule to not visit the same place twice (as there are so many places we want to see) but we have all agreed that we are happy to break that rule for PERLA!

We can’t wait to return & visit our extended family in PERLA Dhangethi!

Duncs, Clare, Mags, Mo & Jim

Room tip: Room 101 has direct access to the pool ;-)
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuncsNisbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perla D, General Manager at PERLA Dhangethi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2020

Heiii there Duncs,

Jaw dropping. This is so far the best from all the notes i have received from you. My dear email Buddy. :-)

We all are literally speechless after reading this review. So beautiful and in so much detail of your experience and time spend here with us. If I were to describe this guest house i would have stopped in halfway and it wouldn't be as perfect and authentic as this one. Not even close.

As you have mentioned the part i called the ferry company to extend maximum available time for you guys as the flight was getting delayed, i have to admit it got me really worried at the time. But happy now that it all worked out just fine and mostly knowing that your lovely (our now extended) family had a wonderful time here with us at PERLA Dhangethi.

Wow. This is a pride and an achievement, that we will be the first place your family will breaking "no same place twice rule" and visit.

A huge thanks from all us for sharing this information to other travelers, and we really look forward to see all of you in not so distant future.
Come back soon.
"Shukurriyaa varah bodah"

Love from Perla and Me.
Have a nice day.
Shiromi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2020

We have had many Maldivian Holiday but this one has to be our very Best! From beginning to end, our hosts went out of their way to make sure that we would enjoy a memorable stay! We were greeted with flowers, a drink (non alcoholic as dry island) and an oshibori. Later, to help us find our bearings we were given a personal tour of the premises and the island. Always available with a genuine smile, open minded, proud to make you discover Dhangethi and its history.
The rooms are beautiful, decorated with taste and extremely clean! Amenities are at your disposal in the bathroom and a proper hairdryer is in the room. Complimentary bottles of water are being put daily together with coffee. There is also a safe in the room and flat screen TV with a good selection of channels and complimentary wifi. Beach towels as well as snorkelling equipment can be borrowed.Many excursions are organised.There is a swimming pool, sun loungers if you do not fancy a day at the beach. You will also meet their two beautiful ara parrots, iguana (harmless) and their maine coon cats "Coco" and "Kharl" (they will just make you melt).
The public Beach called "Bikini beach" is only a few steps away and nearby you will find a water sports center.Bikes are available at the guest house so we enjoyed every evening a tour of the island!
Everyone at Perla Dhangethi is always smiling, willing to help! They all do a wonderful job and offered a tailored service to all their residents. We will return for sure as this ended up being more than holiday:)

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perla D, Manager at PERLA Dhangethi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2020

Thank you Freddie for this beautiful description of your stay with us.
We really enjoyed your time here and the boys. Wish we had more time to learn some of the Michael Jackson steps.
Though it was our first X mas and new year with you guys, we are sure it would be the best for many years to come.

Our friendly pets are part of Perla family and we are happy to know they entertain and give company for fellow animal lovers.

Looking forward to see you and your family soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews