We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Constance Moofushi(Moofushi Island)
US$2 579
US$2 322
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Safari Island Resort(Mushimasgali Island)
US$2 073
US$977
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
W Maldives(Fesdhoo Island)
US$1 924
US$1 742
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kandolhu Maldives(North Ari Atoll)
US$1 758
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Diamonds Thudufushi(Thudufushi Island)
US$1 531
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Ocean Beach Inn(Hangnaameedhoo Island)
US$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$631
US$584
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Constance Halaveli(Halaveli Island)
US$1 793
US$690
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$1 192
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1 087)
Filter reviews
1 087 results
Traveller rating
910
139
25
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
910
139
25
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater villa restauranteagle rayslunch and dinnerlagoon sidemain restaurantour waiterfishroom boyour honeymoonsea planebuffet restaurantbreakfast deliveredsmall islandmarine lifeother islandsmini barsoft drinks
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 1 087 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Well I feel it would be really rather silly to try and add to any of the recent reviews, but here goes ..... save to say that we have been to many of the Maldive Islands over the years, maybe over a few too many years we care to remember !! and it has to be said that Athuruga surpassed all expectations in every sense.....

Positively the best AI, choice of three different whites/rose/reds at each meal, very decent cocktails, prosecco etc.a terrific choice of food in the bffet restaurant, see my comments below ....a real bonus was the AI fantastic laundry service and also the doc. on call and all medicines free of charge...... Our beach room no. 25 was perfect and despite being the rainy monsoon period we had one big storm during the night when Germany played Italy, and then only three other short, 25 minute downpours .... and anyway even when it does rain it is still warm!!

The new manager, Petra, is TOP class and is obviously respected by all the staff on the island. She was already instigating the updating of the beach rooms with new "bed dressing" and colours. And then I have to mention the totally loveable "animation" team of Matty and his partner Valeria, the totally adorable Gazpar !! and the new marine biologist Lydia ....their low key company was delightful and full of laughter.

And not forgetting out amiable waiter, Saud, who within less than one meal time clocked onto the fact that we liked more than one glass of wine at a meal time and so there was always a bottle neatly chilled in an ice bucket at all subsequent meals ....and for all the magic tricks we so enjoyed!! `Food in the buffet restaurant was faultless, an amazing choice from Italian to grilled fresh fish, Dahl and curries to the most wonderful salads, and even sushi .....................

There was a good mix of nationalities .. Belgian, Austrian, German, Russian, Italian, Brits and for a few days a rather strange bunch from China who spoke no languages at all ..... watching Gazpar trying to explain "night snorkeling" in sign language was hysterical.

We just loved the very laid back, quiet and efficient way of the whole island ...... a totally perfect chilled and relaxed holiday and certainly in the Numero Uno poll position of great times!!

Nothing more to add, except if you are reading this with a view to visiting Athuruga, just jump in feet first and ENJOY...... we certainly did !!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank tiggygar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed here 2nd to 9th July and had a lovely time. All staff great, Saud our waiter, Petra, Simeon....animation team. Food was really good. We stayed in beach villa22. Didn't realise how good it was until we moved to another island , which was okay but without the extra "wow" of Athuruga .
Extra touches like laundry were really good. They even organised tv so I could watch Andy Murray's matches at Wimbledon(otherwise didn't miss not having tv at all).
Husband really enjoyed the diving, thanks Fabio.
We hope to return.
Thanks to all

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lorna252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We found this resort searching for honeymoon destinations, and it looked beautiful. Well, it exceeded our expectations! We were stunned by not just the truly stunning setting, world class diving, and faultless staff, but by the 'above and beyond' approach. A little plate of fruit and sandwiches that appeared in our water villa at just the right time for a snack, the happiest golf cart driver in the world to drive us the 100 metres from our villa to the restaurant (trust me, it is that luxurious touch you will love), or the 4/5 course meals made with the freshest ingredients. The rooms are large and luxuriously equipped (complete with new iMacs and wifi), and have air conditioning that works right down to arctic setting if required. There are no flies or mosquitos on the island, a blessing you don't notice until you return to Male for your flight home, and the beach is raked daily just to ensure the sand remains perfect.

Room Tip: Although the beach villas looked great, upgrade to a water villa if possible. larger and private, it also adds a second a la carte restaurant to your options
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I wanted to dive the maldives and found this place by accident on an internet sidebar, after trawling through loads of AI places, that looked great but had mixed reviews. I had already decided that if I was to spend this sort of money I wanted the best.

I started reading the reviews on TA and booked it that day, saying to better half, "this is the place", and I can happily inform those fortunate enough to be going here that it is!

We decided to go in mid-June and booked with Kuoni in February.
We were doing the daily review search and did have concerns about the weather - we need not have worried as we only had 10 seconds (really) of rain the first day we were there. The rest of the time the weather was great, not blue skies every day but silvery clouds, and very warm with a gentle breeze, we both managed to get nice tans anyway. Not bad for the cyclone season!

It was our first time with BA and it could not have been better, service superb and three seats each. Overnight flight with no dramas and excellent flight times. The return trip was equally good and worth the extra cost, with the VIP lounge a very welcome extra.

Seaplanes are great experience, a touch of adventure at the beginning of the holiday.

I'm not going to go into every aspect as others have done an excellent job in that respect and they have not exaggerated In our experience. Just wanted to mention a few standouts.

Dive team and boat crew were very professional and friendly in all aspects. Dive sites were superb, particularly Warren thilla. Thanks Guys (Rob have a good road trip!)

I have been fortunate to have dived in some great places in the world but the house reef which is a snorkel is up in my top ten. Amazing!

Animation team were great fun and always found time for a chat and a laugh.

Thanks to the tailor (yes, thats right) who knocked me up some cool linen trousers for £30 and fixed my other shorts for free, great service.

I'm not going single out staff that made it a special holiday as everyone we came in contact with all showed that they wanted to give as warm and genuine service as possible.

Petra is the "Boss" and understands the importance of repeat custom and works hard to ensure the guests have the experience they wanted when they booked Diamonds Athuruga.

And finally to the people we met that helped make it a fantastic holiday, Peter & Cindy, hope your honeymoon was special and we wish you all the best in the future.
Pirkko & John we will be in touch, John thanks for picking me up off the sand but I could have stayed there for a few more days.........
Andrea & Ron enjoyed your company hope the trip home was a good one.
So all I will say to you is "I Amici miei, Dobbiamo tutti tornati alle Athuruga"

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcdives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We have just returned from this beautiful island set in the most gorgeous clear water this is a paradise on earth if you can only travel once to the Maldives make this your destination you can not ask for more

The staff are perfect a special thanks to Adam our waiter and Esia our room boy who can make the most amazing animals out of towels all of the staff remember your names and what you drink

A big thanks to Petra the manageress who comes and greats all guests the service is great
The island is only small and you can walk around it in 10 mins easy the sea is gorgeous and the staff sweep and sieve the beach every day the food is to a high standard and presented to a very high standard

The only negative would be the trip tp fishermans island which to be honest should not happen as when you arrive at the island after a 1hours sea crossing the first thing you see is a man made pen in the sea full of turtles and rays kept in cramped nasty conditions NOT what the Maldives is all about this has to be stopped so please do not support this and do not visit fishermans island

Apart from that this was our best holiday and we have already looked at booking it for next year
Any questionslease feel free to ask many thanks Tony and Karen

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carp100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews