We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and service”
Review of U Tavanincu - CLOSED

U Tavanincu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: "U TAVANINCU" is a traditionnal restaurant in a little village near from Bastia. You just have to climb the mountain's begining to take advantage of the view all in enjoying savour of fresh product and homemade ready-cooked dish. With the view, you're totally immersed in the middle of balance of nature between the mediteraneen sea and the Corsica's greenery. It would be better to reserve.
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

Visited on a Friday evening following recommendation from TripAdvisor. It is up a very windy road off the main road south of Bastia. Just when you think you may have taken the wrong road it appears. We were greeted by a charming young woman who spoke impeccable English and were seated on the terrace, with superb views back towards the sea. We had a couple of carafes of Corsican house white, €8 per half litre and perfectly drinkable. The menu is a simple board, and looking around at other tables, everything looked good.

The portions are enormous. I have a very good appetite, but wasn't going to manage a dessert after a stater and main. They don't accept cards, so come with €30-50 per head, depending how deep into the menu you want to go.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank 690adamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Nice place with a nice seaside view. The food was good but I don't know why I was expected something a bit more. Anyway you should visit it in order to see a bit of the old island tradition.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank 726adyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Found this pearl up in the mountains after driving around looking for a place to eat at. Excellent food! Genuine Corse with Italian influence. Don't miss the mix plate with different Corse specialist like cheese and meat. That in combination with brilliant service make this place the best. I will be back!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Tomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

Found here on TripAdvisor and totally worth the trip from the sea
Cheese in light batter gorgeous as was the sword fish tartare
Nice waiter Frederick
Stunning view to the sea
Absolutely loved the place , stunning
It was worth visiting for our anniversary

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank yeti151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We like our food but this was up there......& the view......
Fabulous starters, terrific mains - big portions
Epic drive up/down the hill - just rounded the evening off

Just go - you won't regret it

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Nigelharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U Tavanincu also viewed

 
Zonza, Corse-du-Sud
 
Calvi, Haute-Corse
Poggio-Mezzana, Haute-Corse
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing