We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bucket List Ski Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort

AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bucket List Ski Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was just a few months before a family trip to South Africa when my then 15-year old son came to me and said, "Mom, we just HAVE to go skiing in Lesotho!" That led to some research on the internet and our great African Ski Adventure was launched! Our family has skied some of the best mountains in the world, including the Rockies in Colorado and the Alps in Switzerland. Though AfriSki cannot really compare to "real" ski areas, this place was a hoot! From the moment we drove around the corner and saw the TINY strip of snow known as AfriSki in the distance, we decided to make our experience there a bucket list experience. We loved every minute of it! From the traditional pop music blaring from the speakers (just like every ski area in the USA!) to the typical ambience of the ski chalet at the base of the slope, we soaked up the atmosphere. It was good for the ego when we were CLEARLY the best skiers on the hill! It was a gorgeous day in July 2016...We will NEVER forget our wonderful day (one day was plenty!) skiing in the mountains of Lesotho...

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank shannonvet64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    63
    21
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect..,peaceful resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What an amazing weekend we had at the resort. The booking process was professional,quick email response and helpful. The drive to the resort is scenic but you need a 4x4 car. We loved our home for the weekend, 2 bed, white linen,clean and comfortable pillows and beds. The bonus is that you have the highest restaurant inside the resort. I would definitely come back for winter/snow visit!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank silindilec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Snowboarding in Africa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2017

First time playing on the snow for me and also the place we got engaged.

Hired a snowboard and was on the main slope on the second day. the instructors are very helpful and friendly, overall good vibes on the slopes.
The gondola cafe is great too.Cold beers and snacks in between sessions and tons of fun to be had when the sun goes down.
Accommodation was also was warm and cozy, clean and comfortable.
Sky Restaurant was fantastic. the food which chef sends out of that kitchen is simply amazing. He managed to source together the ingredients to prepare a my wife's favorite meal on our engagement night, great service.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is Altitude!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017

This place is wonderful, absolutely beautiful setting in a valley up in the Maluti mountains. We booked this place on a whim just to extend our road trip and it turned out to be one of the best stops we made.

The resort was originally positioned as a winter wonderland, which from the pictures it def looks like a fun time to visit. However they are working on improving their summer adventure offerings. On the weekend we were there there were quite a lot of mountain bikers (myself being one of them) who came to ride the ski slopes.

We also managed to hike in the area, the mountain bike trails double as hiking trails and we got to experience more of the beauty of the area and had a picnic up in the mountains.

The Sky restaurant (highest restaurant in Africa) were breakfast and dinner are served is quite neat and cosy. The evenings were quite nippy but you are shielded when inside. The staff were all very pleasant, with great service. I would def recommend trying their sticky ribs, out of this world..

All in all it was a great experience and we will def be back - prob in winter to experience the snow!

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Mzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun in the sky!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Absolutely amazing!! We had fun the sky! Suitable for families, and adventure lovers. Take a hike in Summer to enjoy the majestic views of the Maluti moutains or go up a ski lift to try out the enduro tracks. For dinner try their ribs..these are too delicious. Chill outside in the evening for a view of the stars.

P.S get an experienced driver that will excercise patience and caution as the mountain passes are dicey. Oh and pack something warm..you'll have a ball.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort also viewed

Teyateyaneng, Berea District
 
Butha-Buthe, Butha-Buthe District
 

Been to AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing