We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”

Afriski Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit Afriski Mountain Resort – An Unexpected High. The Mountain Kingdom of Lesotho is a country rich in culture and rugged beauty. Afriski Mountain Resort, tucked away in the northern highlands, provides a gateway to this largely untapped world of high-altitude adventure. Situated in the heart of the Drakensberg-Maluti Mountains, this luxury resort caters to every taste and offers the perfect escape for sport and outdoor enthusiasts, corporate parties as well as families. With a selection of accommodation options, as well as a range of on-site facilities and restaurants, Afriski has all you need for the perfect mountain getaway. In summer, ambitious mountain goats explore the peaks in pursuit of a wide range of outdoor endeavours. The resort welcomes mountain bikers, trail-runners, hikers, fly fishermen as well as enduro and off-road enthusiasts equally. Multiple trails, paths and streams await discovery. When the seasons turn, and the cold descends, our ski slopes come to life. In addition, log fires in the evening provide time to unwind, kick back and relax. Afriski provides a touch of Europe just around the corner – without the demands of a long-haul flight. Feed your restless soul. Join us at 3222m above sea level in the Mountain Kingdom.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Resort is remote but the drive there was spectacular. Hope you have a head for heights. There was no snow during my visit, wrong time of year but there are a wide range of other activities for the adventurous. Well worth the trip. They also claim to be the highest restaurant in Africa and I can believe it.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank M1k3f00dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    95
    26
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Great food, good accomodation and amazing vibe.”
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Went to Afriski to do some Mountain Biking at Maluti Mayhem event in September 2016. The food is amazing, the drinks are reasonably priced

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Jenx01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Something out of the ordinary”
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Having never experienced snow before, venturing up to Afri Ski in Leostho from Clarens in South Africa was an exceptionally mind blowing experience! We were fortunate enough to have been staying in Clarens after quite a thick snow had fallen in the Maluti Mountains.

The roads up where in great conditions but when there is snow fall I would highly recommend ascending in a 4x4. People in sedans were unable to get past some ice sections on the road.

Afri Ski was something else! The steaming gluhwein and Ski Bunnies (hot chocolate with Frangelico) were a welcomed tummy warmer after the trek up the pass. The vibe; festive, buzzy and jovial. Sitting on the deck watching all the pros and beginners taking on the slopes was entertaining. Perhaps next time we will be brave enough to attempt bum boarding...

We had a glimpse of what a European ski holiday would be like and I would rather choose an African ski holiday any day!

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsRaath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great weekend away”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

We have been going to AfriSki for 3years during the ski season. We normally stay in Andorra. Very basic accommodation but we don't really need more. Always had warm water. Food and drinks are a bit pricey. Ski equipment not the best but sufficient.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Amazing Chef & Staff at Sky Restaurant”
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We went to Afriski this weekend for the 2nd Maluti Mayhem MTB weekend. As someone with strict dietary requirements I was a bit anxious when it came to the meals for the weekend.

Turned out I had nothing to worry about - the chef made amazing food, catering to all. The variety for me as a vegan was excellent, delicious and interesting salads, veggie curry and even gnocchi!!

The waiters and barmen were all super friendly and service was awesome!!!

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank michelereynolds78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Afriski Mountain Resort also viewed

Butha-Buthe, Butha-Buthe District
Teyateyaneng, Berea District
 
Maseru, Maseru District
 

Been to Afriski Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing