We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“PERFECT!”
Large pool with integrated children play pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large pool with integrated children play pool
The upper pool terrace with amazing unspoilt southerly views All the bedrooms have en-suite facilities
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Large pool with integrated children play pool
The upper pool terrace with amazing unspoilt southerly views
All the bedrooms have en-suite facilities
The dinning are to seat six
Large cool spacious bedrooms with en-suite facilities
Comfortable lounge with double doors onto the dining terrace
Your welcome hamper includes home made produce plus a regional wine
Dining and open plan kitchen
Time to relax with a good book
Celebrate with champagne on ice
Relax in the shade on your private terraces overlooking the pool
Casa Laranjeira has an elevated view over the open countryside
Lower terrace is covered with shady vines
Pretty gardens at Monte da Quinta
Fields of sun flowers
Goats at Monte da Quinta
The view over the farm and stables
We have fresh eggs from our free range poultry, plus the fruits and vegetables we grow.
Castro Verde is a carpet of colours in the spring
Several local vineyards, why not try some wine tasting, lunch or dinner
Storks and rare birds migrate to the region every spring
Traditional farming and a slower pace of life
Visit the local lakes and dams, quiet country walks and relaxing picnics
The sun setting over the Alentejo
See the sites by carraige
beautiful wildlife
Have a bicycles for guests to use and explore the endless tracks
The coastline to the west or the south (Algarve) is within an hour
Many activities
carriage rides
Endless landscapes
Villages and towns where time stands still
Historic sites to discover
Ancient lands and megalithic sites
Delicious regional dishes and wines
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Castro Verde, Beja District, Alentejo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Martin B
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“PERFECT!”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Myself and five friends spent an amazing week on the outskirts of Castro Verde in the wonderful Monte da Quinta. We used both houses and we weren't disappointed. We are group of birdwatchers and have travelled across Europe for many years now and I can happily say that this place is well up there with the very best we have stayed in (and there have been some good ones). It is the perfect location to visit the Alentejo region of Portugal and with the coast (Algarve) only an hour's drive away and similarly the west coast, variety is easily found. The welcome, hospitality, help and guidance from Michaela and Nigel make this an absolutely fantastic place to stay. A huge thank you to you both.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the place met our needs perfectly.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead L
Co. Kildare
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A true find... luxury accommodation in an authentic part of Portugal”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Michaela & Nigel have created an amazing place, the accommodation and pool area is so well kept and the attention to detail everywhere is super. All the little extras (amazing welcome pack, the fresh eggs, flower petals, candles, real coffee machines, snuggly blankets) really make such a difference. Monte da Quinta is also pefectely located, it's in a wonderful setting in this really well maintained small holding with all the animals - chicken, pigs, goats, sheep and it's lovely orchard of orange trees yet it is just walking distance (5 mins) into the lovely town of Castro Verde with an array of super authentic restaurants (very reasonable) - go with Michaela & Nigel's recommendations - you won't be disappointed.
There are some great sites / towns & villages to visit nearby and the local vineyards also very tempting! Michaela & Nigel have a great guide book and they are on hand to help with things and overall made our stay very relaxing. All in all we (myself, husband and two boys aged 6 & 8) had a super time and look forward to visiting again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and outdoor area
Liked least: meeting a snake on the road to Castro Verde!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick B
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic - I can't stop returning”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our third visit to Monte da Quinta and we almost never holiday in the same place more than once, so this should tell you all you need to know!

The properties, gardens and pool are beautifully maintained by Michaela and Nigel, who are the most perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them, the properties have everything you need and the views are superb. Their Quinta is in a wonderful location, far enough into the country not to be overlooked and wonderfully quiet, yet the shops and restaurants of Castro Verde are just a stroll away.

If you are a food and wine lover there are several nearby vineyards which serve delicious lunches and dinners which should not be missed.

I cannot recommend Monte da Quinta highly enough, we will be returning next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$134
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing