We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$168
View deal
Hotels.comUS$168
Booking.comUS$178
PricelineUS$178
eDreamsUS$178
TravelocityUS$168
Orbitz.comUS$168
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
76
42
22
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
76
42
22
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bungalow nicaragua spanish paradise playa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Never having been to Nicaragua we loved the ride from Managua as we got to see how the rural people lived. Our driver was from the hotel and even took us into a small town to find a snack. The ride took about 3 hours. It is more like 2 hours during the dry season we were told because they can take a different route.

We loved our hut. We only used the downstairs but the upstairs was good for kids. Definitely insects get in, but we never had a problem in the room that made us uncomfortable. The ceiling fan and floor fan were very nice to keep us cool during the night with the windows open.

We loved the outdoor shower. The bathroom is in your own walled in garden which is pretty cool.

Our food was really good. Some of the best steaks I have ever had! Everything was really fresh and made to order. As we were on our honeymoon and just wanting to relax we were fine with enjoying a drink while our food was freshly prepared. The portions were of adequate size. Don't expect Outback Steakhouse portions. Haha. Pricing was similar to the tourist restaurants in Granada.

Mario was an amazing waiter/bartender. Very personalized service and likable. All staff was nice as well. Knowing some Spanish is helpful but not absolutely necessary.

We had a surfing lesson but the waves weren't perfect. Our instructor worked at the hotel and was very nice. Maybe driving to a different beach would be better for beginners.

We loved the beach. It really was amazingly beautiful and the water so warm. Also they have a nature trail we LOVED. It was muddy, but we went really slow so we could check out the amazing amount of bugs in the forest. Big spiders, ants, wasps, butterflies. We saw a frog, iguana and a boa snake. We saw a large turtle's tracks on the beach but didn't see any actual turtles. The front desk even let us borrow a flashlight to look for them at night. The tide pools at Rabbit Island north of the hotel were very cool. Some little creatures I hadn't seen before.

We loved our stay here and appreciated the staff. Our only suggestion at check out was more hooks in the room and bathroom for drying towels or swimsuits.

So if you are a bit adventurous and want a beautiful relaxing beach vacation you should check them out.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank N4304RFtima
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter B, Director General at Hotel Punta Teonoste, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thank you so much for your nice and detailed comment! We really appreciate you took the time to review all details during your stay. You have inspired us not only to keep the good work, but to improve ourselves in all what we do. We do hope seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

When we arrived we got a nice, very tasty welcome drink.
So we already knew we will be going to enjoy our time.
Our daughter loved the swimmingpool, the beach is so quiet and all for yourself. We had fun with horse riding. Staff is very flexible.

Mario the bar tender knows how to make a good cocktail and prices are reasonable. Very nice guy! He even knew my name, what worried me a bit, that I was ordering too much. But it is holiday.

The resort is small scale and many people try to make your stay comfortable. So prices of food, drinks are all on relative scale too. Not much higher than Granada city with large competition and not the view at Punta teonoste.

The bungalows are open so traffic of bugs is high. But that is normal on a beach in nature. And not sitting in a block of appartments with a boulevard. Perhaps that means the word Eco? So bring a bugspray for 2$ and we had a mobile klamboo tent, fully closed, putted on the bed, used in Africa. So our daughter of 6 was perfectly safe and we had a quiet night. The shower and toilet was clean and outside.

Before we emailed with David on turtle arrival. He did the trouble to inform what are the posibillities to see them. He was unlucky and needed to start his day at 0.00 am and David drove us in the night with a big 4x4 to a remote beach. After just giving up hope we got the jackpot and on his advice when, we could make some nice pictures.

So if you love nature and you enjoy motivated staff, it is the place to be!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jeroen_Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2017

This is one on Nicaragua's hidden treasure. I was amazed by everything. From the Bongolous, the view, the food, the location!!!!!!!!!!!!! One cannot visit Nicaragua and not visit this wonderful paradise. Love it!!!!!!!!!!!

Room tip: All of them.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RoyLenin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter B, Gerente at Hotel Punta Teonoste, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you very much for your comment! We do appreciate it enormously!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

We absolutely loved the amazing location, right at a very clean private beach with warm water that was optimal for body boarding and first tries at surfing. We also liked architecture and infrastructures with a beautiful "club house" and rustic but very tasteful cabins which, as a special highlight, had outdoors showers. Our cabin had a beach view and so we could enjoy a fresh breeze from the sea and sleep to the sound of the waves. A very immersive nature experience.

Staff was very nice and eager and Lewis, who received us upon arrival, stood out as a great problem solver (e.g. regarding the ants infestation of our first cabin and resulting sting of my daughter's foot), proactively looking after our well-being, also giving recommendations on activities and alerting us to the release of freshly hatched turtles in the evening (just amazing!!).

So why just a 3/5 grading of the hotel?

The restaurant. The dishes were just grossly overpriced, not only in comparison to the overall price level in Nicaragua or the pricing in good restaurants of a tourist hotspot as Granada, but also in comparison with other high end hotels or resorts (as which Punta Teonoste wants to place itself, imo). A tiny "entrée" salad consisting of a few leaves and green tomato slices for 7 USD + vat or a side of probably 10 french fries for 3.75 USD + vat is simply not ok and despite running the risk of becoming unliked guests, we alerted the waiters at almost every meal that the pricing was off. This was especially true for breakfast which we had "included" which meant that we could choose one of the options from the menu per person and if that didn't satisfy us could order extras at our own costs. From the dishes on the menu only three had a size that would provide a normal adult (i.e. with very regular body type) with a good start into the day: (1) nicaraguan eggs with gallo pinto and ham or sausage, (2) omelette or (3) french toast. Not ideal, if you are used to starting the day with fresh fruits and granola (the do have a "tropical parfait", but it's too small). Another issue we took with the restaurant was the chef's apparent inability to put together a vegan meal beyond pasta and vegetables (which was good but gets tiring after eating it twice..). When giving him and the hotel manager our feedback on the restaurant (which we felt was the fair thing to do as it highly impacts our hotel rating), the chef told us that he knows very much about vegan kitchen and would've been delighted to cook something special... So what happened there? We told the waiters to please make sure that no meat, eggs, cheese, milk or any other animal product is used as an ingredient (the vegetable soup still tasted a lot like it was based on a chicken broth..) because of a vegan diet. Every single meal (=3x a day). So either communication is not working properly between waiting staff and kitchen or there is not as much knowledge centered there, as claimed. Furthermore, the service/kitchen was extremely slow. This is understandable at peak times with all tables ordering at once (although evitable with sufficient staff), but when we're the only ones ordering crepes don't need to take 30 minutes. After all, we didn't go to Punta Teonoste to sit at the table, but to go out and enjoy the marvellous beach.

Given that there are no other restaurant options nearby, performance of the restaurant has a high weight on overall assessment of the hotel. Giving the location, architecture and front-desk (with exception of the unfriendly lady doing our check-out today) five points and the restaurant only one while weighting those two elements equally leaves us at a 3 out of 5 points rating which stands exactly for the mixed feelings this hotel has brought us.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank sra_raposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Beautiful location, but the beach is not swimmable due to large waves and strong currents, and the pool is smallish - it seems more decorative than useful, even though enough space exists for it to be several times its size. However, included outdoor activities include horseback riding, surfboards, and kayaks, available for use with room (bungalow) rental. The bungalows are wonderful, with outdoor showers, but the mosquito net on my bed again proved more decorative than useful, as it didn't close. If four people stay in a bungalow, the US$100 off-season price is well worth it. The food is good but really expensive for Nicaragua. Lovely staff but obviously lacking management. Definitely plan to arrive by car, as it is quite remote.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews