We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta try The Buff”

Buffalo Pub & Grill
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Phalaborwa
Price range: US$8 - US$17
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

For icy cold beer on tap and some amazing steaks at very reasonable prices you have to hit The Buff at least once if you're visiting Palabora.

Great food, friendly service and cold beer... can't go past it!

Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

This is a combination of elegant dining or pub fare where you may sit inside, on the veranda or pub. The service is good, prices average and the food well presented and tasty.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank K2487UHstefang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leons73, Owner at Buffalo Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thanks for your rating - appreciate -- Glad you enjoyed dining with us - hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We went here on a Monday night so it was pretty quiet. Our server was pleasant, friendly and attentive. The menu is huge - too big, really. I get nervous when a menu is too big.

But our selections (basa filet for my wife, lamb curry for myself) were hot and tasty. The portions were big and they came pretty quickly. Prices were reasonable.

Would return

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarkfromtheIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leons73, Manager at Buffalo Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hi Mark

Thank you for your review , we are pleased that you guys enjoyed our good food and service, hoping to see you in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We were advised to visit this pub from our Lonely Planet guide, but probably for the first time it lead us to a mistake.

The location was nice and clean, with a nice garden, but a little "cold" .

We were in SA since only 2 days, so we were so curious in trying venison and game meat.

We then ordered the Ostrich carpaccio (crocodile and Impala were finished) and then we had Impala FIlelt and Ostrich FIllet.

The Impala fillet was nice, but nothing special and we got a little disappointed while the Ostrich was really not nice. COmpletely overcooked you could hardly eat it. We found out then in the rest of the holiday, that it was for sure a mistake in cooking, because Ostrich meat is probably the best we have tried in SA, and it's just exquisite, tried elsewhere.

Might be a single case for sure :)

Anyway the food was not BAD in absolue terms, but nothign comparable to what we found in this country!

Wouldn't suggest it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Luca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leons73, Manager at Buffalo Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hello Luca

Thank you for your review........Glad that you enjoyed the nice and clean but cold venue.
Next time in Sa you should do as suggested on the menu...Game meat re Impala, Ostrich etc should be eaten med/rare not well or med/well.....Did you bring it to the att of the manager on duty to be corrected, as non of the staff recalls complains about the completly overcooked Ostrich......Review before yours raved about the meat so did the review after yours ...strange??
We hope to see you on your nexy trip to Sa , iam sure you will enjoy tour game meat then
Buffalo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Family friendly place close to the centre, offering a wide choice of options catering for all the family.

Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leons73, Manager at Buffalo Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hi Simon

Thank you for review on Buffalos , we hope to see you and the family soon!

Regards

Leon & the Buffalo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buffalo Pub & Grill also viewed

Phalaborwa, Limpopo Province
 
Phalaborwa, Limpopo Province
Phalaborwa, Limpopo Province
 
Phalaborwa, Limpopo Province
Phalaborwa, Limpopo Province
 

Been to Buffalo Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing