We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the worst restaurant in 17 days in the country”

Buffalo Pub & Grill
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Phalaborwa
Price range: US$8 - US$17
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We were advised to visit this pub from our Lonely Planet guide, but probably for the first time it lead us to a mistake.

The location was nice and clean, with a nice garden, but a little "cold" .

We were in SA since only 2 days, so we were so curious in trying venison and game meat.

We then ordered the Ostrich carpaccio (crocodile and Impala were finished) and then we had Impala FIlelt and Ostrich FIllet.

The Impala fillet was nice, but nothing special and we got a little disappointed while the Ostrich was really not nice. COmpletely overcooked you could hardly eat it. We found out then in the rest of the holiday, that it was for sure a mistake in cooking, because Ostrich meat is probably the best we have tried in SA, and it's just exquisite, tried elsewhere.

Might be a single case for sure :)

Anyway the food was not BAD in absolue terms, but nothign comparable to what we found in this country!

Wouldn't suggest it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Luca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leons73, Manager at Buffalo Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hello Luca

Thank you for your review........Glad that you enjoyed the nice and clean but cold venue.
Next time in Sa you should do as suggested on the menu...Game meat re Impala, Ostrich etc should be eaten med/rare not well or med/well.....Did you bring it to the att of the manager on duty to be corrected, as non of the staff recalls complains about the completly overcooked Ostrich......Review before yours raved about the meat so did the review after yours ...strange??
We hope to see you on your nexy trip to Sa , iam sure you will enjoy tour game meat then
Buffalo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

Family friendly place close to the centre, offering a wide choice of options catering for all the family.

Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leons73, Manager at Buffalo Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hi Simon

Thank you for review on Buffalos , we hope to see you and the family soon!

Regards

Leon & the Buffalo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

A lovely garden setting. My friend and I eat here at least once a month and sometimes I go with other friends in between and always recommend this establishment. We tried other places while they were moving to their new premises and had to renovate the place that they are in now, but none of them were nearly as pleasant.
The service is always excellent and we get great value for money. There is so much variety in the dishes that you never have to eat the same thing if you want to try different things.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank patriciapriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leons73, Manager at Buffalo Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hi Patricia

Thank you for your positive review on Buffalos, it is always nice to hear good !
We are happy that you are pleased with the new premises, the good food and friendly staff. All for all our very special clients, to have a pleasant time!

Leon , David ,Sandra & Pieter with our Buffalo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

Was a nice little place to eat with a kiddies playground that kept the little ones entertained while we ate. Kids devoured their ribs. Burgers were massive and the steak special was great value.

Thank Nicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leons73, Manager at Buffalo Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you Nicky

We are happy that the family enjoyed the meal and all was happy, like we say: Come hungry....leave happy!! Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

The best seafood platter in Phalaborwa! This place never disappoints me! Outstanding service. Good vibes and great food!!!

Thank Priscilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leons73, Manager at Buffalo Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Hi Prisilla

Thank you for yor possitive feedback, staff and chefs very happy that you enjoyed your meal with us and awaiting your next visit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buffalo Pub & Grill also viewed

Phalaborwa, Limpopo Province
 
Phalaborwa, Limpopo Province
Phalaborwa, Limpopo Province
 
Phalaborwa, Limpopo Province
Phalaborwa, Limpopo Province
 

Been to Buffalo Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing