We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$73
US$67
View deal
SAVE US$6
Priceline
US$72
View deal
Expedia.com
US$73
US$67
View deal
SAVE US$6
eDreamsUS$72
Booking.comUS$72
Agoda.comUS$73
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
275
53
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
275
53
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful garden kruger park honesty bar secure parking swimming pool overnight stop stayed for one night excellent breakfast comfortable beds place to stay air con friendly hosts enjoyed our stay braai facilities a wonderful stay dave accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2020

We had a wonderful stay at Sunbird Lodge. We were due to stay somewhere else but they had made an error with our booking. Dave at Sunbird saved the day and we stayed there instead. We were pleased in the end for the error as Sunbird Lodge was by far a much nicer place to stay. Lovely big room and bathroom, wonderful grounds to roam around in, nice size swimming pool and peaceful outdoor seating area with settees. Dave and his wife are wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We would stay again and would definitely recommend as a great place to stay.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank elainemroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2020

Thank you so much for your kind words, we are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything worked out for the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020

Really nice welcome from our host, and lots of infos given.
Very Nice garden with a relaxing swiming pool.
Next to Phalaborwa Gate entrance of Kruger Park (only 5 minutes drive)
Nice and large rooms
Excellent Breakfast.
Really, a nice place to relax before or after Kruger Park.
Safe place, nice surroundings.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurentCeretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2020

Thank you for your kind words, it was lovely to meet your family and yourself. Hope you had a great holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2020

The place is quite big, and Dave allows you to roam free in his massive garden with braai facilities. I have stayed there twice this year and found it worth the trip both times. The last time Dave explained all the routs into the Kruger natural reserve park and his information was spot on. Also thanks Dave for going the extra mile in accommodation.

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MrMario09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

Thanks for your kind words Mario, it's a pleasure having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2020

Very nice place yo visit. Nice rooms, nice breakfast, very gently host, they allways find the way to help. We forget some documents and they send them all by email. People here was born for this kind of job. Thanks a lot for everything

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank federicor271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2020

Thank you so much for your kind review. Really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and you got all your documents back. Hope you enjoyed your Honeymoon?!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2020

We had a wonderful time at Sunbird Lodge, our host Dave was very approachable if we needed anything he had it at our beck and call. The rooms we're spacious and they had both air-con and ceiling fans in each room. All the amenities such as bbq, swimming pool a bar and fridge/freezer we available for us to take cans of drink, bottled water, ice and other alcoholic drinks to our rooms during the day and before the bar closed at 9 in the evening, guests we're to write their surname and the name of the unit on a pad, so Dave knew how much we took from the bar and charge it to our room. I liked the names of the rooms as they we're named after the local native birds.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and will return in the near future.
Peter & Sheryl Stanford (Elder & Sister Stanford )

Room tip: All rooms are located in very quite and accessible areas of the lodge.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank petersP5391KF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2020

That's very kind of you, thank you.

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it was lovely to meet you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews