We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
20
1
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
20
1
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eye level underground hide keep an eye group of friends perfect place olifants river self catering great location one night ian lover lions waterhole kettle sundowners nature wildlife
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2021 via mobile

Great location.... amazing host.Ian is very knowledgeable and interacts with guests. If you love a great bush experience I highly recommend this place. The hide gives guest a great way to interact closely with guests.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GladwinM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian Owtram, Owner at Antares Bush Camp & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

Gladwin it was an absolute pleasure being able to host you and so glad you had the opportunity to experience some elephants from inside umgede hide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2020 via mobile

We spent two nights at Antares Bush Camp and from the warm welcome, until the departing goodbye, we really had the most relaxing and enjoyable time.
The Umgede Hide was definitely the highlight of our stay. To spent time up close and personal with nature, in all it’s splendour, is definitely something any nature lover should do. I’m not a professional photographer at all, but really enjoyed myself in this one of a kind, underground photography hide, I can just imagine how a professional photographer would enjoy it!
We also had the privilege to do a game drive with Ian, owner of Antares, and we were amazed about his knowledge and respect for nature. It was amazing to be guided by a guide, that not only cares about the Big 5, but also is keen to stop and discuss the smaller creatures, birds and trees.
Ian and his team has got a lot planned for the future of Antares, keep an eye on his blog and live feeds.
Our overall experience at Antares was extremely pleasant and we will definitely return and would recommend it to any true nature lover!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AdelS548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian Owtram, Owner at Antares Bush Camp & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2020

Thanks so much adel and kobus. It was a real pleasure hosting you and so glad we got to see the elephants from the hide. Look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2020

What an incredible privilege to be able to stay here. The hide is built in a way to give you an eye level view with the ground. To be so close to wildlife and to be able to hear the amazing sounds of both the animals and the environment is truly something which creates great memories. Thank you Antares for our beautiful stay.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Bushdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2020 via mobile

Antares is a refreshingly affordable self-catering, big 5 bush camp. If you enjoy photography you will love spending hours in the state of the art photographic hide putting you at eye level with wildlife coming to drink In the waterhole a few meters from you. The camp is simply laid out and very comfortable perfect for families (2 comfortably in 2 wings) or a single group. Although there are other bish camps and houses in the area around Antares there are great tracts of pristine bush where you head to on drives along the Olifants River and surrounds. A wonderful spot.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank JakeSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian Owtram, Owner at Antares Bush Camp & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

Thank you jake. Hope we can ensure that all your guests have a pleasant stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2020 via mobile

I was kindly invited by Ian to visit the newly revamped camp and it was a real treat. I could only stay one night as it was the only time I had, but I will be back. We had Lions and Elephants on the evening drive, with a lovely sundowner at the river. We opted to spend the following morning in the luxurious Umgede hide in the hope of getting one of those magic photos from below eye level, but my time ran out before the gentle giants arrived for a drink. Can’t wait to get back there again. Thanks again to Ian for the lovely stay.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Bushlife_photography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian Owtram, Owner at Antares Bush Camp & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

Good to have had you even if it was just one night this time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews