We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
21
1
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
21
1
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eye level underground hide keep an eye group of friends perfect place olifants river self catering great location one night ian lover lions waterhole kettle sundowners nature wildlife
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2020

We spent a wonderful day and night at Antares Bush Camp with a group of friends.
Best of all was the Umgedi underground hide. Whether you're a photographer or not, this is a very special experience, sitting at eye level at the waterhole, enjoying the peace and quiet and bird song, never knowing what might appear next from stage left or right! And best of all, the waterhole and hide are right next to the lodge - so you can keep an eye on what's going on whilst you enjoy your meals on the deck. Remarkably you can also spend the night in the hide if you wish, as it is so close to the lodge!
Antares Bush Camp is a magical place to share with a group of friends or family - and as it is self catering it is really great value. A beautifully appointed lodge in the heart of Balule Reserve, open to the Kruger National Park.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarrietNim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian Owtram, Owner at Antares Bush Camp & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2020

Thanks Mike and Harriet. It really was good spending time with you. Look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2020

I was lucky enough to be one of the very first visitors to Antares Bush Camp when it opened in August 2020. The camp is surprisingly luxurious and extremely comfortable, and it's the perfect place for a group of friends that want to self-cater in the Greater Kruger.

Umgede underground hide is located walking distance from camp and I spent most of our four days at Antares in it! It's extremely comfortable with a day bed, fridge and kettle as well as super comfy chairs... And the eye-level view is magnificent for photography! We saw giraffes, impalas, koedoes, baboons, elephants AND lions! In fact, I was able to photograph one of the lions below the Milky Way one night...

If you love wildlife photography and you're looking for something new and interesting, this is the place for you.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VilliersSteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian Owtram, Owner at Antares Bush Camp & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2020

Thanks so much Villiers. It was such an honour to be able to spend time with you and to appreciate your photographic skills and good company

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2020

I can highly recommend Antares Bush Camp for families and friends looking for a bush getaway with an exceptional Hide experience perfect for photographers. Antares has set the standard for underground hide design. It's large and cosy at the same time, beautifully finished and furnished with power sockets to charge your equipment, a fridge and kettle for that amazing first cup of coffee first thing in the morning waiting for the wildlife to arrive in perfect golden morning light. If you really want to and are determined to get specific night time photography opportunities you can spend all day and night in this hide comfortably (trust me!)

The lodge is beautifully built and has all the amenities you could need, a plunge pool for those hot days and a boma area overlooking the waterhole so you can enjoy the fireside chats while still keeping an eye on anything coming down for a drink.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KtNicolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian Owtram, Owner at Antares Bush Camp & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2020

Thank so much Katie, really appreciate your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2018 via mobile

We did not spend the night in the hostel but we went on an amazing game drive with Ian and about a dozen people in two open Land Rovers. Within 15 minutes of leaving the lodge we were parked in the middle of a one lane dirt road, engine off, while a breeding herd of elephant moms and young babies flowed around us calmly feeding. OK, that was pretty amazing listening to them rumble back and forth to each other from a few feet away.

But then we drove to where lions had been spotted earlier and there they were! Two brothers were snoozing a few feet off the road. As we sat and watched them they yawned, marked their territory both with urine and tree scratching, and calmly sauntered off without being the least bit disturbed by our presence.

Later on we saw more elephants with a tiny one month old baby, 5 jackals, giraffe and a wide range of bird life. Then we stopped for sundowners (drinks and snacks) on the bank of the Olifants River. Ian is a very knowledgeable and personable guide and the experience was like having Kruger all to yourself - just you and the animals with no other cars. Don't miss this!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank faunadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2018

A lovely getaway into the bush. Experience amazing wildlife and bird watching. We had a wonderful time relaxing next to or in the pool. We will most definitely be back. Thank you Ian for an unforgettable stay.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Quandi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews