We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Garden of Eden”
other traveller has booked this property
Main House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main House
The slightly sloping lawn filled with fruit bearing trees The view from the living room with a mountain view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Main House
The slightly sloping lawn filled with fruit bearing trees
The view from the living room with a mountain view
The view from the bathroom.
The second bedroom in it own cozy cottage in the garden
The romantic garden cottage as seen from the garden at night
Main house as seen from the garden
Some exterior shots
Second view of dining room / BBQ pit
A rainbow over paradise. Look for the pot of gold
View from the main house couch
Bathroom and closet
The entertainment area with BBQ and Fire place
Behind the garden fence
Commercial size refrigerator
View from the hammock
BBQ Pit
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Soufriere, Saint Mark Parish, Dominica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Liné A
Turks and Caicos
1 review
“Garden of Eden”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

It was an absolute treat staying at La Bou. A real jewel of a property nestled in the Soufriere forest walking distance from the sulphur hot springs, Bubble Beach, mini market and local restaurants. We stayed on a few properties in Dominica, but La Bou was definitely the cherrie on the cake. Thank you so much Arent and Mabel for your hospitality.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TourismSX...
Maho, St Martin / St Maarten
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Island Oasis”
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

If you are the kind of person who want to escape the Rat Race and Rhyme with nature to find that inner peace... Go to Dominica!!!! if you ever decide to make your stay at LA BOU in Dominica, you are definitely in for a double surprise. La Bou is a small Oasis, surrounded by a range of majestic Green Mountains. The Serenity and the Energy you feel cannot be simply put in to words. Arent’s enthusiasm and knowledge about all the activities and places, Mabel’s charm and understanding together with their willingness to entertain will definitely make any visit to this beautiful Island oasis and memorable one. Thanks Arent, Mabel, La Bou and Dominica.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fruit, Nature, Hospitality
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeeper4fu...
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Awesome Tranquillity”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the minute we arrived Arent was very friendly and helpful showing all around his place. He gave us the grand tour and told us all about the history of the place and the area. We shared a few beers and he offered to take us down to the hot sulfur springs just up the road. After travelling for a couple days, that’s just what we needed. The hot springs are very close to the cottage and we went there almost every night. The cottage is very unique and has lots to offer. We arrived late, so we didn’t see much of the property till the sun came up. Staying in either the master bedroom or the bird house cottage gives you the feeling of sleeping in the forest. The sounds of the birds and animals in the bush sure brings you back to nature. Very peaceful and hard to describe until your laying there. Really found it hard to get out of bed each morning. You have total privacy on this large property surrounded by mountains and greenery. There is a dog Oro on the property as well. He’s was a great little dog. He’s getting up there in age, so he doesn’t really do too much. We usually seen him have a burst of energy in the morning and right before bed. Other than that he would lay on his mat or the dirt pile beside the cottage guarding the place.  Many fruit trees of the property, so you can pick fresh fruit depending what’s in season. The cottage has many windows and doors that all open up to let the trade winds blow through, but are also are built like a bomb shelter that you could lock down in case of an zombie apocalypse. Apparently the guy that built the place was paranoid and made everything out of concrete. The place is very safe and never need to worry about that, but good to know.

La Bou gets you away from all the high tech gadgets that you’re use to at home and leaves the outside world for a vacation. We were also given a cell phone to use while we were there in case we needed anything, but we never had to use it. We didn’t rented a car, so we walked into Soufreire a couple times for a few beers with the locals (about 15min walk). There is a little beer stand called First stop (Big Guinness sign) where we hit for a few cold ones as we passed to go down to the beach and the hot spring bath that flows in to the ocean. (Very hot).
We had a great time there and hope to return someday soon. Arent is very willing to make your experience a more enjoyable time. Give him the opportunity to make your vacation to Dominica a great one. He lives just up the road so he is easy to get a hold of if needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No one around but nature
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place & great owner”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We spend 4 fantastic days in LA BOU close to the charming village of Souffriere. The place is perfectly equipped and Arend (the owner) is the best host you can imagine. The place is perfect for outside BBQ, it has a nice fireplace and everything you need for a great vaccation.
Thanks a lot Arend for this great experience!!!
All the best from Switzerland,
Ilso, Päscu, Nineli, Tömu

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beeing outside BBQin
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevelken...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2 days to never forget”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Beautiful place hidden in nature. Just next to the hot springs
Stayed here with two couples and immediately agreed we should have stayed longer.
Walking distance to the bay of Scotts head. Great for diving and snorkeling.

Arent is a great guy who will help you a lot to enjoy dominica as much as possible

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing