We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fabulous gite set in the beautiful countryside.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Clef des Champs

South facing front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South facing front of house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
South facing front of house
Cute nursery room
Top floor power shower in the ensuite bathroom
Plenty of space for children, even toddlers, to play around
Relax in the garden facing the sun all day long
The property seen from the riverside picnic area
Coutances Cathedral
View from a walking path around the gite
A couple of Blue tits nesting by the gite's window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Montpinchon, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
cashxoxo
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fabulous gite set in the beautiful countryside.”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Myself, husband and my parents stayed here for a week at the beginning of August 2015. We were given a very friendly welcome by Alban And Valerie. despite the language barrier we were settled in quickly with a lovely touch of homemade jam and local cider. We could not have asked for more from this holiday gite. A generous size with all mod-cons.

We had fantastic weather, warm/hot sunshine every day, which enabled us to get out and about everyday exploring. La clefs des champs is the perfect base to explore. We managed to see all of the d-day beaches and monuments, Arromanches, Mont st. Michel (which is fabulous but get there very early as it gets amazingly busy! We were up and down by 12pm. After this the streets get jammed with people). We also cycled to Coutances, with its fab churches and great cafes, la chateau du gratot and Mont Martin sur mer, a beautiful cycle ride but very hilly!!!! The garden at the gite was a very welcomed site in which we could rest in sunshine with a book and a drink...or two.

A trip to the coast (Agon-Countainville) several times for ice creams was lovely with lots of different flavours to choose from and a gentle walk for a few miles along the promenade. A walk around the gite is also a must, including a walk up into Cerisy - la - Salle with its fabulous bakery. We found everyone that we met very friendly and pleasant.

We had a great holiday and would definitely recommend to couples and families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gite itself was perfect.
Liked least: We were pestered by two flies each evening and only found the fly swat on the last day (its on top of the washing machine!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funnychic...
Belfast
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Just a lovely place to unwind ...”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My main reason for booking a trip to Normandy was the fact that my husband has always wanted to see the D-Day beaches and it was an area of France to which we had not yet been. We were not disappointed ... it is beautiful, lush, green and very 'French' i.e unspoiled by tourists!!
The gite itself was really lovely, immaculately clean, tastefully decorated and extremely well equipped. It is set in the small hamlet of Montpinchon, the nearest large town being Coutances, about 15 minutes away by car. We were accompanied by two 18 year olds ... our son and his friend ... and I know for them, it was remote. The presence of WiFi put a smile on their faces, but then they are like most young people today, who exist via their mobiles!! My husband & I relished the peaceful surroundings and although we were adjoined to the main farmhouse where the owners live, we were given our privacy at all times. We were about an hour and twenty minutes drive from the D-Day beaches, 25 minutes from the lovely beach of Montmartin-sur-mer and about 50 minutes from Mont St Michel. The owners Valerie & Alban are charming and very helpful at all times. They, however, speak little to no English, which for us wasn't a major problem, but I feel it is worth mentioning. A good command of French would definitely be an advantage here. Our weather was mixed but it didn't prevent us from seeing around the area, which has much to offer. We had a great holiday in Normandy and would happily return - (minus the teenagers!!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was like a home from home.
Liked least: Quite a remote location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceri P
1 review
“Perfect Holiday”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at this gîte for my husbands 30th birthday. It is in a beautiful location. The owners are very sweet and friendly but leave you alone to enjoy your stay. The gîte is tastefully decorated, full of books, DVDs and lots of cooking equipment. If you have children there is a lovely garden with swings and a slide. The kids room has a toybox and a cot, there is also a baby monitor and kids plates and cups. I really would recommend staying here. Location wise it is about an hour from the DDay beaches, Granville, Bayeux and mont st michel. All of which are worth a visit. It really is a lovely gîte and my husband had a perfect birthday there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful gite, the lovely owners and the gorgeous garden (and cat)
Liked least: Nothing - thoroughly enjoyed the holiday
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott0605
County Leitrim, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Absolutely fantastic property well situated in central Normandy for touring/sightseeing.
House is lovely, very clean & well kept with great facilites for rainy days, Children of all ages will have plenty to do, (great selection of DVD's)
Owners on site and gave great advise for restaurant 'La Cale' in nearby Blainville-sur-Mer.
heartily recommend staying at this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great living space
Liked least: Doesn't have an open fire
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBan88
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 18 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Me and my 2 brothers visited France earlier this year to travel around the D-Day beaches at Normandy. With this place being situated less than an hour away and at an extremely good price, we thought it was the perfect place to stay and we were not disappointed.

Upon arrival we were met by Steph, the manager, who was super friendly and helpful. Her and her partner live just around the corner but never intrude on you. You only see them if you need them. Once we were shown around and given all the useful info, we were then met by complimentary cheese and cider with a welcome card which was a lovely touch.

The gite itself is beautiful. A really rustic french style gite, decorated really nicely and with plenty of room. It is situated down a quiet little lane so no disturbances. Has a lovely outside space too so perfect in the summer for eating outside. A really lovely typical french property.

Just a short drive or walk from the gite is the local town. There is everything you need here such as a bakery, butcher and a convenience store. Also, each night there is a different food van where you can grab some great local food. Totally different to the greasy, horrible takeaway vans you get in England! We went 3 seperate nights and had mussels and chips, stonebaked pizza and a chicken kebab. A great little find!

Location wise, this is a great place to explore. We were literally half way between the Normandy beaches and Mont Saint Michel, which is an amazing winding town on a hill. Very Harry Potter like little place. There is also plenty to do around the area.

I really can't recommend this place enough. A great property, extremely reasonable price, beautiful location and super friendly and helpful staff. If you are looking to stay in this area then this place is perfect. I like going to and finding new places when I go on holidays but I would definitely go back to this one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing