We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the best experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Luxury room Picture
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury room Picture
Luxury room picture Luxury boat picture
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
Luxury room Picture
Luxury room picture
Luxury boat picture
Luxury boat picture
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kumarakom, Kottayam District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Paromita...
2 reviews
“One of the best experience”
Reviewed 3 March 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed for one night and the experience has been amazing. We blessed with rains and the scenic experience was worth. The attendants were extremely helpful and made the stay pleasant. Yummy Kerala cuisine was prepared. The beds room were extremely clean.
One demerit is the aisle of the boat near the engine was too low to step out with its help. We had to almost take big jumps or support to go out and come in

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
"Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the interest you have expressed in ''KUMARAKOM HOUSEBOAT HOLIDAYS” and your valuable time in giving us your feedback.We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your recent stay with us.Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are happy to hear you had a very pleasant stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back to Kumarakomhouseboatholidays

Warm Regards
Praveen sg"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leondsouz...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Worth every penny!!!”
Reviewed 1 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Stayed at the houseboat for a couple of days over the Christmas break. We were initially skeptical with the idea of spending 2 days on a boat, especially after reading all the negative comments on Google regarding thefts/robberies, average food and mosquito attacks. However, the experience we(my wife and I) had on this beautiful was no less than 5 star hospitality. We had a very knowledgeable Captain, an extremely skilled Chef and a very polite and soft spoken steward. The food onboard was better than most restaurants around Kerala and the chef was quick with the preparation(as all Chef must be).
The houseboat was enclosed with airconditioning and that kept all mosquitoes out of the rooms - However we did use repellents, just to be safe.
I would highly recommend this particular houseboat to all tourists - and thank the entire team of Kumarakom Houseboats - You guys were awesome

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
"Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the interest you have expressed in ''KUMARAKOM HOUSEBOAT HOLIDAYS” and your valuable time in giving us your feedback.We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your recent stay with us.Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are happy to hear you had a very pleasant stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back to Kumarakomhouseboatholidays

Warm Regards
Praveen sg"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajayd81
Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Awesome Time in the Backwaters”
Reviewed 27 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My friends and I were initially skeptical about spending 2 days in the houseboat, but in the end, we wanted to stay for longer. The sights around us definitely played a part but the credit mostly goes to the excellent service, delicious cooking on board the boat and the hospitality of the staff.

We began with a tour of the Kumarakom Backwaters. We checked in just in time for lunch and the aromas that greeted us meant that the chef was creating something magical. The food, not just that lunch, but all the meals that we had while in the houseboat were heavenly - most notable were the chef's biryani, fish preperations and appams with stew (I still drool when I think of those dishes). In the evening the driver stopped at a local fish shop so that we could pick up fresh seafood for the night. On day 2, we headed for Allepy, before heading back to Kumarakom for the night.

Overall, all four of us had a great experience and would recommend them to anyone looking for a memorable houseboat experience in Kerela.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
"Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the interest you have expressed in ''KUMARAKOM HOUSEBOAT HOLIDAYS” and your valuable time in giving us your feedback.We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your recent stay with us.Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are happy to hear you had a very pleasant stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back to Kumarakomhouseboatholidays

Warm Regards
Praveen sg"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nishantpa...
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Memorable and Pleasent”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Kumarakom Houseboat Holidays

it was really a memorable stay at the "Kumarakom houseboat holidays"

honestly, I had initially booked with some other houseboat stay company, and I had reviewed it through trip advisor and was not happy with the reviews I saw,

after that I had typed "good quality houseboat stays in Kumarakom" and then I landed in this webpage, I was very happy with the reviews but still skeptical about going ahead with it for reasons I never knew.

I had been asked to contact Mr Mukul, which I did, and I was very happy to have contacted him, he was very helpful, assuring and very responsive to my calls and emails, which I really found pleasurable,

after the booking was done, just few days before my trip to this houseboat, I had got a call from a lady by the name Shanti, she was very helpful and accommodating with my requests

now getting back to the stay and services, IT WAS AMAZING

the rooms were very very clean, well maintained

I was welcomed by two people, - one Boat Rider and One Chef

they were very helpful and hospitable towards us

the houseboat starts its ride from afternoon 12 all the way till 6;00 pm and then halts at a common area where all other houseboats are halted (COMPLETELY SAFE NOTHING TO WORRY- initially I was little skeptical about the places it would halt, but it was very safe- in the evening, where the houseboat halts, there Is a church which we can walk at a little distance to visit it, and it was nice

in the evening there are shops in which we could collect prawns, squids at an extra cost and then the chef would make it and cook it for free in whatever style you want no problem.

for drinks you would require to pre order it so that they can arrange it also,

next day, a driver would be arranged to take you for a nice tour ( this is after your checkout from the houseboat) to cochin main city, the jewish synagogue, the churches and the busy shopping streets,

our driver was a very friendly and nice guy named Arun,

overall a phenomenal experience, a one to cherish with

good job guys !! keep up the good work !!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
"Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the interest you have expressed in ''KUMARAKOM HOUSEBOAT HOLIDAYS” and your valuable time in giving us your feedback.We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your recent stay with us.Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are happy to hear you had a very pleasant stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back to Kumarakomhouseboatholidays

Warm Regards
Praveen sg"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mishaniz
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing trip!”
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This was a fantastic getaway over Christmas for us (couple in our early 30s). We were amazed by the tranquility of the area and the houseboat experience in general.

The staff were very nice and accommodating. The food was quite varied, very good, and not overly spicy, which was important for us :)

Communication with the office both before and after the trip was easy.

Highly recommend Kumarakom Houseboat Holidays to anyone that's considering a Kerala getaway as part of their India experience!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
"Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the interest you have expressed in ''KUMARAKOM HOUSEBOAT HOLIDAYS” and your valuable time in giving us your feedback.We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your recent stay with us.Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are happy to hear you had a very pleasant stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back to Kumarakomhouseboatholidays

Warm Regards
Praveen sg"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing