We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax in and enjoy the spacious lounge and dining room with wood burning stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in and enjoy the spacious lounge and dining room with wood burning stove
A dining table crowned by a chandelier seating six to twelve happy diners Hi-spec kitchen with Smeg range, American double fridge and all the amenities
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Relax in and enjoy the spacious lounge and dining room with wood burning stove
A dining table crowned by a chandelier seating six to twelve happy diners
Hi-spec kitchen with Smeg range, American double fridge and all the amenities
View to the Château, it's not far!
Luxuriate in a roll-top bath and soak away your troubles
The timber framed exterior with exposed granite block work from the 14th century
All beds are made with quality white linen and towels are provided
There are ancient stone chimneys in both first floor bedrooms
Twin room on the top floor
Watch the stars as you sleep. View of the basilique from this room.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Josselin, Morbihan, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
James B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 26 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic week in Josselin. The house is renovated to a very high spec and is full of character. It is exactly as you see in the photos. We loved the views of the chateau from the upstairs windows.
The house is perfectly situated a few minutes walk from the square and there is a wonderful bakery just down the street where we got our fresh baguettes and croissants daily!
We were lucky enough to be in Josselin for Bastille Day when the entire town celebrates their annual Medieval Festival. We saw everything from knights on horseback to medieval musicians and many of the locals were dressed in medieval costumes. The festival came to a close with an outstanding fireworks display down at the river.
Our host Edward was very welcoming and friendly and gave us some great tips for things to see and do in the vicinity.
In relation to parking, it is worth noting that the nearest car park is roughly 4-5 mins walk away up and down a hill. There are two car parks nearby and we parked in both during our stay and found both to be very safe. Due to roadworks outside the house we were unable to drive up to the house to load/unload the car so it was a little inconvenient but would in no way prevent us from returning to La Croix D’Or as we enjoyed our stay so much and I would definitely recommend this property.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2018
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am so glad you liked the house and of course Josselin is a lovely town. Thank you also for leaving the property clean and tidy. Always appreciated. Come back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henk D
Nieuwerkerk aan den Ijssel, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We loved La Croix! It is a very well renovated very old house (oldest parts go back to the 14th century!) with lots of space. The kitchen, with a large Smeg oven and a full size American fridge is one of best I have ever seen in a vacation rental. Very comfortable period furniture is a nice extra, and so is the fireplace.
Beds are good, be it a bit on the small side for (very) tall people such as myself. The living room is a bit dark (compared to what we are used to at home), but you don't want to spend too much time there during the day time anyway, since Josselin and it's immediate surroundings are a joy to explore.
Finally, a word about our host. We found Edward very sympathetic, helpful, and easy to get in touch with. He also gave us a few very good tips.We followed his advice to visit the outside photo exhibition in La Gacilly. It was the highlight of our visit to Brittany.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thank you very much. I hope you sorted out your wing mirror!!
Hopefully see you again sometime.
Edward
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulaw813...
Blue Ridge, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect week with friends in the French countryside.”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time in Josselin. Edward was a fabulous host!!!!!!! I would tell all my friends about this lovely adventure. Paula

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Thanks for that. It will be lovely to see you or your friends again. Hope you got home safe and sound. Edward
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kernowish
Kernow
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

If you want to stay in a town house with a Wow factor this is a Gite for you. It would be nit picking to find any fault. The whole house is full of character, incredible style with a high degree of comfort.. The owners could not have been more helpful and accommodating. We had a wonderful week in Josselin. We hope you will do too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, modern spec and internet.
Liked least: Beds too small
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing