We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
The sunny south facing front garden is great for outdoor lunch and relaxing.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The sunny south facing front garden is great for outdoor lunch and relaxing.
Spacious lounge/dinning room with traditional wood beamed ceiling. Two comfortable sofas and a wood burning stove, great for chilly evenings off-season.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The sunny south facing front garden is great for outdoor lunch and relaxing.
Spacious lounge/dinning room with traditional wood beamed ceiling.
Two comfortable sofas and a wood burning stove, great for chilly evenings off-season.
Well equipped kitchen with breakfast table, gas hob, electric oven, dishwasher, fridge, freezer etc.
Spacious master bedroom with antique walnut French bed and dormer window views of the garden.
The view of the rear garden from the master bedroom dormer window - a lovely place to sit and read.
The second lounge with oak sofa, satellite TV, DVD player, mini Hi Fi, iPod charger/player, laptop.
The goose room is a long room with two single beds, dormer & Velux windows with views to front.
Third bedroom with two single beds has a Velux window overlooking the front garden.
The cottage is surrounded with flower borders containing a variety of cottage perennials.
The large private front gardens have plenty of space to play or relax on the provided sun loungers.
Rear terrace with lavender border, table & chairs for 6.
Enjoy breakfast on the rear patio. The bees and butterflies love the lavender plants.
Reading (or snoozing!) in the hammock under the shade of the plum trees.
The rear garden has cut paths through the grass and extends to the chestnut trees in the distance.
Cheery trees in the rear garden in spring.
There are local walks on these traffic free tracks from the hamlet.
The magnificent château at Josselin, on the banks of the Nante-Brest canal, is open to the public.
Josselin's half-timbered medieval buildings date from the 17th Century.
There is a good variety of cafes and restaurants in Josselin - something for everyone.
Josselin hosts a bustling street market each Saturday morning - a great place to stock up.
The nearby Dukes Lake is great for swimming, sailing, canoeing, windsurfing, golf, and walks.
The wonderful sandy beaches of the South coast are an easy 45 min drive.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Josselin, Morbihan, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Rod L
Nailsea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed 27 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

As with other reviewers this property was fantastically equipped and I couldn't find anything amiss. Booking was very easy with compliments to the owners who responded immediately by email.
Jossellin is the nearest town away 15 minutes away with many good restaurants and 2 supermarkets. There are 2 nearer villages but the facilities are very limited and who can tell when the boulangerie or bar is open, instructions on this would have been very useful. Otherwise the instructions book is a godsend and the advice from the owners and guests was very helpful. Table D'o restaurant in Jossellin is pricey but worth it.

One word of advice is that although Owners directions are very good a Sat Nav is essential for the country lanes and even ours sent us down farm tracks twice

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: WiFi and countryside
Liked least: Dampness in was end of building. TV reception and location not ideal
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iam T
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect.”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

In the past 10 years, we have stayed at more than 30 properties throughout France, always for a week or longer. In all that time, we have rarely come upon a property as quaint as La Ville au Tady, and we have never dealt with owners as organised and accommodating as Martin and Esther.

Their website is complete, their responses are prompt and instructions are comprehensive.

La Ville au Tady is fully equipped; it is quietly remote, yet 10 minutes from two hypermarkets; and perfectly placed for day trips across Brittany.

We spent autumn nights in front of the fire, and sunny autumn days riding the (supplied) bikes along the magnificent stretches of the canal between Josselin and Saint-Vincent-sur-Oust.

We happily recommend La Ville au Tady, and the Selways, to all.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilyRosie...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little gem - truly a home from home”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wow! What a find. This is truly an excellent property in a wonderfully peaceful part of Brittany. The cottage was superbly supplied thanks to the enormous thought invested by the owners Martin and Esther; we wanted for absolutely nothing throughout our stay; in fact we have never rented such a well equipped and provisioned property. The booking process was so efficient, Martin is a speedy and very helpful communicator and their website is so informative. Also I must make a special mention of the enormous effort invested in putting together the visitor information book at the property - what a great job you did the book is fantastic. We were a party of 6 adults for which the house provided more than adequate space and it was really cosy and comfortable. The gardens were just wonderful, we really enjoyed watching the birds and wildlife in general. The provision of bikes to explore the local area we thought was a real bonus and we also enjoyed walking the lanes and country roads of the area. Supermarkets are close by (just off the N24 at Josselin) and the Village of Guegon was great for the morning bread and croissants. From the property we managed to visit all the usual sights of Brittany, Josselin, Vannes, Auray, Guerande, Malstroit, Rochefort en Terre, Concarneau, Quimper, Locranan, Quiberon Peninsular and its Cote Savage, Pontivy, we took a boat trip on the Blavet River, Carnac with its Alignments (standing stones) and La Trinity sur Mer. What a fabulous holiday, thanks a million Martin and Esther, we cannot recommend your lovely house highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newelljen...
ely
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“pretty and well equipped gite”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

peaceful hamlet close to Joseselin; the gite is equipped with everything you normally get frustrated you left behind- washing powder, plenty of loo role, library of dvd and books; lots of good information; the garden is fully of chaffinches singing heartily; Guegon close for boulangerie and good grocer

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danyul89
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a good location.”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at La Ville Au Tady, it really felt like a home from home, it was so well equipped and had everything we needed, we stopped at the supermarket when we got there because the are completely closed on sunday's. We bought a lot of things like sponges, soaps, toilet rolls as we didn't realise the cottage already had everything. The location was amazing, close to everything, the guest book we didn't have time to fill out but it has lots of information from previous guests and became like our bible. We checked it every day for places to visit. The cottage itself was huge, couldn't believe how big it was. The log fire was really handy and we enjoyed watching the DVDs provided. Would love to come back here in the near future, one of the best holidays we've had. Probably wouldn't go back in march as everything seemed to be closed all the time day or night.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Being in the countryside but so close to the main roads.
Liked least: Everything was closed of a evening
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing