We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
69
23
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
69
23
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river an absolute pleasure home away from home would definitely stay here again great stay braai facilities self catering helen kite jolly house hosts mouth dishwasher lawn whales cottage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2021

Clean and a great view from our accommodation. Friendly welcome.
Only no bath towels available.
The mattress is super firm, so much so that I had difficulty sleeping on it .
The hospitality side could do with a few more personal touches as in tea bags and milk or milk substitute.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wrensb641097
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Jarman, General Manager at Barry's Holiday Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2021

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. we are so sorry that you did not find the mattress to be comfortable - it is the first time its been complained about. and it is difficult to cater for every different guests comfort.
The house is a self catering house, not a hotel room or lodge - which will explain why there are no towels, T-bags etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2021

Excellent stay, this was a surprise birthday present to my fiance'. She had a great time. Very nice, well equipped spacious accommodation. Friendly servie from Helen at Barry's guesthouse. Manificient view fromt he guesthouse of the river mouth. Could sit and watch it all day as it so very variable. Area very intersting with an excellent craft market. Three good restuarants in easy travelling distance.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gpietersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Jarman, General Manager at Barry's Holiday Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2021

Thank you so much for your fab review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and your birthday - I look forward to welcoming you back to Witsand soon.
kind regards
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2021

Bedding was low quality and not suitable for winter. No towels were provided although one would expect that at the price charged. There was not enough toilet paper.
We left some breakfast dishes unwashed and used extra duvets off the unused beds (because of the cold) but were penalized for that as the owners decided to subtract washing up and extra bedding off our 'breakage deposit'.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gsolom292162
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Jarman, General Manager at Barry's Holiday Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2021

Good Day Gabi

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Pole Pole.
The house is a self catering holiday home - not a lodger hotel which will explain why we only provide one loo roll per bathroom - and lack of towels.
The rate charged was R233. (USD15) per person per night - which gave you a four bedroomed, three bathroomed, large fully equipped kitchen, indoor and outdoor braai, enclosed garden, games room and TV lounge/dining area.....plus a late check out option your day of departure - we are not sure what more you were expecting?
Furthermore - you booked and paid for 9 guests but all 11 beds were used.
There is a large notice on the fridge that guests are requested to do their own washing up and that R100. would be charged if not done - the house has recently had a dishwasher fitted for guests convenience.
We try and encourage sustainable tourism practises - so ask our guests to recycle bottles, cans, cardboard etc in the recycling bin provided - it was a shame that you were unable to do that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2021 via mobile

The perfect overnight spot between our Breede River adventures. Jolly Jarman Cottage at Barry's Accommodation Witsand felt like a home away from home with neat, comfortable, freshly decorated and excellent hosting from its owner Helen. And what a sunset! Affordable, and well equipped for couples or friends. We'll definitely be back and thank you for accommodating us on such short notice!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wheelsandplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2021

Breede View is a stunning property with the most awe-inspiring view. We were well received and our every need was catered for by Barry's Holiday accommodation, Owen and Helen really are super hosts! This property is perfect for a large group or more than one family looking for the ultimate luxury base to explore Witsand from. We'll certainly be back and make use of Barry's Holiday Accommodation and their services again! Thank you, Owen and Helen!

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Onelio_B17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Jarman, General Manager at Barry's Holiday Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2021

Many thanks for your review Oneilio, it was an absolute pleasure to host you all in Breede View holiday home, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Witsand soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews