We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant hotel restaurant”
Review of Al Mastin Vecchio

Al Mastin Vecchio
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Verucchio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$68
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Benvenuti al ristorante “Mastin Vecchio “ nome che evoca alla memoria la famiglia dei Malatesta della quale Mastino fu il principale artefice sia per la fortuna politica che per quella economica della Signoria. Più noto alla storia, forse fu il figlio Paolo famoso per la vicenda amorosa con Francesca.Ed era tra queste mura di pietra, il legno antico delle travi e le grotte misteriose che si ha l’impressione di rivivere quei tempi.Cercheremo di allietare la Vostra serata con menù composti da prodotti selezionati e ricercati sul territorio a seconda della reperibilità stagionale. La nostra cucina propone cibi genuini e cerca nella semplicità il modo per assaporare al meglio gli ingredienti. Le carni proposte sulle nostre tavole sono il frutto di una attenta e accurata selezione tra le migliori fattorie nazionali e estere. Ciò non toglie un ampio spazio dedicato ai piatti vegetariani. La nostra cantina e' ricavata all’interno delle grotte tufacee risalenti al 1300, vi aspetta un tour enogastronomico durante il quale potrete degustare ottimi vini in abbinamento a prodotti tipici .
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Normally when travelling, we try to leave our hotel to explore local restaurants, but for the evening that we stayed in our hotel, we had a wonderful surprise. "Al Mastin Vecchio" is definitely worth going to regardless if you are staying at the hotel or not. The food was delicious - very authentic Italian, well prepared and a good choice of wine. The staff were all attentive and friendly.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank SusanM3982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 008)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 1 008 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

When we arrived on a Tuesday night in August 2017 we were offered a small prosecco and water (that was not poured) and then we were then ignored for 20 minutes until we asked a waitress for a wine list and some bread. The restaurant wasn't that busy but we did get the impression that residents of the hotel were prioritised by the two waitresses. There was another table near us that was similarly ignored. Our first course was served 45 minutes after we had arrive; the food was lovely. But then there were further delays. The waitresses were not only neglectful and unapologetic, they were also inefficient; they wandered around empty handed ignoring several empty tables that had not been cleared around us. It just looked very cluttered and was not the high standard we expect of a quality restaurant. All in all it took 2 hours and 10 minutes to be served. And that was with three courses served at once(!) to catch up. Not once was there any apology for the delays. The other table who was equally frustrated, had less courses than us and finished in the same time. The whole thing was outrageous. We go to restaurants for every meal except breakfast during our annual 3 week stays in Italy and this was by far the worst service we have ever experienced. We certainly will not be going back to Mastin Vecchio and we certainly do not recommend it for non residents, not because of the food which was more than good, but because of the poor service.

I also note that the responses to other negative feedback on Trip Advisor are not taken graciously by the Martin Vecchio management, rather than accept any shortfalls as you would expect of a good restaurant and a promise of improvement, the arrogant style of previous responses seems to favour a vitriolic personal attack against the reviewer. This might explain the non apologetic attitude of the staff and why indeed the service remains so poor for non residents.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank paolacw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffOste, Proprietario at Al Mastin Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Mrs. Paola,
Thank you for your time spent telling your experience.

Unfortunately not every evening are the same and on Tuesday with the restaurant full and the guests arrived quite all at the same time the service was not the fastes ... we know by our self.

Thank you for your positive opinion about the food but in the same way we are disappointed for the adjectives used with us and our young waiter, many times extoled for efficiency and politeness.

All the guest are all the same, residents, foreign, italian or guests of the hotel.

We apologize for our bad service and for not leaving you a gread remind but we don’t understand how it is possible getting a “tip” " and after some days get a not positive review.

We will try to improve all the negative aspects that you wrote and we hope to host you again at our restaurant

Best Regards
LM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Unplanned we had dinner the night of our arrival at the hotel. Very soon it became clear we had to eat here a second time. Both times we had an amazing time.
Beautifull location and terrace, delicious food, friendly staff, copious portions, exstensive and good wine card with very affordable prices. The chef has to have passion for his job: the way the food is presented and made!!
We can recommand the selection of starters that comes with nice, freshly baked bread and gives a good impression of the varity of tastes the restaurant has to offer. Pastas and meat dishes are high quality with correct prices.

Special thanks to Alisia, our host at both nights who made the evening more complete with good recommandations and fine service!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank marOesds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Very cozy and romantic. Just a few couples and one family were dining in the restaurant. I had pork and my wife had lamb. Both were good, pork won out. If you only have one night let the server guide you through the meal. Order traditional dishes if possible. Meats and vegetables will be local and fresh. If I had a second night I would order all of my second choices.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank cheapfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful meal here. Almost as great as the meal was the wine cellars and the various rooms around and under the restaurant. A great place to eat and visit.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank IndySig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffOste, Guest Relations Manager at Al Mastin Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Dear IndySig,
Good evening from the amazing Verucchio!
Thank you so much for your wonderful review!
We are so happy and so proud to feel you so excited and so enjoy regarding your last beautiful experience in our restaurant!
Thanks for your compliments to the quality and selection of our food and for your compliments regarding our amazing location!
We hope to see you soon in Verucchio!
Best Regards,
Mirko Acquaviva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Mastin Vecchio also viewed

Verucchio, Province of Rimini
Poggio Torriana, Province of Rimini
 
Verucchio, Province of Rimini
Verucchio, Province of Rimini
 
Villa Verucchio, Province of Rimini
Riccione, Province of Rimini
 

Been to Al Mastin Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing