We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful Holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Lucia

A Very Inviting Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Very Inviting Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
A Very Inviting Pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mctennis
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent an enjoyable 2 weeks at Casa Lucia in the beautiful region of Vejer De la Frontera.The Villa is conveniently situated close to the town of Vejer just a few minutes drive and El Palmar our favourite local beach was just 15 minutes awa y. Each morning we enjoyed having breakfast on the top terrace admiring the lovely undulating countryside. At lunchtime we would dine on the second terrace which provided welcome shade from the midday sun. The Pool is on the bottom terrace and is a good size. It is very private and set in lovely gardens. We would really recommend the Restaurant Califa in Vejer ,very good Moroccan food with a lovely variety of choice and good service. Gary was very helpful both before and during the holiday giving advice about the surrounding area. We had a wonderful holiday and would certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Swimming Pool
Liked least: Everything was nice
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshmall...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yes - there is a Heaven”
Reviewed 17 May 2013 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Like many people, we have stayed in some shockers in our time, especially in 2011 (also in Spain) where we arrived shattered after an early flight only to find millions of ants busily devouring a sugar bowl and crawling everywhere, and a decor never touched, nor cleaned since the 70's. We were wary, then, (as we always are) but from the second we arrived at Casa Lucia to the minute we left, the house embraced us, catered for our every need, provided cooling via the pool or climate control inside, allowed us to sit on quality furniture and eat at quality tables, sleep in comfortable beds and made me realise that if there was a Heaven, Casa Lucia would surely be replicated there. Our only tiny negative observation is that the outside kitchen that served the barbecue, is a little tired and old (a bit like me) but Gary, the owner, who was like a concierge, helpful, organising and yet invisible unless asked for, has probably updated that area.
The little shop up the hill, was 1950's England. A warm greeting, loaves cooked to order, any vegetable mentioned but not on show was there the next day , and great and accurate advice on what to do and where to go. Our first week coincided with the opening of the Olympics and, when I ventured out the next morning, the lady owner of the shop winked and said "James Bond and the Queen, eh? Bravo Inglaterra!"

Lots to do, lots to see, great beaches and places to eat - or just stay at "home" - for that is what it is - and barbecue fresh meats and fish with a salad and tomatoes as large as grapefruit, with ice cold local vino. Warmly, absolutely recommended.

Heaven? Bring it on!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location.
Liked least: Going home.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italientr...
UK
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“"Complete Heaven at Casa Lucia"”
Reviewed 5 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We arrived back from Casa Lucia to the terrible snow in the North of England in March. What a contrast as we had such a wonderful holiday at Casa Lucia. We had been planning to go book this holiday for the last three years after finding the Casa on the Andalucian Hideaways website but never quite made it and it was well worth waiting for.
From booking via email with Gary and my numerous questions Gary could not have been more helpful. The Casa with it's various terraces were absolutely fantastic, the pool area is marvellous, although I didn't swim my husband braved and enjoyed his times swimming in the biggest pool we have seen in a self catering home. The care and attention to detail in Casa Lucia was exceptional you felt at home as soon as you entered the lovely lounge/kitchen/dining area. The bed was really comfy and a bonus was the heated underblanket as the evenings were a little cool in March. The information Gary and Kirsty left in Casa Lucia was better than anywhere we have stayed.
We wanted to chill out on this holiday and we did just that only eating out a couple of times as the views from the Casa were marvellous looking up onto Vejer De La Frontera while enjoying our meal and a glass or two of wine. The views to the rear of the property were of fields and trees. The area reminded us of the Lakes or Devon in England as everything was so green even in March. We used the little shop up the road and Isabelle spoke very good English and made very good bread, and as Gary suggested if you timed it right you could order your bread to be baked and pop next door to the local bar for a drink whilst your bread was ready and everyone was very friendly as we found all the locals were.
We loved the complete relaxation of this lovely home and thanks Gary for all the tips about the area as we visited many of the places you suggested. Cadiz, Cape Trafalger, Conil, Barbate, El Palmar, our favourites were Vejer De La Frontera and Medina Sedonia.
We didn't visit all we had planned as we relaxed a lot in your lovely Casa Lucia we hope to return next year all being well. All the best and many thanks Tricia and Steve.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyWoo6
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful find”
Reviewed 12 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Not quite sure how we found Andalucian Hideaways but so glad we did. This is a beautiful property in a wonderfully quiet part of southern Spain. We spent the first night of our holiday in one of Gary's other properties - La Vista de Medina - so glad we detoured to this lovely Spanish town. Short hop down to Casa Lucia where we struggled to pull ourselves away from the villa. Everything has already been said about the property - beautifully furnished and equipped, spotlessly clean and a choice of outside areas for soaking up the sunshine or a bit of shade, and taking in the views. Wonderful beaches within 15 minutes or so which were pretty quiet during our stay (early October). Would recommend the property and area without hesitation and will try and return. Gary very helpful and on hand if needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Can't really pick one thing as all so good
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGHarris
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dream of an Andalucian retreat”
Reviewed 3 December 2012 for a stay in August 2011

Located in a very quiet little hamlet opposite the dreamy Moorish-style town of Vejer de la Frontera, this is an ideal getaway for a family or friends. It's extremely well-equipped and Gary and his wife left fruit, bread, manchego cheese and other treats ready in the fridge.

The grounds are on three levels, with an extra room on its own level. There are terraced gardens filled with bougainvillea and many other gorgeous flowers, and several fruit trees. The pool has a lovely fountain that gurgles away, if you find the switch. During the day the pool area is a great suntrap (with shade!). During the night you can swim with pool lights and admire the shining white roofs and spires of the town on the other side of the ravine.

As well as a TV in the living room, the twin bedroom has a TV/DVD player, so kids can be entertained in the evening while grown ups sip wine. If Gary added a cocktail shaker to the kitchen equipment, it would be even better. There's a good collection of paperbacks and DVDs of classic movies so no need to carry extra. There's plenty of privacy, with each level being sheltered from the others. There's even a third outdoor dining area around the front of the villa - lovely at night.

If you have small children, you'll need to keep them extremely well supervised because of the stairs and the fact that you can't see the pool level very well from the main house.It's best for families with babes in arms, or older kids who can swim independently, or for a group of adult friends.

We spent a lovely week enjoying mornings in the villa, breakfasting on the terrace and a swim and lounge by the lovely pool afterwards. Afternoons were at the nearby beaches, around 15-25 minutes drive away. Plenty of parking and beach shopping, these are pleasant family beaches with cafes and mini supermarkets, so no need to take food, but if you do, the villa has beach parasols and a cooler. A military area nearby (Barbate) opens its totally unspoilt beaches during July-Sep - perfect for kite surfing and rural, less crowded beaches - but no facilities, so take the picnic!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Affordable luxury in a less-explored part of Andalucia
Liked least: Some of the nearby towns aren't great for driving around - very narrow old road, but OK if you keep your wits.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing