We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Obs best kept secret ”
Review of Cafe Ganesh

Cafe Ganesh
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Woodstock
Cuisines: African
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Obs best kept secret ”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

We love going to Ganesh. The food is hearty, delicious and great value for money.

Always a lovely vibe and authentic, "non-pretentious" homely feel.

Service not the fastest as there is usually one or two people waiting tables but the staff is warm and friendly.

One of my favourite places to eat in obs, especially when I'm in the mood for home cooked food.

I would recommend it to anyone, just a heads up that you may have to be patient with the service, although not always the case but it's worth keeping in mind.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank CallMe_MF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    27
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Vegetarian shebeen”
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Great place to get your vegetarian fix. The aubergine dish is the best! This dish creates food envy amongst friends, absolutely mouth watering! Great music, good food and friendly service.

  • Visited September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gazelle8SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oh yes! Place to be! Place to eat in Obs!”
Reviewed 11 July 2016

I loved being here!
Why?
Delicious food (be aware: big portions!), laid back atmosphere and a lot of locals, made me feel very comfortable and I enjoyed it every time I' ve been here.

Why 4 out of 5?

3,5/5 SERVICE
Fast and efficient, not the funniest and friendliest EVER, but totally fine.

4,5/5 ATMOSPHERE and FACILITIES
The mixture of students, general locals and some visitors, makes the area in Obs quite special. In Cafe Ganesh they all meet togehter for great drinks and food in an internatiinal vibe.
In addition to that it is beautifully decorated, little hard to find in a small street in Obs.

4/5 PRICES
Very fine, especially regarding the big portions.

4/5 FOOD AND DRINKS
Tasty and very authentic! Especially for vegetarians, there is a lot to choose from.

  • Visited February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShutUpAndDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hearty food and good vibes”
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Easy going laid back eatery in Obs - student suburb of Cape Town. Crayfish samoosa's are the best. Mainly student and art crowd. Unpretentious food. Good time garaunteed

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Giftrapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy South African fare”
Reviewed 26 May 2016

One of Obs hidden gems. I love the tomato soup starter and the falafel pita. Very affordable and with an interesting menu.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank sensiblelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Ganesh also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Observatory, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Ganesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing