We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hearty food and good vibes”
Review of Cafe Ganesh

Cafe Ganesh
Ranked #5 of 28 Restaurants in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hearty food and good vibes”
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Easy going laid back eatery in Obs - student suburb of Cape Town. Crayfish samoosa's are the best. Mainly student and art crowd. Unpretentious food. Good time garaunteed

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Giftrapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    26
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy South African fare”
Reviewed 26 May 2016

One of Obs hidden gems. I love the tomato soup starter and the falafel pita. Very affordable and with an interesting menu.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank sensiblelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What an interesting place! ”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

My wife and I were looking for something different and this certainly fits into that category. It looks a little scruffy, especially from the outside but it has a lot of character. The food was really great. I had umngqusho (lamb shank with samp) and my wife had the vegetable rootie. Really delicious and very affordable.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Carel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to meet new and interesting people”
Reviewed 2 February 2016

Cafe Ganesh is an unpretentious place with a lovely atmosphere and great food at reasonable prices. Very friendly staff.

  • Visited January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simplyZi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lot of foos without taste”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

The waiter was a nice guy. The portions are very big. There is vegan items on the menu. Too bad the food I got didn't taste anything.
I was full but..

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Vsevolod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Ganesh also viewed

Woodstock, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Woodstock, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Ganesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing