We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food and good service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Ganesh

Cafe Ganesh
Ranked #5 of 28 Restaurants in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
185 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely food and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2016

Cafe Ganesh is simple without being basic. The place serves good food at reasonable prices. The vibe is laid back and the staff are friendly and efficient. The menu selection is diverse enough without being overwhelming. You have a sense that they make everything on their menu really well.

  • Visited May 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NoelleKoeries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    25
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy South African fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2016

One of Obs hidden gems. I love the tomato soup starter and the falafel pita. Very affordable and with an interesting menu.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank sensiblelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What an interesting place! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

My wife and I were looking for something different and this certainly fits into that category. It looks a little scruffy, especially from the outside but it has a lot of character. The food was really great. I had umngqusho (lamb shank with samp) and my wife had the vegetable rootie. Really delicious and very affordable.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Carel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to meet new and interesting people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2016

Cafe Ganesh is an unpretentious place with a lovely atmosphere and great food at reasonable prices. Very friendly staff.

  • Visited January 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank simplyZi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lot of foos without taste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

The waiter was a nice guy. The portions are very big. There is vegan items on the menu. Too bad the food I got didn't taste anything.
I was full but..

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Vsevolod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Ganesh also viewed

Woodstock, Cape Town
 
Woodstock, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Ganesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing