We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of foos without taste” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Ganesh

Cafe Ganesh
Ranked #5 of 28 Restaurants in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lot of foos without taste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

The waiter was a nice guy. The portions are very big. There is vegan items on the menu. Too bad the food I got didn't taste anything.
I was full but..

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Vsevolod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    25
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Groenlo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“African experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2016

The waiters are nice and fast. The food was very tasty and the portions are big. We wil definitely come back for an other meal.

  • Visited January 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BLEURURU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great decor and atmosphere but could be so much better....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2016

I went to Cafe Ganesh with my wife and two friends after reading rave reviews on 'The Culinary Backstreet'. On entering, we had no one to meet us at the door and were left standing around (even though we did book a table). After finally finding an empty table, we proceeded to wait 30 minutes before we got service. Understandably she was not able to greet us at the door or take our order expediently because she was the only wait staff for the entire restaurant on a Saturday night!

Anyway, on to the food....Crayfish and vegetable samoosas for starters...very tasty and well priced.

Main dish...Vegetable rotis X 3 and one lamb roti.....three of us got our food but our pregnant friend who had ordered roti on the side did not so we waited for another 15 minutes while I could hear her tummy rumbling for her dish which arrived cold!

Time between each waitress visit approximately 20-30 minutes! Just not acceptable service standards for a highly rated restaurant that is obviously raking in tourists because of those ratings.

  • Visited January 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VibRibbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, but hard to find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2015

Great local hangout in Woodstock!! Pretty hard to find as the first one you see is "cafe Ganesh" daytime restaurant in the corner of the building. You have to walk to the back and ring a door bell that does not really work... But definitely worth the effort!!!
We will be back

  • Visited October 2015
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ex-palmsprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
“Authentic South African cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2015

This is my favorite restaurant in Observatory. Every single dish there is delicious and the interior is unique.

  • Visited September 2015
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carina_Rie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Ganesh also viewed

Woodstock, Cape Town
 
Woodstock, Cape Town
 
Woodstock, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Ganesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing