We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
R 1 356
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
LUVHENGO M

2 years

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 weeks ago
A beautiful hotel with spacious environment. It is fitted with every modern amenity there is, and your security is guaranteed. In fact, you can't even access the escalator without a security card. The staff are friendly and professional. The rate is slightly above average but come on, it is worth it all!
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Bowes, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello! Thank you for so much your wonderful review and for the amazing score. We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future,
Best Regards
Lindsay Barrett
Sales & Marketing Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Garden Room
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.9 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 455
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Prestigia.com
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside
Agoda.com
No fees just great deals
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
1.0 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside
Tripadvisor
R 1 356
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.0 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside
Free Wifi
Restaurant
3.5 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
3.7 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Woodstock
Reviews (1 758)
Filter reviews
1 758 results
Traveller rating
932
602
140
50
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
932
602
140
50
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double tree woodstock area loft suite cape town old biscuit mill shuttle service free shuttle the hotel offers excellent hotel excellent stay water front table mountain comfortable rooms waterfront uber gym conference
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1 758 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2024 via mobile

April 15th, 2024
Stayed here for 2 nights for our upcoming cruise leaving from Cape Town.

Took a taxi from the Airport to the Hotel. This was about a 15 minute drive around 10pm. This hotel is located in an industrial area of Cape Town (Woodstock).

Although the locals and taxi drivers advised not walk around at night, I did not feel scared or nervous staying at this hotel. I also did not leave after I checked in. This hotel is not located in the Downtown area or Camps Bay. There is security when you enter the lot and when you enter the hotel.

Upon arrival, the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We received our warm chocolate chip cookies.

We checked into a King Loft Suite that had a kitchenette. This was a 2 story room. The bottom floor had a nice size dining area. Separate restroom. Kitchenette with a refrigerator, microwave, sink, expresso maker and electric kettle. There were 2 bottled waters, selection of teas, coffees, hot chocolate and expresso cups. There was the living room area with a large flat screen and 2 large couches. We had floor to ceiling windows.
The stairs lead to the 2nd floor with the king size bed, a lot of closet room. The bathroom had double sinks, shower, separated toilet room and a large tub. The entire flooring was hardwood floor. In room safe available.

Room Service was also available.

We took 3 South African Electrical Converts, and glad we did, as all the electrical was a special one (different from Europe, Asia & United States).

I would definitely stay here again!

Room tip: Listen to the locals and do not walk around the area at night. You can use uber, but hotel staff can call you a taxi. ATM next to the front desk.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank blue_wahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Bowes, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello!
THANK YOU so much for taking the time to send us such a wonderful and detailed review, it is truly appreciated. We do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you hack to our hotel in the near future.
Best Regards
Lindsay Barrett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2024 via mobile

This hotel and their management is below standard with their service and conduct. This is not what is expected of a Hilton property. I am a Diamond Member and felt unwelcome from the time I checked in. There is no professionalism and the level of excuses for the way the place is run is shocking. Needless to say I am very disappointed

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 58nazierh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Bowes, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2024

Dear Nazier,

Humblest apologies for the delayed response, Hilton has been updating our stay experience platform, please can you assist with providing me with more insight with regards to your feedback, so that I can address any shortcomings, please mail me on Brian.Bowes@Hilton.com

Thank You
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2024

Just come back from a 7 night stay at the DT Cape Town Upper Eastside. The hotel is in Woodstock which is a ten minute Uber from V & A (ubers are plentiful, easy to get and about £5), the hotel is reasonably priced and our room was nice, large, airy, good aircon, very little effect of load shedding, it has a generator. The hotel is of a good standard, there is a restaurant (nice enough) and breakfast is great (similar standard that you would expect from a Hilton, egg station, usual hot and cold breakfast items, but with some nice things (pastel de nata, chicken livers (not to everyone's taste, but if you like them) fresh passion fruit and strawberries. There is a bar that is open late, and an outside area, plus an air conditioned smoking room. For UK folk (and I guess US / most of Europe - the prices at the bar and restaurant are very reasonable). The shuttle bus goes from 9 to 5 every two hours, likewise back, and is very helpful with nice drivers. We were there in Autumn, so this was not busy. The thing that makes this hotel special is the staff. EVERYONE we met was lovely, helpful, could not do enough to help you (especially front desk with our daft booking (room 341) which they coped with admirably) and the ever happy luggage guy (sorry did not get name) but everyone was great, I would like to mention a few people below. Elna at breakfast was fab, so welcoming to us sisters and knew exactly what we liked to have (tea for two) the flapjack things, and where we liked to sit. A big thanks to the two Leonards who worked on the bar - great fun and great service. Thank you also to Syiamzukisa who really helped me when we could not get my rubbish phone to send the boarding passes for printing, he patiently stuck at it until we achieved the aim. Also to Yasir and his team (trips, concierge) we ordered a taxi in advance (thank you Malic and our return driver (sorry, think it was Lawrence?). Yasir has lots of fully comprehensive trips on offer, but I would recommend talking to him if you want to do "something different" which we did. We had done most of the usual things (table mountain etc. wine tours) through the city pass - and we did not want to be part of a big group going to cape point on a bus with pre-defined touristy stop off points, set timings, some of which we had done before, etc. so we asked Yasir for help, and organised a 6 hour trip to Cape Point, Boulders beach and Ostrich farm (little stop off on way back) Our guide for the day was Zaheer who was marvellous, he knew exactly what we wanted to do, and why we wanted to do it that way, and he was just the best guide, with good information, and a really safe and lovely driver. Knew exactly how long things would take and was so helpful. Dropped us off and stopped in all the good spots, we learned a lot from Zaheer and felt we could ask him anything and get an honest answer. Of all of our days in Cape Town, we enjoyed our day to Cape Point with Zaheer the best. We only wish we had done some of the wine region with Zaheer, as it would have been a better experience. The three outlets under the hotel (two food places and a shop) were also fab, great food at a really good price, and the chap from the shop was lovely too. Thank you to all of those who helped us with our trip, and I hope these comments get passed on (from Shelley and Jo, sisters from England) Finally, remember that although the hotel is great, and Woodstock is an up and coming "arty" area (factories being re-purposed etc.) this is still not an area that westerners should wander around the streets after dark. We were in a twin room (341) and happy to answer any questions that fellow-tripadvisors have.

Room tip: Just remember it is not in V&A. Email them for taxi transfers. Traffic can be bad at rush hour, so allow time.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Bowes, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

Dear Shelley
AMAZING! Thank you so much for taking the time to send us such a full and detailed review, we will be sure to let all team members know. We are very happy to hear that you experienced a memorable stay and your feedback is invaluable. We do certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Best Regards
Lindsay Barrett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2024

All of the hotel amenities are great. It’s not in the middle of a busy area. But the breakfast buffet, restaurant for other times of day and bar for late night are great. And the Suites on the fifth floor are fantastic — huge, comfortable. A real treat.

Room tip: Splurge a little a reserve a Suite. Huge and comfortable.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Bowes, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2024

Dear Michael
Thank you so much for taking the time to send us such an amazing review with an excellent score! We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Best Regards
Lindsay Barrett, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2024

It’s a good hotel in an up & coming area just 10 minutes away from the city. Easy to get around with Uber (and cheap). Friendly helpful staff. We had a loft suite which was huge, very well set out and everything you need. There is a restaurant (good) and a bar on site with a shop and a couple of restaurants below in the precinct. I would recommend and stay there again for business or pleasure.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank louise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Bowes, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2024

Dear Louise
Thank you for taking the time to do such a wonderful and detailed review! We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best Regards
Lindsay Barrett
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews