We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect venue with not a tourist in sight!”

The Stud Burger & Saloon
Ranked #9 of 55 Restaurants in Woodstock
Price range: R 91 - R 274
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Woodstock
Description: The best burgers in Cape Town, in a relaxed, casual atmosphere.
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We happened upon The Stud quite by accident and are very happy we did so! The decor is unpretentious but welcoming; the waitress was absolutely charming and the food VERY tasty.
One of our party had the pork ribs and he hardly spoke for 45 minutes, although he did manage a gleeful grunt every three or four minutes! I had the bacon and avo burger which was superb while the third member of our party had the biggest salad I have ever seen.
We will definitely be back!.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Popped in for a quick bite and was pleasantly surprised, had a bacon and avo burger, which was really good, the side salad was nice too.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank dwmelec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We tried it twice recently and left satisfied. Burgers were my choice both times but my partner had the ribs the second time. She is a bit of a rib enthusiast and gave them the thumbs up. The service could do with attention. Our waitron (F) both times was pretty sullen, and we gave up on trying to be nice. We're not deterred by that however and will be back.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 6 February 2017

Hi Roger. I'm really happy to hear that you enjoy the food, but surprised to hear about the service. Can you tell me if you were here during the afternoon or in the evening? It would help me identify your server and improve the service levels.

Many thanks,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Been here twice and we were very happy both times. Burgers are amazing!! And ribs are excellent! If you're a big eater you might need two rib servings. Food is also priced well. It's not as vibey as other places but lets get the word out there!

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 895laurend
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2017

During my 5 day visit in Cape Town I made sure to visit this establishment twice. The burgers were the best i experienced in Cape Town - and i tried a lot of burgers! It wasn't just the burgers that were great, i tried other items such as the ribs and calamari and they were all really good. I had good beer and the house wine was worth a glass (had a whole bottle). The service was also up to scratch with friendly wait staff. Best of all the prices are decent and for a trip to Cape Town you won't be over charged. Definitely worth a stop. Extra tidbit: you can substitute the patty on any of the burgers for ostrich, chicken, beef or veggie

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GrantH1145
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Stud Burger & Saloon also viewed

 
Woodstock, Cape Town
 

Been to The Stud Burger & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.