We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
202
5
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
5
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washing machine every morning green hills breathtaking views swimming pool beautiful place nearest town great facilities surrounding beauty minute drive olive oil every corner gravel road watched the sunset each evening the perfect host make reservations
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

I cannot imagine a better home base to a Tuscan visit. This was the second time staying at San Giovanni in Poggio and it will always be the default place to stay. The vistas are simply the best! There is a 360 degrees view of the surrounding countryside with endless farms and sheep roaming in the distance. The property has an infinity pool which is indescribably beautiful and peaceful. The apartment is clean, spacious, and relaxing for a stay of any length. You can prepare your meals and eat al fresco overlooking the amazing views.

Monteroni D’Arbia is not a tourist area but the locals are friendly and helpful. There are markets, banks, restaurants, and a wonderful gelateria a short drive from San Giovanni in Poggio. Francesco and Linda are friendly, accommodating, and helpful.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Frank Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

My wife and I spent 8 nights at San Giovanni in Poggio and had a fantastic time. The apartments are located on a Tuscan hill about 4-5km outside the main town of Monteroni d'Arbia in a stunning hilltop location. The apartment we had (Alba) was more than ideal for the two of us: it has a large bedroom, comfortable bed, large bathroom etc (it also has two single beds we didn't need) - we found the kitchen perfect for us to use as well. Francesco (the owner) provided many tips on great places to go visit and see - he also provided a very helpful list of restaurants across lots of different locations. If you don't feel like traveling too far - there is no need; the pool was fantastic in June and the serenity is perfect to catch up on your favourite book.

Our favourite thing was the 6.7km walk through the hills that Francesco told us about on the first day. We completed this walk every day - it was such a wonderful way to start the day!

In summary, the time we spent at San Giovanni in Poggio was absolutely perfect and we look forward to returning next (European) summer if we can!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AdamQuarterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

We visited San Giovanni in Poggio also this year, five years in a row. Perfect holidays, again :) Amazing view, perfect accomodation, great location for enjoying Tuscany's towns, cuisine and wine.Thank you Francesco for such a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NBATU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Having accepted the wonderfully considerate invite of close friends to this venue last year; we felt we had to return again.
The wonderful setting of the spacious villa amid the gently slopping green hills is simply wonderful. The owner Francesco and his new helper Linda offered great warmth and hospitality upon our arrival. Along with my parents, we used the villa as our base for travels to the stunning medieval towns of the area, each with its own identity and splendour.
Monteriggioni, Montalcino, San Gimignano, Pienza, Bagno Vignoni (natural hot spa town) were amongst the places we visited. All are within half an hour to an hours drive and despite the occasional experience of trademark standard of Italian driving, there were no issues navigating around.
Our Italian home was set a couple of kilometres along a gravel road from the main town. There is a fine butchers in town that Francesco recommended and I couldn’t resist a visit to pick up some steaks which were from a local farm of some reputation. The three steaks I bought were so big I ended up cutting them down to six for the barbecue for two meals. Delicious too!
The accommodation apartment we stayed in was the spacious Alba, large enough for up to six with a cold out bed, but perfect for four of us. The upstairs bedroom has an electric skylight so you aren’t woken up to early, but I have to say waking up for dawn is a joy to behold. Aside from the stunning sun rise you will
Likely hear the sheep with their tinkling bless gently clanging as they are herded by the farmer in the adjacent field.
There is a swimming pool in front of the villa although it isn’t heated so unless you like a 10 degree shock to the system in April, you might want to wait for the summer months of June through to August.
The vibe for this location is chilled and relaxed, perfect for sight seers who don’t mind short drives to get to other stunning locations, but retaining that leisurely wonder.
To see a Tuscan sunset is to see a natural wonder.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank GazzaTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Our stay was great. The house is on a Tuscan hill with great views all around and even a glimpse of Siena in the distance. We really loved how quiet and peaceful it was and its a great place to get away from it all.

The appartment we were in (Vespro) was huge (we had the top floor appartment) and more than enough space for the two of us. The kitchen had everything we needed, the lounge, dining room and bathroom were spacious although the shower was a tight fit for a big person like myself (6" 5"). In the bedroom there is a very comfy king size bed and a separate space to store your luggage.

Caterina and Francesco are really friendly and have so many tips on where to go, visit and eat/drink in the surrounding area. What we found nice is that even though they really want to help to make your stay perfect is that they also allow you time and space to enjoy the house and peacefulness. The perfect mix!

We are sure we will come back one day to visit this great house again!

Daisy & Andrew - September 2017
Utrecht, the Netherlands

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews